Book Notification

Play-By-Play Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Play by Play Books

The Perfect Play (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Changing the Game (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Taking a Shot (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Playing to Win (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thrown by a Curve (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Sweet Ride (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holiday Games (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Melting the Ice (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Straddling the Line (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holiday on Ice (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarterback Draw (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Wound Up (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hot Holiday Nights (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unexpected Rush (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mistletoe Games (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rules of Contact (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Score (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shot on Gold (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Play-By-Play is a series romance novels written by USA Today and New York Times bestselling author of romance and contemporary books Jaci Burton. It is a sexy peek, steamy glimpse into the realm of sport as seen via the eyes of Riley family. There is Mike a professional footballer and his brother, a professional baseball player. Then there is Jenna, who runs a family bar and does not want anything to do with anyone person involved in sports. Their beloved parents are committed to their lives, and therefore Riley’s family is a loving and a close-knit family.

The Play-By-Play series has been expanded to accommodate more characters beyond the Riley’s. These characters include the hot, talented, sexy men who bonded together at the campus and remained good friends beyond. Jaci Burton began the publication of Play-By-Play series in 2011 when The Perfect Play the first book in the series was published and since then over a dozen books have been published. The Perfect Play won 2012 All About Romance (AAR) Annual Reader Poll under the category Best Erotic Romance.

The Perfect Play

The Perfect Play is the debut novel in Play-By-Play series by Jaci Burton. The story introduces the readers to Tara Lincoln an event planner and the rightful owner of The Right Touch. By a mere coincidence, Tara a chance to attend the summer party of the NFL team known as the San Francisco Sabers. The summer party is a complete success, and it is in this party that she gets the chance to meet with one of the Saber’s stars, Mick Riley. Mick is often seen with a model or an actress draped across his arm, and so Tara is surprised when the player takes an interest in her. He offers her dance and later invites her to his hotel room.

Mick is tired of his career agent through sexy women his way. He wants to have someone who is not after money or fame, and the moment he sets his eyes on Sara, he immediately knows that she is normal. Sarah interests him, and Mick finds himself wanting to know more about her. Also being actively physically attracted to her does not hurt either.

Even though Sarah and Mick are perfect in bed together, the real-life always throws challenges on their way often. Tara is a single mom trying to raise a teenager. Her life has always revolved around herself and her son, Nathan and she is not used to putting anyone else first. On the other hand, Mick is a celebrity, and he is known everywhere, and being a celebrity is something hard to deal with. So convincing Tara is something that is not a casual fling and thus will be a tough one for Mick.

The first in Play-By-Play series is a beautiful read; it is emotional, erotic and captivating. The characters are wonderful and richly developed, and the plot is engaging and also fun to read. The main characters are Mick and Tara; there are likable, full of flaws and strengths thus making them relatable. Their journey of love is not an easy one as it is full of challenges at every turn. Jaci Burton did an excellent job in filling the story with plenty of detail, so the reader knows where each character is coming from and how to understand their actions. Additionally, there is plenty of juicy hot sex scenes and also plenty of winning and dining.

Tara is introduced to a world that is entirely new to her, from the vacations to exotic beaches, one of the red carpet events, flight to St. Louis to visit Mick’s family and watch his baseball player brother playing. All the time that Mick and Tara spend together brings them close to each other, but yet Tara is for the other shoe to drop. She knows that they come from two different worlds and continually wonders if their relationship would ever survive if the NFL starts. The Perfect Play is narrated from the first point of views as seen by Mick and Tara and also in third person narrative.

Changing the Game

Changing the Game the second installment in Play-By-Play series by Jaci Burton is the story of Gavin and Liz. Gavin had never romantically imagined of Liz- Liz was his agent nothing else. He also never contemplated of mixing business with romance regardless of how beautiful the redhead was. However, since the charming and vulnerable Liz kissed him after being fired from the job by his brother Mick, Gavin has been thinking about her every minute.

On the other hand, Liz has been avoiding Gavin, fearing that she might lose her job as well. However Mick has no intentions of firing her as he is his own man with his own mind, and so he wants Liz to stop avoiding him. Wanting to meet Liz, Gavin corners her during a spring training party in Florida.

Liz and Gavin go beyond the just talking at his Florida beach house. Liz understands this is wrong to surrender to Gavin in the bedroom. She suspects that he might not commit to her thinking that he is just like any other celebrity wanting to use girls and dump them and the only thing that she can do to avoid heartbreaks is keeping it light and never reveal to Gavin about her true feelings. However, what if Gavin falls in love with her, wanting more than strings attached type of affair? Will his family make things difficult for them to take their relationship to the next level? Is Gavin sure about his feelings? He has never been in love before-can he distinguish lust and love?

Jaci Burton does a beautiful job in the second installment in Play-By-Play series. The author proved her prolific writing skills by making a very unlikable character from the debut novel (Liz Darnell) into a wonderful and likable character. She gives the brave, independent career a good backstory that explains why she acted the way she does. Liz had concealed her heart in a tough shell and the only man would could crack it was the only man she had secretly admired for a year, Gavin Riley. If you enjoy reading romance novels featuring plenty of steamy hot sex scenes, then Play-By-Play series is worth reading.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Play-By-Play

Leave a Reply