Book Notification

Professor Dr. Von Igelfeld Entertainment Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Professor Dr. Von Igelfeld Books

Portuguese Irregular Verbs (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Finer Points of Sausage Dogs (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
At the Villa of Reduced Circumstances (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unusual Uses for Olive Oil (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Your Inner Hedgehog (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alexander McCall Smith is a bestselling Scottish author of fiction. He is most known for his fictional series, The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency. Not only has the series been an international bestselling hit again and again with the release of every novel, but the series has been adapted into a television series that came out in 2009. It stars Jill Scott as Precious Ramotswe, who opens up a lady-owned detective agency to solve crimes. The series aired on BBC network and is available on video or for streaming.

McCall Smith lives a double existence as an author of over fifty books and also a professor of Medical Law. He is the professor emeritus of medical law in Scotland at the University of Edinburgh. He has also served on many bioethics groups, both national and international. Born in 1948 in Zimbabwe, he was a professor of law at the University of Botswana. Smith currently resides in Scotland. Interested readers can also learn more about his work at his personal website,

Alexander McCall Smith is also the author of the Harriet Bean series, the Akimbo series, The Max and Maddy series, 44 Scotland Street series, the Isabel Dalhousie series, the Corduroy Mansion series, the Precious Ramotswe series, and the School Ship Tobermory, as well as a number of standalone fictional novels as well as collections. Smith also wrote the 2016 children’s book Boing Boing.

He has written novels on everything from forensic aspects of sleep to criminal law in the country of Botswana. Not only has McCall Smith written books for adults, he’s created books for children too. He is the author of The Perfect Hamburger, a children’s novel that has been translated into many languages and sold around the world. He has also collected a number of African stories and put them together in the book Children of Wax, which was released to high critical acclaim and was even the subject of a film that went on to win awards.

The Professor Dr. Von Igelfeld Entertainment series by Alexander McCall Smith The series started with the debut of the novel Portuguese Irregular Verbs and then was followed up by the sequel, The Finer Points of Sausage Dogs. The third novel in the Igelfeld Entertainment series was At the Villa of Reduced Circumstances and the fourth novel is titled Unusual Uses for Olive Oil. There was an omnibus of the series that was released in 2002.

Portuguese Irregular Verbs is the first book in the Professor Dr. Von Igelfeld Entertainment Series by celebrated author Alexander McCall Smith! This fictional novel follows the adventures of a Professor and Doctor Moritz-Maria von Igelfeld and his colleagues. Even though his name is certainly a mouthful to say, no one suffers more than his coworkers at Germany’s Institute of Romantic Philology.

In this installment of the series, readers are introduced to the Professor, and the Professor is introduced to tennis. At last, he will come to master this sport that requires a net, a racket, and a tennis ball. He also makes a friend from college go into a duel that may or may not result in a nose and a bit of damage. Everyone makes mistakes!

The Professor’s adventures don’t stop there. He manages to travel some, taking a trip to Ireland where he quickly becomes overly acquainted with the Irish language as well as the world of archaic ‘Irishisms’ that seem to happen so frequently there. The eccentric professor even manages to develop a crush on a beautiful female dentist along the way.

When it comes to adventure, no one does it better than the professor. Whether he’s learning a new sport or falling for a romantic prospect, the professor may meet his match in Italy. He takes two trips to the country. While the first is not that bad, the second one is the one to watch out for. With danger lurking about, the professor must keep his wits about him if he is to survive. What will happen? Pick up Smith’s debut novel in the Professor Dr. Von Igelfeld series to find out!

The Finer Points of Sausage Dogs is the second novel in Alexander McCall Smith’s exciting Professor Dr. Von Igelfield series! If you loved the first book in this fun series, you will definitely enjoy this witty second novel from bestselling author Alexander McCall Smith.

In this series, academia is the topic that is getting skewered. The misadventures of the awkward yet endearing Professor Doctor Moritz-Maria von Igelfeld continue on as the professor goes about his adventures, work, and travel, and his colleagues at his work in Germany continue to suffer in his presence.

The crazy world that the professor lives in at the Institute of Romance Philology and everywhere that he goes comes to life once more in this vivid sequel in the series from McCall Smith! This professor is always going to do whatever he can and as he sees fit.

In this case, it may mean his endless journey to finally get the respect that he believes that he should be receiving from his colleagues at the institute, or it may be another random journey that pops up when things go astray as usual. This time the professor is taken by a stranger to be a vet. But he doesn’t want to point out that there has been a mistake made, so he naturally starts working as a vet without so much as a license.

This results in operating on a friend’s pet dachshund and the results are dramatic, to say the least. Meanwhile, he is also busy moving relics around for a Coptic prelate and is busy being followed around by widows who have marriage on the brain while on a Mediterranean cruise ship, of all places. What will happen? Check out the second book by Alexander McCall Smith in the Professor Entertainment series to find out!

Readers who have read novels by Alexander McCall Smith before can certainly appreciate the engaging writing style and thoughtfully crafted stories that McCall Smith puts together! It’s easy to see why he has sold so many novels in so many different series. If you have enjoyed his Detective Agency series or one of many other novels by McCall, you most likely will be intrigued by this series. Check it out and see what you think of all four books.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Professor Dr. Von Igelfeld Entertainment

Leave a Reply