Poppy Z. Brite Books In Order

Publication Order of John Rickey and Gary ‘G-man’ Stubbs Books

The Value of X (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Liquor (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Prime (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Soul Kitchen (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
D*U*C*K (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lost Souls (1992) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Drawing Blood (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Exquisite Corpse (1996) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Seed of Lost Souls (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Plastic Jesus (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Guilty But Insane (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Triads (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Crystal Empire (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Last Wish & The Gulf (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cemetery Dance Select (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Courtney Love (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Portrait of a Phantom (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Billy Martin was born on May 25, 1967 in Bowling Green, Kentucky at Western University Hospital. Poppy Z. Brite (his writing name) moved to New Orleans in the year 1993, and before that, lived in Athens, Georgia; Chapel Hill, North Carolina; and Bowling Green, Kentucky. He started life as a woman (born with the name Melissa Ann Brite) but is a trans man and prefers the pronouns and terms used with men when being referred to. From the time that he heard about gay men, he has seen himself as one but trapped in a female body. He started gender reassignment in the August 2010. For a while, he and Chris DeBarr (who is a chef) were life partners, but split in the year 2011.

He started his career writing horror and gothic novels and short fiction. His later work moved into the genre of dark comedy, many of which were set in the restaurant world of New Orleans. Brite tends to put openly homosexual and bisexual characters in lead roles. He made his fiction debut in the year 1992 when “Lost Souls” was released. In the year 2009, he placed second in New Orleans’ Gambit Weekly’s reader poll for “Best Local Author”.

Brite has said that he will only allow some of his work to be adapted into movies, if the circumstances are right. This is due to his lack of interest in movies and does not have much interest seeing his work adapted. “The Sixth Sentinel”, a story written by Brite, was filmed as “The Dream Sentinel” as part of “The Hunger” (which was a short lived horror anthology television series).

“Liquor” is the first novel in the “Liquor” series and was released in the year 2004. Rickey and G-man (both natives of New Orleans) have been friends forever, and are line cooks that are down and out, desperate to make some quick money. Rickey comes up with the genius idea to open a restaurant in the alcohol hometown, where every dish would pack a spirited punch. They know that the both of them are on their way to the bank.

They do some wheeling and dealing, have some great recipes, and a run of some good luck. They are quickly on their way to opening their restaurant, which they will call Liquor. Before that, they have to keep the peace with a local crank that does not want his neighborhood disturbed. Sidestep Rickey’s ex-boss, who is deranged. Rein their big-mouth silent partner in before he runs wild on them. Keep from going under in the town of corruption that is known for its bottom feeders.

Fans of the novel found this to have Brite’s usual writing style; the characters feel like old friends, setting seems like something familiar, and readers are drawn in from page one.

“Prime” is the second novel in the “Liquor” series and was released in the year 2005. It has been two years since Rickey and G-man have opened up Liquor and they are immersed in the life their restaurant has. It has loyal diners and they get to cook wonderful food, laced with booze. It goes pretty well, until a local paper runs a bad review that basically says that celebrity chef Lenny Duveteaux (who is their silent partner) has some ulterior motives. Lenny is accused of some serious criminal activity by the eccentric District Attorney Placide Treat. This makes Rickey and G-man start thinking it may be time they cut ties with the man.

Rickey is offered a nice consulting job at a restaurant in Dallas, it could make for something that would pad their bank account nicely. Taking the job, will mean seeing Cooper Stark again. He is a man that Rickey shared an encounter, fueled by cocaine, back in their culinary school days. He will also have to deal with a gungho Texas restaurateur and businessman named Frank Firestone. With a little urging from G-man, he finally accepts the job offer, and then proceeds to revamp Frank’s menu and gets rave reviews for it.

He gets back home in New Orleans, and gets back into his kitchen routine. Then, he hears some information that makes him go back to Dallas. Placide Treat’s machinations get even more odd, G-man finds out that there is more to things than meets the eye. Rickey is some big time, Texas-sized danger.

Fans of the novel readers find themselves hooked on this great author. Some found this to be just as enjoyable as book one in the series. Some wished that this series would have went on forever and ever.

“Soul Kitchen” is the third novel in the “Liquor” series and was released in the year 2006. Liquor is now one of the hottest joints in town, thanks go to the two chefs and their wildly creative and recipes that include booze. Right at the end of Mardi Gras, Milford Goodman comes into their kitchen. He has spent the last decade in Angola Prison for murder (his boss, who was a wealthy restaurateur based in New Orleans). Milford has just been let out because new evidence exonerated him. Rickey hires him on the spot after remembering that he was an ingenious chef.

A Carnival scion and a pill pusher doctor compel Rickey into consulting for the restaurant they are opening on a floating casinos. Rickey suggest that they have Milford fill the role of head chef and he stays on to supervise things. He finds that he is medicating someone’s kitchen injury with the doctor’s own wares. All the while, G-man gets exhausted of holding down Liquor all by himself.

The closer they get to the grand opening, Rickey finds out that Milford’s past is linked with a back of the project. This is a man who has intentions that get more and more sinister.

Fans of the novel found that this novel sheds some light as to what it is like to live in New Orleans. Some readers devoured the book quickly and the possibility of danger keeps it from being too precious about New Orleans’ restaurant culture. Like the culture and the way the food plays a giant part in the culture of the town.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Poppy Z. Brite