Book Notification

Quigg Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Quigg Books

Body 13 (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Graves at Angel Brook (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twelve Murders of Christmas (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Skulls Beneath Eternity Wharf (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Terror at Grisly Park (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Haunting of Bleeding Heart Yard (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Corpse in Highgate Cemetery (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Enigma of Apocalypse Heights: (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Children of Bethnal Green (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Charnel House in Copperfield Street (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Quigg series is a literary series penned by Tim Ellis. To begin with, Tim Ellis is an Englishman who was born in 1953 in Hammersmith upon London, in the UK. Ellis and his wife are domiciled in Chesire. He spent his formative years in Cheadle upon Chesire where he also attended a primary school.

For his O-Levels, Tim Ellis attended the Chesire-based Broadway High School; however, Ellis did not like school life and he dropped out. After drifting from one occupation to another, Ellis eventually signed up for the Royal Army Medical Corps in the early 1970s aged eighteen. Ellis was discharged from the military in 1993, after a span of over two decades and held the rank of Regimental Sergeant Major in the run-up to his discharge. Ellis has worked as a financial manager at a secondary school and teacher, specializing in both sociology and psychology. He has since acquired two master’s degrees (in both Education and Educational Management) and doctoral degrees.

The literary figures that influenced Ellis include Canadian musician-cum-poet Leonard Cohen, famed English author JRR Tolkien, Englishman Bernard Cornwell, Russia-born American author Isaac Asimov, British penman Conn Iggulden, Swedish writer-cum-journalist Stieg Larsson, and English penman Roger Jon Ellory. Generally, Ellis’s niche is science fiction, historical fiction, crime, and fantasy, genres.

Tim Ellis: Formative Writing Years
Ellis had a false start aged 15 when a publisher duly rejected poems that he had submitted. During his stint in the military, Ellis penned many military issues-oriented articles that he later on described as balderdash. After quitting military service and while working as a teacher, Ellis started writing academic work, among them dissertations and academic assignments, before plunging into fiction.

Quigg Series: Section on Books
Tim Ellis, who has since become a full-time writer, has authored both fiction and non-fiction work. Ellis has penned several series of books, standalone books, novellas, many short stories, and anthologies. In terms of book series, Ellis’ bibliography consists of two one-book series, four duologies, a trilogy, a quintet, and a 13-book series.

Contextually, the quintet is named Quigg series. There are four editions of the first book in this five-book series. The first of the four editions was initially published in December 2011, titled The Twelve Murders of Christmas; and the book is shelved under the crime, mystery, and thriller genres.

The featured central character in the Quigg series is named Quigg. On matters employment, Quigg works in the South African Police Service wherein (at the beginning of the Quigg series) he is given a temporary working partner named Lulu Begone, a Sergeant. Quigg is a homicide detective, holding the the position of a detective inspector. He is a tricenarian in the early 2000s, and a divorcee but his divorce is vague because, at times, author Ellis points out that it is merely a marital seperation; Quigg, who is estranged from his wife, has a young child with her; she is in her early thirties and a tad bit aged in Quigg’s perception. What’s more, Quigg is very attractive to women. Quigg became a womanizer hard on the heels of separating with his wife. Interestingly, every woman that he comes across wants him to have a romantic affair her, something that sometimes hints at rape.

The turning point in the first book in Tim Ellis’ serialized Quigg, The Twelve Murders of Christmas, is the moment when Detective Inspector Quigg alongside his partner Sergeant Lulu Begone are subjected to a police exchange program, prompting them to travel to England. In their new location, Quigg and Lulu Begone are tasked with tracking down a serial murderer on the prowl. The serial killer, who strucks during the festive season, replicates the Christmas Carol and victims’ bodies are piling up. All hapless victims are killed in the same manner: stabbed, stripped naked, and their faces removed.

Quigg and Begone start sleuthing and the only lead that they have is a snippet of clue–an extract from the Christmas Carol that is written on the wall using the victims’ blood. The Quigg-led two-man team plunges into the homicide investigation wherein Quigg must solve the murder mystery to save his job, juggling a love triangle all the while.

Quigg Awards
Two of Ellis’ stories contained in the anthology Untended Treasures bagged 3rd Prizes in contests.

Best Quigg Books
These are the best three books in the Quigg series. The Twelve Murders of Christmas is the first one. Another book is named Body 13; this is the second book in the Quigg series. Hereby, Detective Inspector Quigg is given a new working partner and rookie constable named Mavourneen Duffy; their new assignment is searching for a corpse that has been stolen from Hammersmith Hospital mortuary by a discreet group of pedophiles. The title of the book is based on the number of the body bag containing the snatched corpse.

The other notable book is The Graves at Angel Brook; this is the third book in the Quigg series. Detective Inspector Quigg is given another partner yet again; together with his working partner, a constable named Heather Walsh, they are sleuthing a mysterious serial murderer who is killing children and leaving behind Biblical allusions on the victims’ bodies. A Canadian psychic comes to their aid.

Other Book Series You May Like
Readers who liked the Quigg series authored by Tim Ellis also liked these related literary series. The first novel series is named Jessica Daniel series, an 11-book series penned by Kerry Wilkinson. The featured protagonist, a detective sergeant named Jessica Daniel, is investigating murder mysteries, some perpetrated by serial killers. The second literary series is called Lake District Mystery series, authored by Martin Edwards. This series features protagonist Hannah Scarlett and antagonist Daniel Kind, a detective chief inspector and historian, respectively. They are investigating murder mysteries in Lake District upon Cumbria county, in England.

The third book series is titled Lorne Simpkins series, a 13-book book series written by M. A. Comley which features a seasoned detective inspector named Lorne Simpkins. The fourth one is entitled DCI Tom Caton, an 11-book literary series penned by Bill Rogers. The featured protagonist, Tom Caton, is a Manchester-based detective chief inspector.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Quigg

Leave a Reply