Book Notification

Quan Barry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

She Weeps Each Time You're Born (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Ride Upon Sticks (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
When I'm Gone, Look for Me in the East (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

Quan Barry
Quan Barry is a Vietnamese author of poetry and fiction books best known for her poetry works. She has four poetry books to her name, as well as a few fiction novels. Her works like the Water Puppets have won several awards, and her peers respect Barry as an accomplished author. Quan has also received fellowships thanks to her poetry and fiction pieces. Away from writing, Quan Barry works as an English professor at the University of Wisconsin.

She Weeps Each Time You’re Born
She Weeps Each Time You’re Born is Quan Barry’s debut novel. The book tells the tumulus story of Vietnam from the eye of a young girl. At the height of the Vietnam war, a baby is born. The girl born along the river comes with a special gift that allows her to talk with the dead. People name her Rabbit, thanks to the full moon present on the day the girl is pulled from her dead mother’s stomach. To those around her, the full moon licked her clean. This means that the young girl is the epitome of youthfulness and innocence.

This is a narrative of the people of Vietnam and the loss they have suffered throughout history. As Rabbit travels through the country with the only family she knows, the reader gets to experience the life of those who are forced to flee their homes and go in search of safer areas. The reader also hears from the dead who perished during the Vietnam War, French colonialism, and reconstruction that followed after the war.

The author tells this tragic story like a poet, painting the devastation experienced throughout the country. From the dead who sound like they are screaming to be heard to the people who survived the suffering, the author effectively communicates their feeling. The historical accounts are quite accurate, and the author includes the year at the start of each action, so following the history is easy.

If you are a historical fiction fan, you will surely love this book. The prose is quite lyrical, and the hint of magical realism does a lot to bring some oomph to the story. While your heart breaks for the people of Vietnam, you will also get to see the beauty of this country in the story. All the characters in the story are lovable, and it is easy to relate to their struggles and the disappointments they face in the hands of people supposed to protect them.
She Weeps Each Time You’re Born is the story of Vietnam and the suffering that has been a part of this country for ages. From the colonial era, the people of this beautiful country have undergone a lot of difficulties. Fortunately, most have adapted to change and survived through it all. If you are interested in Vietnam history, this book is ideal. The narration is quite good, and it helps that the book reads like a poem that can only translate to a superb flow.

We Ride Upon Sticks
We Ride Upon Sticks is the story of members of the Danvers hockey team. The team has been on a losing streak, and the members are getting tired of it. Desperate for a win, the team pledge loyalty to the devil. Thanks to a book discovered by the team’s goalie, the team has found a way to change their fate and lives. There are instructions on how to change the course of destiny, and members of the hockey team agree that they have to do whatever the book states.
It is 1989, and this is the only way the girls can guarantee a win. First, the girls have to go to the Salem Witches land and cast spells. Each of the girls must tie a gym sock on their arm when casting the spell. True to his word, the devil delivers as promised. The big win acts as the determination the girls need to keep the deal with dark magic. This will come at a price by the girls who are determined to do whatever it takes.

A group of girls keen to divine their futures brought devastating consequences in Salem Village in 1692. Danvers Town stands on what was known as Salem Village three hundred years ago. Just like their ancestors, the Danvers school women’s hockey team is made up of wild girls. The determined group will go to any length to win the championship. Inspired by the Salem girls, the hockey team members make use of dark forces to get an advantage over their competitors.
From the narration, it is clear that Barry is a talented writer. Each chapter in this book focuses on a member of the team, making it easy for the reader to understand the girls and whatever they are up to. It is hard not to get emotionally invested in the characters’ lives, given the attention to each of them. The flow in the story is perfect, and the author merges the anecdotes into one harmonious tale.

This story is a perfect mix of humor, darkness, and self-discovery. The author has used the first-person plural, which is rare in this category. Fortunately, this works great for the story as it is easy to know the girls individually and as a team. Get to meet wild teens in their most beautiful and realest. Even though the witchcraft angle is absurd, the determination to win and solidarity in the team is characteristic of all teenagers. The characters are relatable, and just like most teenagers, they are all flawed, daring, and determined.

We Ride Upon Sticks is a wild dark comedy featuring bold teenage girls whose loyalty to each other is simply incredible. The vignettes about the different characters will leave you in stitches. It is fun to see how the innocence of youth and a determination to win can push someone to get entangled in a situation with far-reaching consequences. The narration is excellent, and the author maintains a consistent pace from cover to cover. This is a great book that you will not regret buying.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Quan Barry

Leave a Reply