Book Notification

Practical Magic Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Practical Magic Books

Practical Magic (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rules of Magic (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magic Lessons (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of Magic (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Practical Magic Books

Magic Lessons(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rules of Magic(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Practical Magic(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of Magic(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Practical Magic is a series of paranormal romance novels written by Alice Hoffman. The books follow the adventures of two witches, Sally and Gillian, who are trying and failing to break away from their magical lineage.

The Practical Magic series is spent following the Owens sisters as they finally come to terms with the magic in their blood and the complexities that their lineage adds to their love lives. These novels have been commended for their charming characters, sweet stories, and the author’s magical writing style.

Alice Hoffman is an American author born in 1952 in New York City. She attended Valley Steam North High and Adelphi University. She wrote her first short story while studying at Stanford. The short story got the attention of an editor, who asked her to write a full-length novel.

Some people struggle to categorize the Practical Magic series. The novels deal with witches and magic, so words like “fantasy,” “paranormal,” and “supernatural” would definitely fit the bill, but the magic on display in the stories is quite subtle, so much so that one would be hard-pressed to call these fantasy novels. Additionally, emphasis is placed on the romance and the family drama that plays out between the characters.

Regardless of what anyone chooses to call these books, one cannot deny Practical Magic’s persisting popularity. The first novel in the series was published in 1995 to great fanfare. Its sequel took more than two decades to finally see the light of day, and yet Alice Hoffman’s fans were no less enthusiastic to return to the world that the first Practical Magic novel introduced.

These novels tell the stories of the Owens family. Back in the 1600s, Maria Owens fell for the wrong man. The affair finally ended when Maria was accused of witchcraft. Before her demise, Maria cast a spell that would doom every man who would ever fall for an Owens woman to a quick and horrible death.

Practical Magic, the first novel in the series, weaves the story of Sally and Gillian, who grew up well aware of the dark web of suspicion that hovered over their family name. For as long as they could remember, everything that went wrong in their rural Massachusetts town was blamed on the Owens family.

To an extent, Sally and Gillian’s neighbors couldn’t be blamed for their hostile reactions, because their aunts did nothing to dissuade suggestions that they were witches. If anything, they encouraged this talk. Sally and Gillian suffered the consequences and so after a while, they decided that they would escape the family name and all the rumors that came with it.

Gillian did this by running away. She was always the wild one, breaking men’s hearts, living her life to the fullest. Sally was far more practical. She decided to marry. Neither of them realized back then that, no matter how far they ran, their bonds would keep drawing them back together.

The Rules of Magic unfolds a saga beginning in 1620, when Maria Owens loved the wrong man and was charged with witchery as a result. Centuries later, Susanna Owens is doing everything in her power to keep her children safe from the same fate that befell their ancestor. They refuse to make things easy for her, and Susanna can tell that Franny, Jet, and Vincent are the farthest thing from ordinary. But that doesn’t mean she is ready to give up on them.

Of all the rules that Susanna has set for her kids, her restrictions on love are the most important. She forbids them from ever giving their hearts away to anyone unless they are ready to face the consequences.

Magic Lessons begins with Maria Owens in the 1600’s. Abandoned as a baby and cared for by Hannah Owens, Hannah sees that Maria has a gift and teaches Maria everything that she knows about the “Nameless Arts.” Maria learns the most important lesson from Helen, that she has to love someone who loves her back.

The Book of Magic, the conclusion of the Practical Magic series, begins when Aunt Jet hears the deathwatch beetle, knows she has only seven days to live, and feels that she has so much to do with her remaining time. Readers are introduced again to Aunt Jet and Aunt Franny; Uncle Vincent; Sally and Gillian; and Sally’s children, Kylie and Antonia.

The first novel in the practical magic series was adapted into a 1998 romantic comedy film that featured Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman. The movie was directed by Griffin Dunne.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Practical Magic

3 Responses to “Practical Magic”

  1. Taly Foox: 2 years ago

    Wilma, the order of the books is right at the beginning of this article, at the top. Here it is again:
    Alice Hoffman said that the books can be read either in the order they were written/published
    Practical Magic (1995)
    The Rules of Magic (2017)
    Magic Lessons (2020)
    The Book of Magic (2021)

    Or in the chronological order

    Magic Lessons (2020)
    The Rules of Magic (2017)
    Practical Magic (1995)
    The Book of Magic (2021)

    Hope this helps.

  2. Wilma chambers: 2 years ago

    Tell order of books. So I can get started.

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      That’s what this page is?


Leave a Reply