Book Notification

Pokemon Chapter Book Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Pokemon Chapter Books

I Choose You (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Island of the Giant Pokemon (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Attack of the Prehistoric Pokemon (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night in the Haunted Tower (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Team Rocket Blasts Off! (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charizard, Go! (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Splashdown in Cerulean City (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return of the Squirtle Squad (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Journey to the Orange Islands (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret of the Pink Pokemon (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scyther, Heart of a Champion (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Race To Danger (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Talent Showdown (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Psyduck Ducks Out (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thundershock in Pummelo Stadium (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Go West, Young Ash (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ash Ketchum, Pokémon Detective (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prepare For Trouble (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle for the Zephyr Badge (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Fired Up (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chikorita Challenge (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ash to the Rescue (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets of the GS Ball (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prize Pokemon (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Teaming Up With Totodile (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tough Enough (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winner Takes All (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Pokemon Chapter Books” by Tracey West are an adaptation of the Pokemon Games. Wes the author was born in New Jersey, where she would play in the street with Katie her sister and Michael her brother.

They would usually ride their bikes, play Ultimate Frisbee and kickball or take their sleds to ride down the hill when it was winter. Most Saturday mornings would find them in front of the TV set watching cartoons and eating cereal.

During the summer they would head to the library across town and would walk out with as many books as they could carry. She would usually read her stack under some shady tree on their street.

After graduation from high school, West went to Rutgers University to study journalism and English. Since she wanted to become an author, journalism seemed like the most secure way to write and get paid.

During this time she reported for her college paper and after graduation she got a job at a small publishing company as an editorial assistant. It was there that she learned all about editing, publishing, writing and selling books.

After leaving that job, she went on to work for a company that sold children’s novels to other publishers after packaging them. She was in charge of submitting ideas for stories that other writers would then flesh out.

She soon graduated into the writing of outlines and finally wrote “Spies and Lies,” her first novel that was something of a Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew Supermystery. It was during this time that her friends Lisa and Bonnie sold her on the idea for a children’s fiction novel they called “Great Uncle Dracula.”
It was the first time any of her ideas had ever been published even if it was under the Jayne Harvey pseudonym. Soon after she got a job with Scholastic even as she wrote in her freetime. After several years working for different publishers, she began writing the “Pokemon Chapter” books which is when her writing career took off.

Even though she was kept very busy writing the “Pokemon Books,” Scholastic got interested in “Pixie Tricks” that she had written years earlier. She now writes all manner of books based on movies, video games and cartoons. Tracey West lives with her husband Bill and several of their dogs in the Catskill Mountains.

The “Pokemon Chapter Books” by Tracey West follow some of the major characters of the Pokemon gaming franchise on their adventures.
In the debut novel of the series, Ash is working on becoming the greatest Pokemon master the world has ever seen. He has Pikachu helping him as he goes on a quest to capture and ultimately train to the highest level ever Pokemon he can find. Ash has the determination to be the best but Pikachu can be quite a headstrong fellow and often refuses to listen to what she says.

In the second novel of the series, Pikachu and Ash are invited to a cruise ship where there is a Pokemon party. They soon realize that the evil Team Rocket just tricked them as they intend to steal all the Pokemon on board. Things become even more interesting when the boat capsizes and everyone that survives finds themselves in a strange land full of monster size Pokemon.

In the third novel of the series, Brock, Misty, Ash and Pikachu are going to dig for Pokemon fossils when Team Rocket inadvertently wakes up some ancient and cranky Pokemon. In the middle of all the chaos, Ash stumbles into a strange Pokemon egg.

“I Choose You,” the first novel of the “Pokemon Chapter Book” series of novels by Tracey West are more than thirty titles that have become very popular. What I like about her novel is that she is a fan which means she fills in many of the blanks in the movie, episode or story arcs.

The novel traces how Pikachu and Ash start working together. It is ultimately a story of how their friendship began and how it is put to the test. The focus is only on Pikachu and Ash who have many adventures in the first season of the series.

What I love about this work is that it is not just a retelling of the episodes on TV. Tracey West draws her stories and other elements of character from different episodes. He is expert at showing the growth of the friendships and how the characters develop over the course of the series.

“Island of the Giant Pokemon,” the second novel of the “Pokemon Chapter Book” series is an excellent story. The tale is set on the SS Anne, a wonderful cruise liner that is the dream location for all Pokemon trainers.

Ash and her friends manage to get some tickets from some innocent looking teenagers who turn out to be disguised members of the evil Team Rocket. Once they board the ship, everything goes to the dogs as they find out about the treachery of their biggest nemesis.

Ash is forced to trade off Butterfree who is his most loved Pokemon and even as the ship goes down, there is a mad rush to steal each other’s Pokemon. Ash and her friends including James and Jessie find themselves washed up on an island full of giant Pokemon.

Everyone fears for their lives in the land of giants only to learn that it is nothing but an amusement park.
It is an interesting work that will appeal to readers of all ages.

Tracey West’s “Attack of the Prehistoric Pokemon” is one of the best books in the series. It opens to Ash the lead and several of her friends at the Grandpa Canyon. The evil Team Rocket had suddenly detonated some explosives and some of them found themselves in a cave deep inside the earth’s crust.

Here they find some very bizarre Poekmon including a Charmeleon Pokemon that had become a Charizard. They also find a flying Aerodactyl, which is an extinct Pokemon that seems to be very much alive and in fact thriving.
The amazing plot is what makes this one of the most special of all the novels in the series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Pokemon Chapter Book

Leave a Reply