Book Notification

R.A. MacAvoy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Albatross Books

with Nancy L. Palmer

Publication Order of Black Dragon Books

Tea with the Black Dragon (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twisting the Rope (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Damiano Books

Publication Order of Lens of the World Books

Lens of the World (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
King of the Dead (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Belly of the Wolf (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lens of the World Trilogy: Lens of the World, King of the Dead, and The Belly of the Wolf (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Book of Kells (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Grey Horse (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Third Eagle (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Between (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and Resurrection (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

R.A. MacAvoy
Roberta Ann MacAvoy was born December 13, 1949 in Cleveland, Ohio to Helen and Francis MacAvoy. She went to Case Western Reserve University and got her BA in the year 1971.

MacAvoy worked from 1975 until 1978 as an assistant to the financial aid officer at Columbia College of Columbia University. From 1978 until 1982 she worked as a computer programmer at SRI International before she became a full-time writer in 1982. In the year 1978, she married Ronald Allen Cain.

She writes as R. A. MacAvoy because of the authors she read when she was younger also being R. A.’s: R. A. Heinlein, R. A. Cain, and R. A. Lafferty. She found it auspicious to also have these initials. She also doesn’t care too much for the name Roberta, finding that nobody could be less of a Roberta than herself, going by Bertie instead. She was named after a thirties movie that starred Astaire-Rogers and Irene Dunn and Montgomery Scott. The movie wasn’t that good. She believes that her mom just liked Irene singing Smoke Gets In Your Eyes.

She has been a diver in Northern Pacific waters for many years, learning night diving, rescue diving, and mixed gasses. A lot of her life has been spent in the martial arts, putting an emphasis on self defense rather than competition. MacAvoy’s also wove a great deal of decorative hangings and clothing over the years, and has ran a tiny stable, called Shanachie Stables.

MacAvoy was diagnosed with a rare neuro-muscular disorder that causes painful sustained muscle contractions, called Dystonia, after she published the “Lens of the World” books during the early nineties. After getting the disorder under control, she has been able to publish what she writes again.

The “Damiano” books were adapted by Bantam Software into a text adventure game called “I Damiano: The Wizard of Partestrada”, for Apple IIe and MS-DOS computers.

MacAvoy won two John W. Campbell Awards for Best New Writer and Best Book for “Tea with the Black Dragon”, both in the year 1984. It also won the Locus Poll’s First Novel Award, and received a special citation from the Philip K Dick jury.

Roberta’s debut novel, called “Tea with the Black Dragon”, was released in the year 1983. Her work is from the fantasy and science fiction genres. She has written the “Albatross” series (with Nancy Palmer), the “Damiano” series, “The Lens of the World” series, and “The Black Dragon” series, as well as some stand alone novels. Many of her books draw on Taoist or Celtic themes.

“Damiano” is the first novel in the “Damiano” series and was released in the year 1984. Set against the tumultuous backdrop of the Italian Renaissance, this alternate history is set in a world where real faith-based magic is real. Our hero in this story is Damiano Dalstrego. He’s an alchemist, the son of a wizard, and heir to some dark magics. However, he’s also a young, innocent scholar and a musician befriended by the Archangel Raphael, who teaches him the lute.

Damiano, in an effort to save his beloved city from war, leaves his cloistered life behind him and goes off on a pilgrimage. He is looking for the aid of Saara, a powerful sorceress, while he has to walk a narrow path between shadow and light, his only accompaniment his is talking dog. However his road is filled with disillusionment, death, and betrayal. Damiano is made to face his darker heritage, unleashing the hellish force of his incredible powers to keep those he loves safe.

MacAvoy does a great job of writing characters that you can fall in love with, and she is not at all afraid of raising some tough questions along the way.

“Damiano’s Lute” is the second novel in the “Damiano” series and was released in the year 1984. Damiano, who has just been shattered by his dark powers’ demonic fury, has forsaken his magical heritage and lives as a mortal man. Accompanied by Archangel Raphael’s guidance, the chidings of one brash young rogue as well as the memory of one gorgeous pagan witch, Damiano travels across a plague-ridden French countryside to find peace.

However the Father of Lies reaches out to him again to grab him. As well as to avert that hellish destiny that is waiting for him. He has to challenge the greatest forces of darkness, being armed only with the music of his lute and the power of his love.

This novel is historically and musically intriguing. It is easy reading and the pace is right on as well.

“Raphael” is the third novel in the “Damiano” series and was released in the year 1984. The Archangel Raphael, having been weakened from his contact with mortals, falls prey to Lucifer, his brother, who strips him of his angelic powers. Raphael is sold in the Moorish slave markets, humbled and confused by his sudden humanity, he finds his sole solace in the friendship of Djoura, the darkskinned Berber woman, as well as the spiritual guardianship from Damiano Delstrego, his former pupil.

Accompanied by one ancient dragon and the rakish Gaspare, Damiano’s beloved Sara goes off on a quest to rescue Raphael. Their journey takes them to one shattering confrontation with the Father of Lies and one transcendent reckoning with destiny.

“In Between” is the first novel in the “Ewen Young” series and was released in the year 2009. Ewen Young is yet another up and coming young artist departing from one of his art shows when he gets accosted by three Chinese thugs. After he is able to fight them off, they leave him behind with a message: tell your uncle Jimmy that we were here and that we could have done a lot worse to you.

The very next day Ewen goes to visit his uncle, and finds him lying in a pool of blood among the smell of gunpowder. While Ewen rushes to him, the thug comes out of the shadows to shoot Ewen too. Uncle Jimmy’s died, however Ewen just began his journey through the In Between.

Book Series In Order » Authors » R.A. MacAvoy

One Response to “R.A. MacAvoy”

  1. Leigh Blake: 11 months ago

    Years ago I read “Tea with the Black Dragon” and at that time I was so taken by this wonderful book. Recently, talking about this book…made me search for it and found all the other wonderful books she’s been writing…What a GREAT imagination…and stories told so well!! I’m into the Damiano series…and have finshed Death and Resurrection!!! THANK YOU!! I live in Southern Oregon and the book I just received from “Thriftbooks” was and autographed copy by “Bertie” ..WOW!! I will treasure this!!


Leave a Reply