Book Notification

PRIMAL Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of PRIMAL Books

Primal Origins (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Primal Unleashed (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
PRIMAL Vengeance (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
PRIMAL Fury (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
PRIMAL Mirza (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
PRIMAL Inception (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
PRIMAL Reckoning (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
PRIMAL Nemesis (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
PRIMAL Redemption (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
PRIMAL Renegade (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Primal Deception (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
PRIMAL Exodus (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

PRIMAL, quite a powerful name for an even more powerful military fiction series. The PRIMAL series was created in the year 2011 by Jack Silkstone. It initially started with PRIMAL Origin, which was more of a short story than a novel. Jack Silkstone then published PRIMAL Unleashed in the same year and this was his debut novel.
To better understand the concept behind PRIMAL, we need take a step back and understand Jack Silkstone’s inspirations and background.

Jack Silkstone’s writing is thoroughly influenced by his past military intelligence and special operations background. He has worked alongside some of the world’s most elite units and has successfully brought his readers in his own personal fictitious world of action and adventure with the PRIMAL series.

Silkstone literary influences as a child were Dark Pitt, Jack Ryan, Jason Bourne and James Bond novels. He is also an avid video game fan and indulges in first-person shooter games such as Doom and Wolfenstein.

This comes as no surprise, since both games involve a heavily armed protagonist fighting against a much bigger force. Doom also received a lot of controversy over its violent and satanic themes. But the game remained a classic because of its almost poetic story line and advanced gameplay.

In his PRIMAL series Silkstone has convincingly brought a Tom Clancy feel to his novels. His novels brims with authenticity owing to his firsthand experience in military organisations. Readers are brought into a world of violence, crime and sex where evil prevails in every corner but they are also given hope through the main characters of Silkstone’s novel, the PRIMAL team.

The PRIMAL, in the novel series, is a team of elite operatives with only one target in mind: fighting for the downtrodden and oppressed. Armed with cutting-edge technology and tactics, they fearlessly cross the globe, striking criminals, corrupted organisations and politicians. The PRIMAL team is made up of highly trained operatives, Vance, Ice, Mitch and Bishop. A collaboration born out of their common desire to vanquish “men who think they are above the law”.
The four team mates complement each other, which allows for great passages. PRIMAL does a great job at showing the human side of the story. The reader might even develop a sense of attachment to the protagonists.

PRIMAL’s first target in the debut novella of the series, PRIMAL Origin, is a powerful CEO of an important corporation and a fervent jihadist supporter whose goal is to get rid of all Western influence within the United Arab Emirates. Jack Silkstone manages to catch, and release, all the essence of the Middle East countries. The author goes into great detail, which in turns provides for a very complete and satisfying experience.

In the end, the PRIMAL team manages to defeat the powerful CE O. The author takes great care in providing the right context to the ending.

However, the book does not end in a nostalgic way, since their success in vanquishing this man brings resources and new targets their way. Armed with those new weapon, they next set out to tackle a Russian mafia cartel. This promise of a new series, comes as a hope of continuity. A very welcomed one!

The first novel and second part of the PRIMAL series is PRIMAL Unleashed. Set in 1989 in Afghanistan, when a Russian platoon is waging a war against Afghan warriors in an attempt to bury a devastating secret. This secret, if let out, could have apocalyptic consequences.

Already, we can tell that Jack Silkstone knows how to engage his readers. The plot has a twist, which makes up for a completely different story. The second instalment does not feel like an altered version of the first. Even if a lot is shared with the first book, the second story manages to capture the attention of the reader.

PRIMAL’s second mission is met with a success. The team once again goes to where no man dares to, and accomplishes what most wouldn’t even consider possible. One that prevents evil men from unleashing hell on earth.

In the third installment of the series, PRIMAL Vengeance, the main character focus is on Bishop and Mirza. This allows us to learn more about the two characters. The change of focus is very welcomed as it takes away the boredom often found in series incorporating the same characters over and over again.
The storyline of this third book revolves around the Sudan conflicts. Admittedly, the book has a faster pace than the previous installments PRIMAL Origin and PRIMAL Unleashed. The new pace strikes in as a surprise to Jack Silkstone’s style. But yet, the book manages to capture the reader with it’s clever details and minor twists. This makes this book nearly a one night read.

In 2014, Silkstone has launched two stand-alone prequels to the PRIMAL series, PRIMAL Inception and PRIMAL Mirza. PRIMAL Mirza tells the story of Mirza Mansoor, who was formerly an Indian Special Forces soldier until he joined PRIMAL. The story is set right after the Kargil war which opposed India and Pakistan. It depicts the journey of Mirza Mansoor in a backdrop of corruption and terrorist threat.

This time, Mirza is the center of attention. Granted, the addition of a foreign spy to the PRIMAL team changes the context of the story, but the essence is still there. The story is still captivating, the synergy is there and the twists are uncanny. A recipe not unfamiliar to Jack Silkstone.

The overall attributes of the the PRIMAL series are its locations and characters. Indeed, the team is confronted with different enemies from exotic backgrounds and settings. Readers will hold their breaths as the PRIMAL team are faced with danger, death, war crimes, terrorism and many other dangers.

To top it all, the author does a great job at narrating the adventures. Everything is written to the perfection, be it the description of the surroundings or the situation at hand. Saying the PRIMAL series is a must read for war-fiction fans is an understatement.

Book Series In Order » Characters » PRIMAL

Leave a Reply