Book Notification

R. L. LaFevers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Courting Darkness Duology Books

Courting Darkness (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Igniting Darkness (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of His Fair Assassin Books

Grave Mercy (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Triumph (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mortal Heart (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
His Fair Assassin: A Trilogy (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Lowthar's Blade Books

as R.L. LaFevers
The Forging of the Blade (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secrets of Grim Wood (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The True Blade of Power (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Nathaniel Fludd, Beastologist Books

as R.L. LaFevers
The Flight of the Phoenix (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Basilisk's Lair (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wyverns’ Treasure (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unicorn’s Tale (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Theodosia Throckmorton Books

as R.L. LaFevers
Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Theodosia and the Eyes of Horus (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Theodosia and the Last Pharaoh (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Falconmaster (As: R.L. LaFevers) (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Werewolf Rising (As: R.L. LaFevers) (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

R. L. LaFevers who is commonly known as Robin Lorraine grew up enclosed by shelves of old dusty books, passel of brothers, and different types of pets which included a goat, a baby anteater, chickens and also 2 bear cubs that were not only very wild but also untamed. R. L. LaFevers used to make up things that were not there all through her life. This only proves that she was indeed destined to be a fiction writer. She is the writer of more than 8 books for young readers. One of his early books, Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos, was published by Houghton Mifflin in 2007. This book has received many positive reviews and featured as a Junior Library Guild selection, a Booksense Summer Pick and it was also nominated to contest in the Malice Domesti’s Agatha Award. R. L. LaFevers currently lives in Southern California together with her family and she spends most of her time daydreaming and coming up with stories. She also likes wallowing in old texts that are forgotten. Though she does not own any exotic pets, she has raccoons who usually visit her back porch, coyotes who normally howl at her window, and the hawks that soar very high overhead.

Below is a comprehensive description of 2 early in the Theodosia Throckmorton series by R. L. LaFevers:

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos

Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos is the first book in the Theodosia Throckmorton series which by R.L. LaFevers. Theodosia Throckmorton gets her hands full at the Museum of Legends and the antiquities in London.

While In the Museum of Legends and Antiquities, she tries to control the chaos forces that hope to harm others by using the curses and hexes that are contained in the different items that are on display all the way through the museum. Theodosia is overcome with the forces of darkness and she feels as if beetles are dashing up and down in her spine. However, that does not seem to affect anybody else there including her biological father who was injured by one such nasty curse. It does not help very much by spending most of her every time in the museum. Together with her trusty cat Isis, and also armed with old texts, Theodosia does what she can when she the opportunity arises: cobbling spells and wax together with linen, carnelian, and other supplies of the same kind. But what will she do when her wandering mother returns home with the discovery of a lifetime that comes from the tomb of Amenemhab. There was a bit of a miscalculation with the purifying of a statue of Bastet and Isis is now more of a demon than a cat. Furthermore, her irritating little brother is expected back from boarding school on any day. There’s also a sneaky little pick pocket by the name Will on the prowl who insists on Theo getting a new governess.

When the Heart of Egypt is finally stolen from a concealed vault that is within the museum, things look worse than never before. This could be the conclusion of her parents’ careers or even something worse! After tracking shadowy men who are connected with the British Museum via the back alleys of London, Theo is able to save the life of a person who could have been a thief. In the process, she stumbles on a secret society that is run by Lord Wigmere.

The Heart of Egypt needs to be taken back to its final resting place so as to stop biblical plagues from falling on the British Empire. However, how does Theo reach Egypt? Who and how does the Heart of Egypt get stolen? Is there a traitor amongst Theo’s compatriots found at the museum? Lastly, will she ever be able to get her cat ISIS, back? Chaos seems unavoidable.

Theodosia Throckmorton series is just an utter delight of advanced brains with the sweet touch that is present among other writers in her category. She is straight to the point in the her whole story. With superb detail and wit, she brings us a magical and great Edwardian England on the periphery of the First World War where mysticism and magic coming from the land of the Pharaohs is a real threat. From Theo’s prepping of basics to support alley chases, the world that is created simply sucks you in to an extent that you do not want to leave.

Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris

This is the second book in Theodosia Throckmorton series by R.L. LaFevers. This novel is just as interesting as the first novel but with a little many more action. There are also more secret societies that need to be unearthed.

Theo is not just an average 11 year-old girl. Her parents are well-known archaeologists who work at the Museum of Legends and Antiquities in the pre-WWI England. She helps on the excursions and working in the gallery. Her grandmother condemns this upbringing and she is very determined to find a good governess. Theo is frequently having to protect the people who are around her from the ancient Egyptian curses and also preserving England and the whole world from the Serpents of Chaos.

In this second book, Theodosia is consigned to catalog the museum’s collection when she comes across an ancient staff and a golden orb that fits very nicely at the top. However , all of London’s mummies are missing the next morning and found in the lobby of Theo’s father’s museum. After this repeating for a few more days, the police start to believe that her father is the one stealing them even though Theo suspects that it could be the staff. However, other people are only interested in the staff and soon it seems that the Serpents of Chaos are present in the town. As such, everyone’s life is in danger, and only Theo and the Brotherhood of the Chosen Keepers know about it.

This is fairly a fun little book that can be read faster than its 400 pages seem. R. L. LaFevers writes the story in first person and it has a good sense of humor. This is an interesting story that will keep you looking forward to next book in the series.

Book Series In Order » Authors » R. L. LaFevers

Leave a Reply