Book Notification

Pride Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Pride Books

The Mane Event (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beast in Him (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mane Attraction (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mane Squeeze (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beast Behaving Badly (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Big Bad Beast (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bear Meets Girl (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Like a Wolf with a Bone (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wolf with Benefits (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bite Me (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Pride Books

Like a Wolf with a Bone(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mane Event(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beast in Him(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mane Attraction(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mane Squeeze(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beast Behaving Badly(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Big Bad Beast(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bear Meets Girl(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wolf with Benefits(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bite Me(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Pride is a series of paranormal written by an American author of paranormal and romance novels Shelly Laurenston. Initially a resident of Long Island in New York, Shelly has lived in West Coast which involves mostly sunny days and healthy food. Shelly Laurenston has also written books under the pen name G.A. Aiken, the author of the Dragon Kin series.

Shelly began the publication of Pride series in 2007 when The Mane Event the first book in the series was published.

The Mane Event

The first book in Pride series, The Mane Event features two stories, Shaw’s Tail and Christmas Pride. The Christmas Pride is the story about Mason Llewellyn aka Mace who just ended his military life in NAVY. He crosses paths with his childhood best friend Desiree McDermott aka Dez half Irish half Puerto Rican and a police detective.

Mace decided to join the military because he does not want to be a “Breeding Male for Llewellyn Pride that is headed by his elder sister, Missy. Mace is a lion shapeshifter, but Dez does not know about it. On the other hand, Dez is a busy woman; she is investigating a murder case, the victim being Missy’s Breeding Male. While investigating, Dez must accept her feelings to Mace, and because Mace never gave up on her from 22 years ago and he does not care if Dez is just a human. He wants her as his mate for eternity.

The second story in The Mane Event is Shaw’s Tail and follows after the ending of Christmas Pride. We meet Brendon Shaw one of the few breeding males for Llewellyn Pride. Unlike Mace who ran away from his responsibility as a Breeding Male, Shaw accepts it. At Christmas Pride Shaw is beaten almost to death by the people hunting down Missy’s people, but fortunately, Dez saves him. He is suffering from a fever and Smith Pack, a close alliance with Mace takes care of him and orders one of their members, Rhoda Lee to watch him. Shaw falls in love with Rhonda, but she is a wolf. However, feline shapeshifter and a wolf is like a cat and a dog; they always snap each other. Worse, Shaw is a Breeding Male, and he is not supposed to mate to the wolf. How will Ronnie and Shaw face this problem since there is a considerable difference between them?

The first book in Pride series is a beautiful read. There are three forms of shapeshifters in The Manes Event, the wolf shifter, feline shifter and hyena shifter. The wolf shifter can shift to the wolf of course, and their group is called pack. They are never alone and always watch everyone backs and help each other. Their leader is known as the Alpha, so there is an Alpha male and alpha female. Wolves mate for life, and so they just have one mate for the rest of their life.

The feline shifters include Lion, Tiger, Leopard and other feline species. However, in The Mane Event, there is only the Lion shapeshifter. They are known as the Pride, and the system in the pride is matriarchal meaning that the leader of the pride is a female. However, each Pride has a Male Breeding, a sperm donor sort of thing. Unlike the wolf shapeshifters, Feline shapeshifters do not mate for eternity even though there is a particular case in Here Kitty, Kitty, the third book in Magnus Pack series by Shelly Laurenston.

The Hyena shifters are the cruelest shapeshifters. They are an all-time enemy of Lion Shifter and other felines, but it seems that even the wolf shifters even hate them too. A group of hyena shifters is known as a Clan, and their system is Matriarchal just like the Lion Pride. The hyena shifters are already cruel even when they are still a baby.

The world building in The Mane Event is fantastic; Shelly Laurenston describes each shapeshifter vividly with their animal abilities and personalities. The story is more contemporary/thriller suspense than paranormal simply because there are no magic wands involved or people wanting to conquer the planet and impose their rules. It is so simple how two people, a woman, and man try to accept each other with the man relentless and the woman so stubborn. Add humor to them, and you will get the perfect recipe.

The Beast in Him

The Beast in Him is the second book in Pride series by Shelly Laurenston, and it is just as funny as the debut novel. The author has a knack for writing hilarious stories with fun-loving characters.

Back in high school, Bobby Ray Smith has a crush on the nerdy Jessie Ward. Poor Jessie was bullied by all she-wolves especially Bobby’s own sister Sissy. However, Bobby did his best to protect her until he left for the Navy and the night he leaves for the military he stops another attack on Jessie. While having a conversation, Jessie and Bobby almost kiss, but then Bobby stops himself for he does not want to hurt her by igniting some emotions and then leave.

Several years later, Bobby and Mace’s Security Company is working a bash held by a successful, sexy, Jessie Ward. Bobby is shocked when Jessie acts as if she barely remembers him. However, Bobby sets out to make Jessie apart of his life once again even though everyone else thinks that she is out of his league.

What makes the second book in Pride series an enjoyable read is a characterization that Shelly Laurenston has done. Ray Smith is all country, sexy, playful, sweet, and very protective. The Smiths are famously known for their wildness, fighting crazy ways, and Bobby has been fighting his Smith side all his life. Then there is Jessie; she is sassy, funny, playful, loyal and smart. She makes a great family full of herself and wants a mate and children of her own. She has always secretly admired Bobby but is worried about letting one of the Smith’s in her life and give him the power to break her heart again just like during the high school days.
If you love stories of shapeshifters with plenty of steaming romance, then Pride series by Shelly Laurenston is worth your time.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Pride

Leave a Reply