Book Notification

Powder Mage Trilogy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Powder Mage Books

Promise of Blood (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl of Hrusch Avenue (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hope's End (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crimson Campaign (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forsworn (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Servant of the Crown (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Kinnen Hotel (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return to Honor (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Autumn Republic (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghosts of the Tristan Basin (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mad Lancers (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Siege of Tilpur (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Powder Mage Books

Forsworn(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Servant of the Crown(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Kinnen Hotel(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hope's End(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl of Hrusch Avenue(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Promise of Blood(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return to Honor(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crimson Campaign(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Autumn Republic(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghosts of the Tristan Basin(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mad Lancers(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Siege of Tilpur(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Powder Mage Collections

In the Field Marshal's Shadow (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

The trilogy constituted with three books- Promise of Blood (2013), The Crimson Campaign (2014) and The Autumn Republic (2014). Beside these three books some short stories are also been published on the characters of the “The Powder Mage Trilogy”. The first book “Promise of Blood” has also received the Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer for such a brilliant storyline. The writing is very smooth and it is highly amusing, you would not want to leave before accomplishing.

The story revolves around some characters like – Field Marshall Tamas, Taniel (Tamas son), Adamat, and Kresimir. It is about a civil war that is going on between two armies. At start of book-1 i.e. Promise of Blood, field Marshall Tamas has determined for a rebellion against the discrimination, barbarism and monarchy of Kresimir. There is an ambiguity at start, when Tamas kills every member of the Adro’s royal cabal they speak out the same phrase “You cannot break the Kresimir’s promise”. Tamas friend, Adamat, who is an ex-police inspector, tries to solve this mystery along with Tamas. The book is all about the struggle and attempts of Tamas to preserve the peace and nation’s graciousness during the civil war. Tamas son, Taniel, has the supernatural powers as per the author, who is a powder mage and his powers engender when he consume some gunpowder. It has the story of rebellion and civil war against the unworthy leader, Kresimir. They just comprehend that during the revolt one powerful member of the royal cabal somehow managed to run away. They also find out that there is something more than all of this, which is bigger than the monarchy, and they do not know what is coming after them.

In Second book – The Crimson Campaign, the book revolves around the resist of Field Marshall Tamas, Adamat against the Kresimir’s army. Tamas’s attack of Kez ends drastically when he got detached from his army inside the enemy’s lines. He has very less soldiers on his side, no availability of food and reinforcement and low on hope. The story explains about oppose of Tamas in the Kez to take his men safely towards the mountain from where he can protect his men against a powerful god. On other side, Adamat is trying to rescue his wife in Adro where he faces an evil Lord Vetas. He wants to reply Vetas but he has low on strength. Taniel, assumed his father and his cabal are dead now, so he connected with the god-chef Mihali, who is last line of defence against Kresimir’s barbaric army. Tamas and his men are losing their land day by day beneath the Kez attack. The second book is totally portraying a tough scenario of the people who are seeking justice against Kresimir’s misrule.

In third book, The Autumn Republic, hope dwells on the side of Tamas and his people. Here, after so much struggle Field Marshall Tamas could finally revisit to his beloved nation, where he found that his nation is in the hands of a foreign invader. He searched for his son, but he could not find him anywhere. His friends are impossible to tell apart from his enemies and his enemy is far stronger than his friends are. His accomplice, Adamat, dragged into the centre of new mutiny on a condition of finding his kidnapped son after the war. The army is, divided into two halves, the people who were friends are no more on same side and who were enemies are accomplice now. It presented an epic conclusion of the trilogy; it is required to read as the author very cleverly plots this. He completed a number of plotlines into a very acceptable result in the trilogy. The Autumn Republic is highly entertaining and it concludes the trilogy with the fairness.

The character of Field Marshall Tamas is very inspiring who is seeking hope in the depression. A person who want to give justice to his nation by providing a better ruler and so that is why he started a rebellion. He is a role model, who thinks about others before himself. He is a trustworthy friend, who can do anything for his loved ones. When he was, separated from his army and reinforcement was far away, he protected his remaining men successfully against the evil god. Kresimir is a bad ruler; critically, he can go to any extent to hurt his people for his enjoyment. He believes only his royal cabal and often takes wrong judgement on their advice. Ex-Inspector Adamat is the dignified accomplice of Field Marshal, Tamas, he along with his son, Taniel, is trying to fight the civil war against the misrule of Kresimir. Adamat has only one weakness and that is his wife and his son. Along the story, he is trying to find his missing son and to unite with his wife. Taniel has super natural power and he can use his powers in a mystifying way after consuming some gunpowder. Their struggle against the monarchy is the beginning as the story had a number of high and lows for them. The story is very powerful and got strong characters, and above of all it has a unique magical system, which we do not see anywhere else.

Brian McClellan has written a masterpiece as if you start reading you do not want to depart without finishing it. Writing a trilogy is a tough thing, as you have to stretch a number of plotlines and reach to a conclusion that must be as per the expectations of the reader. Every book is dependent upon the other, so you cannot just start from anywhere; you need to see every book sequence wise to know the entire story. Well, reading such trilogy is like the dream of every book lover and this trilogy supply us every type of emotion, which we want to seek in a book. Hence, I can say this is the best fantasy book series ever written by a writer.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Powder Mage Trilogy

Leave a Reply