Book Notification

Quenby Olson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Miss Percy Guide Books

Miss Percy's Pocket Guide (to the Care and Feeding of British Dragons) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Percy's Travel Guide (to Welsh Moors and Feral Dragons) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Percy's Definitive Guide (to the Restoration of Dragons) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Regency Bestiary For Fine Ladies and Gentlemen Books

Centaur and Sensibility (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Manticore Park (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sundered Veil Books

The Half Killed (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Family Blood (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
With My Own Eyes (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Knotted (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crimson Gown (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Firstborn (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bride Price (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Unpracticed Heart (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lady Griffith's Second Chance (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scandal of the Vicar's Wife (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

First Position (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Splintered Teeth (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Slumbering Fire (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Unwrapping Love(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stranger(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rejoice and Resist(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alchemy of Sorrow(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Quenby Olson is a bestselling author who loves between the genres. Her work has spanned everything from fantasy, young adult, mystery, historical, mystery, romance, and dystopian fiction, and just about everything in between.
She published “Knotted” her debut fiction novel in 2013 and has never looked back since. Quenby now has more than eighteen works of fiction to her name among them series, single-standing novels, novellas, and collections of short stories.
Just like with her reading, Olson is always all about a well-written story with prose and characters that draw one in.

Having made her name as a fiction author, she currently makes her name in Central Pennsylvania alongside her husband and children and spends much of her time writing.

When she is not writing, she can be found chasing the cat off her kitchen counters, procrastinating with baskets of unfolded laundry, and watching episodes of “Doctor Who” late into the night.

As for her very early beginnings, Quenby Olson spent much of her childhood and young adulthood in a small town in Pennsylvania.

As an adult, she still lives in Pennsylvania, even though she has now moved to another small town in the center of the state.

She had a very rural and quiet childhood with old dirt roads and archery, bears, deer, and turkeys roaming over the fields. When she grew older, her parents took her to ballet dancing training as she had shown an interest in classical ballet dancing.
Given that she was homeschooled, she spent much of her time playing a ton of “Donkey Kong Country” and reading whenever she could.

When she was in her twenties, she decided to try writing, as she had always been fascinated by the idea of becoming an author.

But she was then working as a dance instructor and her writing did not get much traction. Surprisingly, it was after she got married and had five kids that she found a lot of success.

The fact that Quenby Olson never started writing seriously until she was in her twenties is perhaps the reason why she has jumped across the genres throughout her career.
Initially, she thought she would be great as a contemporary author before she started leaning toward romance fiction.

She would then get into fantasy and after some time, she realized she could combine several genres and take any direction and still come up with a very good story.

Just like with her writing, she has also had a very varied career. She spent much of her youth training to become a ballet dancer but she became a ballet teacher since she has bad knees.
She has also had a job working at a restaurant which she hated since it meant interacting with a lot of people, which she never liked to do.

Quenby no longer works a day job as she spends most of her time either writing or homeschooling her children which is a lot of work. As such, in between researching and writing her novels, she is teaching grammar and history, and sometimes Algebra.

Speaking in an interview, Quenby Olson said that her writing method has had a complete turnaround ever since she got kids. When she was younger and had no children, she used to pen most of her novels during the night.
She also used to write in shorthand while listening to music, she now writes mostly in the middle of the afternoon and in the morning and types her works on the computer mostly in silence.

Quenby also outlines a lot more than when she first started, possibly because she has more things in her mind and cannot trust her mind to hold onto the great ideas she gets at 2 am while cleaning the kitchen counter.
As for her literary influences, she cites the likes of Lewis and Tolkien who were among the very first fantasy authors she read when she was coming of age.

Nonetheless, she has said that her most significant influence has to be Ursula LeGuin, who wrote very accessible worlds.

She also likes the charming stories written with a lot of skill by Diana Wynne Jones and for some reason Mary Shelley, even if she cannot put a finger on what it is about her works that is so good.

Quenby Olson’s novel “Miss Percy’s Pocket Guide to the Care and Feeding of British Dragons” is an interesting work of fiction that opens with the lead Miss Mildred Percy inheriting a dragon.
The lady is a spinster who long stopped dreaming, does not dance, and certainly never has any kind of adventure.

But out of nowhere, she is informed that her great-uncle has left her an inheritance, and among the things she needs to take possession of is a dragon’s egg.

But a few weeks after she takes possession of her inheritance, the eggs start to hatch and she finds herself in very different territory.

Miss Mildred Percy is no longer the general wallflower and spinster but is now a keeper of dragons in addition to being a spinster. However, she lives in England, a country where a dragon has not been spotted in generations.
And now she has to contend with taking care of a dragon while working on a romance with a vicar, which is sure to be a remarkable adventure.

Quenby Olson’s novel “Miss Percy’s Travel Guide to Welsh Moors and Feral Dragons” is an intriguing work in the “Miss Percy Guide” series of novels.

It all started with a trunk inside of which was an egg of a dragon. Miss Mildred Percy who is a current adventurer and former wallflower now has to look after a dragon.

Along with Mrs. Babbinton and Mr. Wiggan introduced in the first outing, she is going on a journey to search for the mysterious “Nest of Dragons” across Wales.

However, traveling in unfamiliar lands with a young dragon is never very easy. Between recalcitrant sheep, midnight rescues, and angry mobs that they have to battle against, they also have to defend themselves against new and old enemies.
Deep in the Welsh mountains, they discover something remarkable from ancient times.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Quenby Olson

Leave a Reply