Book Notification

Posie Parker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Posie Parker Mystery Books

Murder Offstage (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tomb of the Honey Bee (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Maypole Manor (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vanishing of Dr Winter (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder of a Movie Star (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Christmas Case (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Venice (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Saltwater Murder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the White Cliffs (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marriage is Murder? (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Tuscany (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in a Chelsea Garden (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder and the Mermaid (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder through the Mirror (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Night Train to Paris (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder and the Scent of Nutmeg (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Posie Parker book series is a well-known series of Golden Age crime stories, historical fiction, cozy mystery, detective fiction, and crime fiction novels. It is written by a renowned British author named L.B. Hathaway. The series is comprised of a total of 6 novels and 1 novella released between 2014 and 2018. Every book of the series features the lead protagonist in the role of Posie Parker. She is depicted as a Private Detective living in London. Hathaway has set the stories during the 1920s in London. Some of the plots are also set in other places like Venice, France, Cambridge, Cotswolds, Egypt, Italy, etc.

The essential characters mentioned in the books include Len, Lucy Gibson, Mr. Minks, Richard Lovelace, Robin Glaysayer, Alaric Boynton-Dale, William Winter, Dolly Cardigeon, Silvia Hanro, Countess Romagnoli, and several others. Each and every novel featuring Posie Parker is quite popular in all the places of its publishing. The books have managed to attract a large number of readers all across the globe. Numerous critics have appreciated the stories and praised the excellent settings of the Golden Age, intriguing characters, the unique writing style of Hathaway, and the suspenseful mysteries. Author Hathaway has said that every novel in this series represents a unique standalone story and therefore, they can be read as individual novels. However, it is advised to read the books in the chronological order of their releas,e in order to enjoy the series completely.

The debut book of the Posie Parker Mystery series written by author L.B. Hathaway is entitled ‘Murder Offstage’. It was released by the Whitehaven Man Press in 2014. The book’s story is set in London, England in 1921 and features the primary characters as Len, Posie Parker, Mr. Minks, Lucy Gibson, and several others. It starts by showing that the childhood friend of Posie Parker gets robbed of his priceless jewel. He becomes very much sad at his loss and doesn’t know what to do. To make matters worse, he gets framed in a case of cold-blooded murder and becomes the prime suspect. When Posie Parker comes to know about it, the budding detective vows to find his priceless jewel and also prove his innocence in the murder case. Posie is assisted by her gorgeous assistant named Len in carrying out the investigation. The more Posie Parker investigates, the more she becomes sure that things are not what they appear to be.

The darkly glamorous theater world of London and its glittering nightclubs look far more dangerous than Posie could ever imagine. In order to unravel the mystery, Posie needs to find answers to some very important questions that keep coming into her head all the time. The case is extremely important for Posie Parker because she has just started working as a detective and solving the case would give a very good start to make her career a big success. Also, the life of her close friend is put on the line. So, Posie cannot afford a failure at this point in time. While dealing with a case of murder and a theft at the same time, Posie Parker is made to put all her skills to the test. She manages to dodge all the threats in her path and remain alive to catch the culprit and clear the name of her friend.

Being close to Len all the time during the investigation makes Posie begin a budding romance with him. The two develop feelings for each other and go on to cherish a romantic relationship. Overall, the book contains a cozy mystery story with an extra bite. It has a refreshing setup and keeps the readers interested till the last page. The plot runs with a smooth pace and looks like an engaging whodunit. There are enough fun elements and twists & turns that grab the attention of the readers. The dialogues are catchy and seem to have great comedic potential. They go well with the pleasant writing style. Even the characters seem witty and resourceful. On the whole, this novel is an entertaining and interesting historical mystery that showcases lively prose with good quality gentle humor.

Another exciting novel written in this series is called ‘The Tomb of the Honey Bee’. It was also published in 2014 by the Whitehaven Man publication. This book also provides an exciting, cozy mystery set in different exotic locations of Europe at the time of the 1921 summer. The story opens by depicting that Posie Parker is asked to find the whereabouts of a popular explore who seems to have disappeared. Posie Parker lands in murky waters again as she searches for the missing explorer. She has to deal with an aristocratic family that has hatred among its members, a weird murder case at a country house in England, and a highly coded message left by the disappeared explorer for her to decode and find his location. The cryptic clue appears sweet like honey and deadly like poison. As Posie looks further, she finds that everyone around has some motive to see the explorer dead. The investigation that begins in the Cotswolds takes Posie Parker to glamorous southern France, a mysteries Italian island, and finally to the Pharaohs’ Tombs in Egypt. She senses that all her activities are being watched and she is being followed by someone in all the locations.

The follower turns out to be none other than the cold-blooded killer that Posie is trailing. When she realizes this, she feels the need for Len, her handsome boyfriend and assistant. Along with an engaging mystery, the book provides a lot of fun as Posie Parker travels to multiple exotic locations. Hathaway has written the plot of this book in a charming and light style. The amusingly melodramatic climax of the book is also very interesting to read. One again, Posie Parker looks unpredictable, just like in all the other books. Hathaway’s storytelling technique is quite engaging and interesting. The critics believe that the book is perfect for the fans of Downtown Abbey and Agatha Christie. It reached out to a large number of readers in different parts of the world. The immense success of the novel increased the popularity of author Hathaway to a greater extent and helped her establish herself as a noteworthy writer of the cozy mystery genre.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Posie Parker

Leave a Reply