Book Notification

Promise Falls Trilogy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Promise Falls Books

Broken Promise (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Final Assignment (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Far From True (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twenty-Three (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Parting Shot (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Promise Falls book series is a very popular series of suspense, crime fiction, thriller, mystery, and adult fiction books. It is comprised of a total of 4 novels and 1 novella, which were released between the years 2015 and 2017. This series is written by an American-born Canadian bestselling author named Linwood Barclay. Each and every novel of the series is set in Promise Falls, New York, United States, and features the chief protagonist named David Harwood. All the books revolve around David Harwood’s life, who keeps trying to unravel the mysterious happenings around him. The other important characters that help take the series forward include Detective Barry Duckworth, Ethan Harwood, Cal Weaver, Derek Cutter, and several others. Each of the books of this series went on to entertain the readers from across the world. They were liked by many fans of mystery and suspense stories across different continents. Such readers reverted with numerous praising reviews and ratings. This helped the series to become an overall success. Also, numerous critics appreciated the unique storylines and character description by author Barclay. The fellow authors of Linwood Barclay praised him for his dedicated efforts in writing down this series.

Linwood Barclay is a NY Times and international bestselling writer from Canada. His writing career is comprised of 17 books for adults. Barclay has also penned a couple of children’s novels and several screenplays. Among all his novels, he is particularly famous for his Promise Falls trilogy series. Barclay’s children’s books, Escape and Chase, show a computerized dog called Chipper, who tries to save itself from an evil organization. A thriller that author Barclay had written in 2011, The Accident, is chosen by a French production company for adapting it into a 6 part TV series. One of Barclay’s novels, Never Saw it Coming, was adapted by him into a film that featured Emily Hampshire and Eric Roberts in the lead roles with Gail Harvey as its director. A few other books of his are also in talks for developing them for film and TV. Prior the start of his literary career, author Barclay used to work as a newspaper reporter. During his former years, he was involved in running a trailer park and a cottage resort. Later, he took a job at Peterborough Examiner and then at Toronto Star. Throughout his professional career, author Linwood Barclay has held different positions such as assistant editor, news editor, chief copy editor, etc. He finally became the humor columnist of Toronto Star in 1993. In 2008, Barclay retired from newspaper reporting and started focusing full time on writing books. And after achieving success with his initial works, author Barclay has not looked back. His books have been translated into as many as 30 foreign languages and are sold in different places nationally and internationally. Linwood Barclay’s birth happened in America, but he shifted to Canada at the age of 4 with his parents. He completed his degree in English literature from the Trent University, Peterborough, Ontario. Barclay believes that he was fortunate to come across fine mentors such as Margaret Laurence, Kenneth Millar. While studying at Trent, author Barclay came across a lady named Neetha, who later became his beloved wife. The couple has 2 children named Paige and Spencer. Currently, Barclay is residing with his family in Canada. He spends most of his time writing mystery stories and spends his spare times in the company of his loving family.

The debut book of the Promise Falls series written by author Linwood Barclay is entitled ‘Broken Promise’. It was released by the NAL publishing in the year 2015. The book consists of the primary characters Ethan Harwood, Marla, and David Harwood. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that David Harwod faces two tragedies back to back. First, his wife dies suddenly and then his newspaper collapses. He decides to move back to his childhood residence in Promise Falls along with his 9 year old son. It appears to David that his life is falling freely and is cannot put a stop to the descent. Later, he learns about some big family secrets. David hears that his cousin Marla is facing a lot of struggles in life after going through a miscarriage. When he goes to check how she is, he finds that Marla is bringing up a child secretly. What’s more shocking to him is that that baby is not Marla’s. She says it was gifted to her by an angel. David tries to find the real mother of the child and learns the shocking news that she has been murdered. This makes David Harwood restless, forcing him to set out to join the pieces of the puzzle. David’s search for truth leads him to many shocking revelations and it seems that the mysterious baby is just a small part of the whole mystery. Many other strange things keep happening around David Harwood. He discovers the ritual slaughterings of animals, ominous Ferris wheel left abandoned, giving him the signal that something too dark is about befall Promise Falls. David fears that there might a psycho killer roaming around freely in the town, who appears to cause trouble to the town’s people because of his belief that many sins have been committed in this town. The killer is determined to make the people pay in blood and David is dedicated to prevent him from doing so.

Another exciting book of this series is given the title ‘Far From True’. This book was also published by NAL in 2016. The central characters are described as Derek, David, Cal, Barry Duckworth, and Ethan. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that the screen of a drive-in theater in the Promise Falls town collapses, killing 4 innocent people. Cal Weaver is called in to investigate the matter. Sometime later, Cal is approached by a victim’s daughter, who asks him to investigate a break-in that happened at the house of her father recently. Cal Weaver discovers a secret basement in the house, which shows that some salacious things have happened there. Cal also notices that some important DVDs are missing. The investigation becomes much more complicated when it is revealed that the thief was interested in something else and not the DVDs. On the other hand, Barry Duckworth is tasked with investigating 2 murders. One of the murders took place 3 years ago, but Barry believes they are connected somehow as the victims in both the cases have similar wounds. Soon, various lies start getting unraveled. Cal Weaver is into a deep web of dark secrets. His searches for clues allows him to get his hands on some startling realities about his town. When one more murder takes place, Barry and Cal come together to carry out the investigation. They realize they must prepare themselves and be ready to face the evil deeds that are about to come out of burial and haunt the innocent residents of the town.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Promise Falls Trilogy

Leave a Reply