Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Rabbi Small Books In Order

Publication Order of Rabbi Small Books

Friday the Rabbi Slept Late (1964) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Saturday the Rabbi Went Hungry (1966) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sunday the Rabbi Stayed Home (1969) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Monday the Rabbi Took Off (1972) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tuesday the Rabbi Saw Red (1973) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wednesday the Rabbi Got Wet (1976) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Thursday the Rabbi Walked Out (1978) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Conversations with Rabbi Small (1981) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Someday the Rabbi Will Leave (1985) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
One Fine Day the Rabbi Bought a Cross (1987) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Day the Rabbi Resigned (1992) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
That Day the Rabbi Left Town (1996) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The famous American writer Harry Kemelman (1908-1996) was the author of the 11 mystery novels that feature Rabbi, in a small town as their offbeath sleuth near Boston. He also teached at the Boston University in the 1960s as a professor of the English language department. Actually, he began his writing career with some short stories for the Magazine of Ellery Queen, which featured a college professor by the name Nicky Welt, who was a professor at the New England College. The first of these stories named ‘The Nine Mile Walk’ and was one of his most successful classic books at his first years as a writer. Moreover, the famous author spend most of his years in Boston, in Massachusetts, where they lived in this place with his family, where his parents decided to move here after emigrating from Russia.

The Mystery Rabbi Small Series Books

Harry Kemelman began writing these mystery series of books in 1964 and his first publication was the book under the title Friday the Rabbi Slept Late’, which was a book about religious mystery. It soom became a bestseller and Kemelman won his first novel in 1965, the Edgar Award and he was very proud of it. First Novel in 1965. The mystery series consist of 11 books, where Rabbi features as the spiritual leader of a jewish synagogue on the Massachessetts coast. The famous American author said that his primary aim in all these mystery stories was primarily to explain as well as to teach Judaism to Jews and Gentiles.

How he decided to write the mystery novels

Seven million copies of these mystery and famous novels were also published in many different languages and were distributed around the world. Soon they were international well known and the author gained a lot of faith. In addition, in these mystery novels he used a humorous and sharp way in which the jewish members of this tight community in the little town are shown are plotting murders, while Rabbi used mainly his logic, which was in fact based on the Talmun, in order to be able solve every mystery that occurs in the small town of Massachusetts. Harry Kemelman decided to write these mystery novels because he was concerned that Jews in the suburbs of Boston didn’t have the Jewish education that they need to have,. Moreover, the famous author made some TV series for the American TV, Lanigan’s Rabbi, which were based on the David Small Books. (People known Laningan as the local police officer of the Roman Catholic church, who was also used to be a very dear friend of Rabbi Small).

Friday the Rabbi Slept (1964)

The first book of the mystery series was published in May 1st, 2002, by iBooks (first published in 1964). jIn this famous book Rabbi Small is the new leader of the conservation Jewish community, a fictional suburban town in Massachusetts area of Barnard’s Crossing. It seems that Rabbi can’t have the opportunity of enjoying his Sabbath in tranquility. This is because a young nunny has been found strangled near the parking lot of the temple. The worst thing that her purse is found in Rabbi’s car and all the evidence points out to him. In this first book, the protagonist has wisdom, believes in the Jewish tradition and his is also a devoted husband and later in the series he is also a father of two wondeful children: Hepsibah and Jonathan.

Saturday the Rabbi went Hungry (1966)

Published in July 1st 2002, by iBooks (first published in January 1966), the second book of the mystery novels features a drunken man and a wealthy and sick Jew present a crisis that interrupts Rabbi from his prayers. In fact, he suddenly finds himself again investigating a possible murder, thanks to his wife, Miriam. This time a memeber of his Jewish congregation is found dead in his vehicle. The accident seems like a normal one that may happen every day and so the police believes that it was an accident. Only Rabbi Small’s wife Miriam, who is also pregnant, thinks that it’s a murder case. Even though Rabbi Small does not want to interrupt his prayers and contemplation in the holiest day of the Jewish year, he desides that he has to do so and begins to investigate the crime. Even though all the details that emerge suggest that the may in the car may have killed himself, Rabbi once again becomes a detective and tries to solve the mystery murder. He searches among a number of eccentric characters in town.

The early life of Harry Kemelman

The famous American mystery writer Harry Kemelman spend the most years of his life Boston. Since he was a little boy, he always dreamed of becoming a writer and he really worked hard for this. First he decided to start reading English literature at at the Boston University in Massachesetts and then he began to give lessons as an english literature teacher in the local schools.. After serving as an administrator in the WWII , later he manage to be appointed as an assistant professor of English in 1963 at the Franklin Technical Institute. The very first stories that he wrote featured Nicky Welt, a man who was a professor at the college and he also tried to solve a number of mystery murders and other cases by just using his logic. But he didn’t want to go out and search for the murdered – he just made logical explanations. These series were published as theNine Mile Walk, which were named like the famousstories. In addition, the famous American writer in 1936 was married and his wife gave birth to two children, that he really adored. Moreover, he lived a peaceful life and devoted his life in writing his mystery novels. But apart from these amazing mystery series, he also wrote other stories, including one called ‘The Building of a Temple’.

His life

Blending this unorthodox sleuth’s quick intellect with thrilling action, his first novel of the mystery series is the exciting first installment of the bestselling Rabbi Small Mysteries series. Moreover, the famous author Harry Keleman supported his young family by managing the real estate agency, running the hardware store and writing detective mysteries series of books for the monthly magazine of Ellery Queen.


Book Series In Order » Characters » Rabbi Small