Book Notification

Quarry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Quarry Books

Quarry / The Broker (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarry's List / The Broker's Wife (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarry's Deal / The Dealer (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarry's Cut / The Slasher (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarry's Vote / Primary Target (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Quarry (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Quarry (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarry in the Middle (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarry's Ex (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wrong Quarry (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarry's Choice (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarry in the Black (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarry's Climax (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing Quarry (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quarry's Blood (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Quarry Collections

Quarry's Greatest Hits (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Quarry” series follows a former Marine sniper who becomes a professional hitman after returning from Vietnam in 1973. Some may say he is a sociopath, but he’s really just a normal person who has become twisted by the events in Vietnam.

Quarry lives in Wisconsin. He came back from the war and found that everyone was mad at the vets of Vietnam, and so he turns his talents joining up with a group of killers. He later strikes out on his own, as he cannot take orders from anyone. Quarry also narrates the stories in the series.

The sixth, seventh, and eighth novels in the series are a trilogy, with the sixth (“The Last Quarry”) supposed to be the final novel in the series, and the seventh (“The First Quarry”) supposed to be the first. These two novels act like bookends to the series chronologically speaking, while the eighth “Quarry in the Middle”, is supposed to go right in the very middle of the series.

The series started out from Max Allan Collins wanting to take what Richard Stark did with the “Parker” series up a notch by making Quarry a professional killer, not a professional thief. He also wanted to start the first novel fast and than slow things down, but he wanted to have Quarry narrate things so that you get to hear him tell things his way. Collins has written this series designed to one-up the “Parker” series written by Richard Stark – but it is a homage to that series.

“Quarry” (also called “The Broker”) by Max Allan Collins is the first novel in the “Quarry” series that was released in 1976. Someone has hired Quarry to kill a nobody named Albert Leroy, and he is able to. His good luck, however, is short lived, because he gets back to the place he was using as a lookout, and his partner is dead and the money they were paid is gone. The person that hired them both is now, all of a sudden, not cooperating and keeping quiet about who it was that hired Quarry and his partner. It was a simple job that went to hell, and leaves Quarry with the simple task to see who hired them and get payback.

Fans of the novel enjoyed the fun ride that Collins took them on while reading this novel, and Quarry, despite his off-putting personality, is still someone you find yourself rooting for. Some found that they were hooked from the very beginning of the novel, and the opening scene of the novel gives you a glimpse into what the world of killing people for money looks like. Some found this book to be well paced and plotted and gets right to the point. It is one that is not to be missed.

“Quarry’s List” (also called “The Broker’s Wife”) by Max Allan Collins is the second novel in the “Quarry” series that was released in 1976. This novel takes place only months after the first novel in the series. Quarry is trying to keep hidden but gets visited from two men who have been sent by an old acquaintance. Someone wants Quarry gone, for good.

Fans of the novel enjoy the way that you get to see Collins develop his skills as a writer in this novel. There is also some very good violence in the novel and Quarry seems to almost be an investigator hero. Some found the novel to be a quick read that was a lot of fun and served as a great ride. Some enjoyed the unexpected twists that caught them off guard here. The book was quite thrilling and readers kept on reading until they were finished with the novel. Some find that Collins does a good job writing these novels.

“Quarry’s Deal” (also called “The Dealer”) by Max Allan Collins is the second novel in the “Quarry” series that was released in 1976. While Quarry is on the hunt for other hitmen, he trails one (that the Broker’s list has down as Ivy) from Florida to the midwest. It is not a man that he is following, but a woman. A beautiful one that may just give Quarry a run for his money. She may just be as dangerous while she is on the job as she is in the bedroom.

Fans of the novel liked that Collins’s writing ability is even more developed this time out. Yet again, Collins gives readers a thrilling adventure that has them coming back for more about this fascinating character. Fans enjoy the way that you get a hitman as a main character, it is interesting to root for someone who is usually considered a bad guy. Some found that there is sharp writing and some great twists that you cannot see coming. The twists are on the low key side, which makes them even harder to predict. Some enjoy that the novel keeps things moving along and will have you finishing the novel quickly.

The series of novels has been turned into a television series that airs on Cinemax, that stars Logan Marshall-Green as Mac Conway. There was also “A Matter of Principal”, that is an adaptation of a short story, and “the Last Lullaby” that featured the talents of Tom Sizemore.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Quarry

Leave a Reply