Book Notification

Psychotechnic League Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Psychotechnic League Books

The Peregrine / Star Ways (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Snows of Ganymede (1958)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virgin Planet (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Psycho-technic League (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Victory (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Starship (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Psychotechnic League Books

The Psycho-technic League(1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Victory(1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Snows of Ganymede(1958)Description / Buy at Amazon
Starship(1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Virgin Planet(1959)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Peregrine / Star Ways(1956)Description / Buy at Amazon

Poul Anderson was a well-established science fiction author, who became a writer during the golden ages of the science fiction genres. Throughout the 21st Century, Poul Anderson continued to pen down novels and also remain exceedingly popular. Anderson has also penned down several works of historical novels, fantasy and a prodigious number of short stories. During the years that he served as an author, Poul Anderson won numerous awards and accolades due to his writing, including three Nebula Awards and seven Hugo Awards. In the year 1948, Poul Anderson was awarded a degree in Physics from the academic powerhouse, University of Minnesota. Seven years later, Poul Anderson got married to Karen Kruse. Karen and Poul were blessed with one daughter, Astrid, who is currently married to Greg Bear, an author. Anderson was appointed as the 6th President of Fantasy and Science Fiction Writers of America.

Anderson was also a member of the Swordsmen and Sorcerer’s Guild of America, a group of Heroic Fantasy writers that was founded in the 1960’s. Poul Anderson was also a founding member of the Society for Creative Anachronism. In the year 2011, Poul Anderson passed away due to cancer after spending more than a month in a hospital.

Psychotechnic League Best Books

The Psychotechnic League

The Psychotechnic League is the first installment in the Psychotechnic League book series. After the World War ended, a new civilization was born; a new humanity was born, one that was dedicated to a unified world instead of the many nations. A humanity that opted for peace instead of the many wars that threatened the very existence of humanity. Peace was finally achieved, after many years of war and fighting among the various nations of the world. However, cycles tend to repeat themselves and earth were just the beginning of the human story. It did not take long before the planets began fighting against one another as well as the stars. The war eventually paved the way for dictatorship and tyranny, as cold-hearted tyrants rose to power. The author, Poul Anderson, freely admits that the novel, Psychotechnic League is preachy at times, however just like culture; the story involves the characters doing exceedingly dark deeds for what they hope is for the greater good, even when the doubt eats them up inside.

With that said, the Psychotechnic League is a brilliantly written science fiction. Instead of being a futuristic look at the United Nations, the story is more of an alternate history because according to the author, the world did not evolve.

Cold Victory

The Cold War is a collection of short stories about the Psychotechnic League, which came into existence after the end of World War II in the year 1958. Science, in turn, became the driving and underlying force for human development. Prosperity, in turn, became a common place. However, despite the progress that was made, it came with a cost. Technology and automation put human labor to waste and in turn discontent and revolution eventually followed. Poul Anderson’s short stories are set in the dystopian future. These stories revolve around Mars, Earth, Jupiter’s moons as well as the asteroid belt. With that said, Cold Victory is a quick read, which will capture the reader’s attention from the first page to the last.

The Snows of Ganymede

Snows of Ganymede is the third installment in the Psychotechnic League series. The book begins with the Order of Planetary Engineers, decide to send one Hall Davenant for a terraforming survey. However, what the league of engineers forgot to tell Hall Davenant was that the task at hand was exceedingly tough because the Jovian Moon was not only tough but also airless as well. If the survey were successful, then the engineers would change the Jovian Moon to resemble earth, by filling it with water, fertile land as well as good air. This would turn make it the biggest and also the most important planet conversion task that was ever attempted by engineers. However, the team engineers had not considered the already Earthlike behavior of the Ganymede colonists, who had never changed the ancient earth-born habits and behaviors of double-dyed treachery, bigotry, and intrigue.

Virgin Planet

Virgin Planet is the fifth installment in the Psychotechnic League series by Poul Anderson. More than three centuries ago, a ship that was carrying a group of women from one colony world to another became stranded on an unchartered planet. To bring forth future generations, the stranded women reproduced through parthenogenesis. However, Pathogenesis, only brought forth female offspring, which in turn meant the planet was going to be inhabited by females. Centuries passed by and the first inhabitants of the uncharted their descendants that the planet Atlantis was eventually going to discovered by men. As time passed by, the legendary creatures known as men had somehow managed to become godlier. One day, a lone space explorer discovers the uncharted planet. Once he descended on the planet, the women are more than certain that he is not a man but rather a monster who resembles a deformed woman. However, the man eventually proves that he has advanced knowledge, something that could be quite useful to the nations of Atlantis.

The women who live in Atlantis, refer to themselves as Nomads. Throughout the years these women, have evolved in a manner that is much similar, to the way the gypsies, of planet Earth, evolved. After some time, the space ships of the nomads began disappearing one after the other. The leaders of the Atlantis nations approached Joachim the captain of the spaceship Peregrine, to find out exactly what was happening.

The Peregrine

The Peregrine is not only a great book but also the narrative was exceedingly interesting and well told. It is the sixth installment in the Psychotechnic book series, and once again we meet with the Nomads, the inhabitants of the planet Atlantis. Like all the other books in the Psychotechnic book series, The Peregrine is a fast and quick science fiction read. It is an exceedingly interesting tale about traders and the star system as well as the conflict between the biological and the mechanical worlds. Overall, the Peregrine is an excellent read from a highly talented author, Poul Anderson.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Psychotechnic League

Leave a Reply