Book Notification

Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Professor Barrister's Dinosaur Mysteries Books

The Case of the Truncated Troodon (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Armored Allosaurus (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Enormous Eoraptor (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Colorful Caudipteryx (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Case of the Crested Cryptoclidus (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries is the title of a series of prehistoric books authored by American author Stephen Penner. Incidentally, Penner is an attorney, who is based in Seattle, Washington, and doubles up as a law professor. His literary works range from legal thrillers to paranormal to fantasy and, in this context, features dinosaurs which lived in prehistoric times.

Nate and Emily, a male and female character, respectively, are the featured protagonists in the Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries which is authored and illustrated by Stephen Penner. Nate and Emily are both third grade pupils but are experts on matters relating to dinosaurs. Even then Professor Barrister, as the title of this series proclaims, is a crucial character therein. The professor is a big man, bespectacled, and has a large mass of hair on his head. The professor is also a past master at palaeontology. The turning point is a visit to Natural Museum History. There are various formats and subsequent editions of the first book in this series. Even then the first edition of the first book in the Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries was published in April 2010 and is titled The Case of the Truncated Troodon. This series is shelved under the juvenile literature and fantasy genres.

The setting of the Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries and the time-frame contained therein are characterized by a bygone era where the then world was teeming with a wide array of dinosaurs. What if, let’s say, a person was somehow moved from the present-day world and moved to an era which occurred millions of years ago? This is what transpires in the Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries.

Several periods in the history of the world witnessed notable moments and drastic changes. These contextual periods, which are collectively known as the Mesozoic era, are the Triassic Period, Jurassic Period, and Cretaceous Period. The series revolves around the dinosaurs in the said periods, especially the Triassic and Cretaceous periods. Incidentally, the Triassic Period happened from approximately 251 million to 199 millions ago. Cretaceous Period is dated roughly from 145 million to 65 million years ago.

The protagonists in the earliest book in the serialized Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries, The Case of the Truncated Troodon, are catapulted to the Mesozoic era; Emily and Nate are prompted to start sleuthing a controversial prehistoric issue. Incidentally, a troodon was a dinosaur which resembled a bird. Nate and Emily chanced upon their prehistoric escapes after they went for a field trip, accompanied by their teacher, and attended a mystery show convened and hosted by Professor Reginald Barrister.

The show went on for fifteen minutes only; however, the brief encounter between Nate and Emily, and Professor Barrister whet their appetite for more information on dinosaurs. During the show, there was a debate regarding whether there once was dinosaurs with feathers. Emily and Nate aced while the rest of the pupils were mostly clueless; they argued that there has been discoveries of fossils with out-and-out indicators of feathers plus the seemingly common ancestry between Velociraptor and Deinonychus fossils found in North America.

The professor, who was impressed by their knowledge, forgave the two pupils when he realized that they had trespassed into an area which is strictly meant for the employees of the museum. And thus hails their entry into a clandestine passage which stimulates time warp; the two kids are taken to a real-life prehistoric era teeming with scary and real raptors.

Best Books in the Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries
The first three books in the Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries are the best in the series. In this context, the first book, The Case of the Truncated Troodon, which has been discussed previously, is the most sought-after. The next notable book is called The Case of the Armored Allosaurus; this is the second book in the Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries. Emily and Nate, together with Professor Barrister, are in a time warp; they turn back the hands of time and go to the time when dinosaurs called the shots in the world. The aim of this sojourn to the Jurassic era is to prove if Allosaurus, a gigantic dinosaur which lived in the famed Jurassic era, either had or lacked an armored body. But this mission is not for the lily-livered. To get their answer, the three characters will be required to face a gargantuan long-necked dinosaur called Sauropod, herbivorous species of dinosaurs, and the imposing and frightening Allosaurus.

Another noteworthy book is called The Case of the Enormous Eoraptor. The Eoraptor is a type of dinosaur which lived during the Triassic era (over 230 million years ago). Emily and Nate’s sojourn comes hard in the heels of Professor Barrister’s seemingly discovery of another kind of dinosaurs. However, the two youngsters have niggling doubts; to counter-check the professor’s claim, they travel back in time in a bid to compare and contrast the so-called new species with other types of dinosaurs and suchlike gigantic predators which held sway in yon times.

Other Series of Books You May Like
The following series of books were also sought by people whom the Professor Barrister’s Mysteries were a favorite. The first one is entitled Jurassic Park and has been written by the late American author Michael Crichton. This features a recreation of the currently extinct dinosaurs, which have been brought to life through cloning, in a theme park. The second one is titled Dinosaurian Time Travel series and is penned by Deborah O’Neill Cordes. This series features an intelligent alien that has been separated from her world of origin. Unfortunately for the alien, it is the sole kind of its own in its new place and this hampers its quest for getting a spouse. The alien is angling for seducing a male astronaut when ‘she’ discovers a clandestine plan by other aliens to wreck havoc on planet Earth; the alien is then on the lookout for astronauts in a bid to induce a time warp and reverse the extinction of dinosaurs; this sets the stage for a rule of clever dinosaurs but an astronaut who has amazingly survived the time warp starts restoring the earth to its projected path.

Another impressive one is called the Quintaglio Ascension series and is authored by Canadian author Douglas Preston. It is set in a habitable moon wherein a particular species of dinosaurs’ intelligence and civilization is similar to that of people.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Professor Barrister’s Dinosaur Mysteries

Leave a Reply