Book Notification

Piper Huguley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Home to Milford College Books

The Lawyer's Luck (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Preacher's Promise (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mayor's Mission (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Representative's Revolt (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Migrations of the Heart Books

A Virtuous Ruby (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Most Precious Pearl (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Treasure of Gold (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Sassy Ladies Books

with Diana Rubino
Ona Judge: I Am Free (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mrs. Aaron Burr: I'm Eliza To You (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Champion's Heart (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Oney: My Escape From Slavery (With: Diana Rubino) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Tea (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
By Her Own Design (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
American Daughters (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Washerwomen's War (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The 12 Days of Christmas Mail-Order Brides Books

The Partridge (By: Kit Morgan) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dove (By: Shanna Hatfield) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hens (By: Merry Farmer) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Calling Birds (By: Jacqui Nelson) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gold Ring (By: Caroline Lee) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Goose (By: Peggy L. Henderson) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Swan (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Maid (By: Rachel Wesson) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dancing Lady (By: Mimi Milan) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dancing Lady: The Ninth Day (By: Mimi Milan) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lord (By: Danica Favorite) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Piper (By: Amanda McIntyre) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Drum (By: E.E. Burke) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Brightest Day(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pride Not Prejudice: Volume II(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Piper Huguley is an American published author who specializes in romance stories.

Piper first got published with the release of her Home to Milford College series. She put out several more novels after that, some stand alone and some in a series. Her biographical historical fiction By Her Own Design tells the story of Jackie Kennedy’s wedding dress designer, who was Black. The book was a 2022 Booklist top 100 Editor’s Choice Selection and was picked as one of the Top 100 Books of 2022 In Canada by the Globe and Mail and was the historical fiction winner in 2022 for the Reading Council from the American Library Association.

Piper is also the author of the book Sweet Tea, a romance story that combines history and food for an incredible result. She has also delved into historical romance with Migrations of the Heart and Home to Milford College.

The author is not only a busy writer, she also teaches. She is a literature professor at Clark-Atlanta University. She also writes blogs that go further into detail about the history behind the novels that she has written.

Piper is married and has a son with her husband. They live in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Preacher’s Promise is the first novel in the fictional Home to Milford College series. This debut in the series first came out in 2014 for readers to enjoy.

The year is 1866, and the place is Oberlin, Ohio. Amanda Stewart has graduated from Oberlin College, but the celebration is cut short when she finds out that her father has passed away. Just like that, Amanda is on her own in the world.

Her father had a business partner that offers her a horrible proposition to start making a living. But Amanda made a promise to her father that she would start up a school so that she could educate their race and help to lift them up, and she intends to see it through.

While Amanda is going through the papers that belonged to her father, she finds out that he had carried on with some plantation in Georgia through correspondence. She wants to start teaching with those who used to be slaves, but when she shows up to Milford she finds that she is not wanted. The mayor instructs her to leave town, but she simply does not know where she should go.

Then there’s the mayor of Milford, Virgil Smithson. He also happens to be the occasional preacher man and blacksmith and has a gift when it comes to speaking. On his end, he doesn’t want to contend at all with some snobbish teacher from the north. Then he finds out that the teacher lady actually has an iron-hard will that could go up against some of the metal that he forges and win.

Now Virgil has to get the ex-enslaved citizens to organize into a new town, all while bringing his daughter up on his own. The past that he comes from is haunting him, and he cannot get the promise he made to the mother of his daughter out of his head that she made as she was dying to teach their child to write and read. Virgil knows that he has secrets that the schoolteacher that has showed up seems eager to uncover.

If they want to keep the preacher’s promise, Virgil and Amanda must put to the side the way that they don’t get along and come together in a community that is being built from the ground up in an age where no one is certain what will happen next.

They will put together what makes them different and end up coming together so that the town can thrive. Can the pair of them work together and create something that is truly miraculous to see? Will something like love end up developing in the process? Read this fascinating book to find out!

The Mayor’s Mission is the second novel in the Home to Milford College series by Piper Huguley. Released in 2014, the second installment continues the Milford story.

This is the tale of Milford College, and it’s in trouble. The time is 1868, and the place is Milford, Georgia. The goal to create preachers and teachers to tend to the recently-freed populations seemed like a good one, but now it’s on a shaky path due to problems that are cropping up between the founders. Oh yes, and the founders are married.

Mayor Virgil Smithson has been to Atlanta for nearly five months, away to attend the constitutional convention in this just-established state capitol. When he’s late returning home, Amanda Smithson grows worried. She is running the crowded school by herself, and it is only growing larger. What will she do if her husband does not come home? Will they be able to pay the school’s property taxes without him?

Then more problems start popping up. The Milford daughters-in-law have come to town, and they want to get what they think is their inheritance back from the Smithsons. Amanda has decided to hire a former friend form school to help teach the older students, but Virgil finds that he doesn’t like the way that this new man is with Amanda. It seems like he is being way too affectionate.

The Smithsons have to go through yet another crisis when it all seems like it’s too much to resolve. It might end up ripping them apart, and taking the dream of having a school along with it. Things are challenging at the moment, but the Smithsons know that they have their faith to lean on.

Their religious faith is all that they need to come together and to pray that God will show them his mercy and his love. They have been fighting for their mission for a long time, and they know that they will do what it takes to keep this going. They will also do whatever it takes to keep their love alive as well. Will the pair be successful, and see their school continue to educate and help others? Read this novel to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Piper Huguley

Leave a Reply