Book Notification

Private/Jack Morgan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Private Books

Private (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private London (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Games (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private:#1 Suspect (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Berlin (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private L.A. (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Down Under / Oz (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private India (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Vegas (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Sydney / Missing (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Paris (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Rio / The Games (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Delhi / Count to Ten (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Princess (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Moscow (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Rogue / Private: Missing Persons (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Beijing (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Rome (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Monaco (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
On his website, James has a separate listing for the "main" Private series which is in this order: Private, Private: #1 Suspect, Private L.A., Private Vegas, Private Paris and The Games.

Publication Order of Bookshots: Private Books

By: James Patterson, Jassy Mackenzie, Rees Jones

James Patterson was born on the 22nd of March 1947. He is an American author and he is widely known for his books about the psychologist Alex across on the Alex Cross series. Additionally, Patterson is also known for the Maximum ride, the Witch and the Wizard series and the Daniel series as well as other stand-alone non-fiction, romance novels and thrillers. At the moment his books have sold over 300 million copies and he currently holds the record for selling more than 1 million e-books at the Guinness book of records. Before becoming a writer, Patterson used to be a Ph.D. candidate at the Vanderbilt but later on acquired an advertising Job. He worked as an advertising executive at the J. Walter Thompson firm. When he retired from the firm in 1996, he decided to devote his life to writing.

One of Patterson’s greatest influence was Mrs. Bridge which was Evan’s Connell’s first debut novel. In the year, 1976, James published his first novel which was called Thomas Berryman Number. This novel features Alex Cross, who is a forensic psychologist. Initially Alex used to work at the Federal Bureau of Investigation but currently he works as a government consultant and private psychologist. The Thomas Berryman is his bestselling and most popular US detective series in the last 10 years. As an accomplished author, Patterson has more than 114 novels at the New York Times and additionally his novels have sold many copies when compared to Dan Brown, John Grisham and Stephen King combined. Approximately his books have sold more than 305 copies.

When it comes to awards and recognition, Patterson’s work has received numerous awards such as the Edgar Awards, Children’s Book Award and BCA Mystery Guild Award. At the moment, he is the first ever author to have number one titles concurrently at the New York Times Children’s and Adults Best Sellers and also have two books on the top-ten list of the Novel Tracker at the same time. Apart from that, he also appeared on the Simpson and on several episodes of the Castle where he used his real names. Patterson has worked with numerous co-authors like Andrew Gross, Maxine Paetro, Michael Ledeidge and Mark Sullivan. Many at times, he has said collaborating with other authors usually brings interesting and new ideas to many of his stories. In the year, 2009, Patterson agreed to sign a deal where he could co-write and write more than 11 books to the adult audience and 6 for the young audience. Forbes magazine reported that the deal is worth more than 150 million dollars but Patterson came forth to say that the deal was inaccurate.


Private is the first installment in the Jack Morgan series by Maxine Paetro and James Patterson. Jack is a reincarnated Private of an investigation firm that was started by his own father. Shortly before his death at the local area prison, he provided all the necessary resources that Jack needed to build the firm into a much bigger and outstanding company that has branches all over the world. In this book, Jack Morgan decides to place his focus on several cases. One of these cases, is a big NFL gambling scandal which Jack’s uncle wants him to investigate. There is an organised crime behind the scandal. The following case entails the tracking down of criminals who were involved in the murder of eighteen school girls.

The local area police have no leads or means with which they can be able to identify the individuals involved or the killers. The third and final case involved the killing of Jack’s best friend’s wife. In the midst of all these cases, it is only one case that lands Jacks brother in serious trouble, the gambling trouble. All in all, apart from Jack, there are also other characters who are found in the Private novels. The setting of the novel begins in a war environment. Missiles are flying in the area while Jack is out to save his war partner. From there on the setting changes to the present day.

Number one suspect

It is the second novel in the Jack Morgan series. Like the first book, this series has numerous plots. The main plot involves Jack Morgan, running the Private Investigation firm that was started by his father. After he comes back from a trip. Morgan finds his former girlfriend murdered in his own bed. Immediately he becomes the number one suspect in the murder hence he has to clear himself even if it means going to a lengthy court trial. Additionally, Morgan also does owe a mobster a favour. When it’s time for Morgan to return the favour, he becomes hesitant but nonetheless he still is in no position to refuse. Part from the ex-girlfriend’s death, a movie star who we already in so much legal troubles disappears.

This novel has so far received three professional reviews. One of them is a positive review while the others are unfavorable. Joe Hartlaub from book keeper gave the book a very positive review. In his review he praised Paestro’s and Patterson’s execution and concept. On the other hand, a negative review of the book appeared on the University of California’s newspaper, highlander. The review claimed that the book was exceedingly boring and is among one the few frustrating adventures. Additionally, another review appeared on the Publishers Weekly. It criticised the book for having numerous unrelated subplots which were included to increase the book’s length.

All in all, number one is an excellent example of thriller whodunnit novel, whose thrilling events and incredible pace will unquestionably be enjoyed by the fans. Additionally, the author has managed to create and maintain an excitement with very short chapters thus making the 400 pages book a genuine page turner. The characters in this book are likable while the storytelling is unquestionably at its very best. A great read.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Private/Jack Morgan

Leave a Reply