Book Notification

R. Scott Bakker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Aspect-Emperor Books

The Judging Eye (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White-Luck Warrior (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Great Ordeal (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unholy Consult (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Disciple Manning Books

Disciple of the Dog (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Prince of Nothing Books

The Darkness that Comes Before (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warrior Prophet (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Thousandfold Thought (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Neuropath (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Light, Time, and Gravity (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Richard Scott Bakker is a popular fantasy author based out of London, Ontario. A native of nearby Simcoe, he is best known for his Second Apocalypse series of books.

Bakker is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario and studied philosophy at Vanderbilt for a time. He started writing books in the 1980s while studying. He has written many books in his Second Apocalypse about a holy war.

Bakker has stated that he is heavily inspired by many iconic writers in the field of fantasy and science fiction. He is especially heavily inspired by J.R.R. Tolkien and Frank Herbert.

The stories he writes especially concentrate on topics of philosophy and magic. This includes a great look at religion and how divisions between faiths often cause significant problems throughout much of society.

His stories have been made into an extensive series called the Second Apocalypse. It brings about warriors and magical beings from all around the universe as they fight in a war that has a strong religious background to it. This comes as the differences between sides become vast and even as power starts to corrupt those who begin to take hold of it and start to challenge the world.

R. Scott Bakker Characters

The Second Apocalypse series focuses on Kellhus, a warrior who controls a holy war between many secret sects. Kellhus has incredible powers of persuasion and works with causality and rationality among other skills to influence the universe.

But even with this, Drusas Achamian is out to stop him. Achamian is a sorcerer who mentored Kellhus over the years. While Kellhus has become more powerful, Achamian fears that he will bring about the Second Apocalypse. He then makes it has goal to destroy Kellhus.

There are many other noteworthy characters in Bakker’s books. These other Second Apocalypse characters include Skiotha, a chieftain who joins Kellhus in war and Esmenet, a woman who is in love with Achamian but is soon brought under the influence of Kellhus.

R. Scott Bakker Books

The 2004 book The Darkness That Comes Before is the first book in the Second Apocalypse series. Achamian is haunted by memories of the First Apocalypse from years earlier. This event that led to the holy war that permeates much of the universe continues to bother him as he fears for how Kellhus and others may be out to destroy humanity and lead the world into the Second Apocalypse. This all leads into the search for the Consult, a group of magi that survived the First Apocalypse and may be planning the second one. But even with his search for the Consult, there is strong doubt among people that the Consult still exists.

The 2005 book the Warrior-Prophet is another popular book in this series. Infighting among Achamian and many of his allies has caused the group’s efforts to stop the Second Apocalypse from occurring to come to a halt. This comes as Kellhus has been gathering a much stronger following over the land. This comes amid many other smaller battles between the two sides.

The 2006 book the Thousandfold Thought is a story about a union between two faiths under the rule of Kellhus. As the faiths unite, Kellhus prepares for the second coming of a god from the Consult. This is all to prepare for the Second Apocalypse that the god is planning on bringing to the world.

The 2010 thriller the Judging Eye is another popular book. This book has Kellhus looking into the future and seeing the powerful god that will bring the Second Apocalypse to the world. This leads to a great question of whether he will allow the god to rule the world and bring the Second Apocalypse or if it is up to him to stop the god before going any further.

Bakker has also written a few stories outside of the Second Apocalypse series. The 2008 thriller Neuropath is one particularly popular book of his. This book is about a serial killer who has the ability to control the human mind. As the killer moves along, the person manages to manipulate people into following his every whim, thus leading to a need to find a way to stop him before he can kill again.

R. Scott Bakker Awards

In 2004, Bakker won the Locus Award for the Best First Novel for the Darkness That Comes Before. The Locus Award is given annually by Locus Magazine, a popular fantasy literature magazine. Bakker also won the 2007 Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel for the Thousandfold Thought.

Other Series of Interest

Fans of the works of R. Scott Bakker have taken interest in many other great book series. The Monarchies of God series by Paul Kearney takes place in a fantasy world torn apart by a vast holy war. As a mariner leads people to a lost continent to find safety from the war, they have to travel through many dangerous and hostile lands. The stories are about surviving the world and making it through many of the most challenging surroundings in the world to complete the journey.

The Long Price Quartet series by Daniel Abraham is another popular choice. As the ruler of an ancient house dies, the sons of that man have to fight to determine who will succeed him. But with the empire being so large, the war between the sons and their armies becomes vast and spreads out all around the world. The stories are about many philosophical points and entail political intrigue and even betrayal.

The third series of books for fans of R. Scott Bakker to read is the Acts of Caine series from Matthew Woodring Stover. The book series follows a hunter who has been renowned for fearlessly killing many rulers and warriors from all around the world. But even with his immense skills and his ability to control his victims, he is often challenged as those who are closest to him are held captive or go missing while many others are at risk of further harm.

Book Series In Order » Authors » R. Scott Bakker

Leave a Reply