Book Notification

Rachel Hawkins Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ex Hex Books

as Erin Sterling
The Ex Hex (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kiss Curse (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wedding Witch (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Hex Hall Books

Hex Hall (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demonglass / Raising Demons (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spell Bound (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
School Spirits (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rebel Belle Books

Rebel Belle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Mayhem (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lady Renegades (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Debutantes & Daggers (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Royals Books

Royals / Prince Charming (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Royal Highness (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Beatrix Greene Books

with Ash Parsons, Vicky Alvear Shecter
The Haunting of Beatrix Greene (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Defy the Dark(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grim(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Tales Dark and Grim: An Anthology(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rachel Hawkins is a former high school teacher who taught English for three years and then took a leap of faith and left teaching to pay attention to the books she always desired to write. She was born in a place well known as Virginia but nowadays she is based in Dothan, Alabama with her husband and a child. Her husband is a Geologist by profession. Rachel Hawkins graduated from Auburn University, a public research university in Alabama.

Rachel Hawkins mostly writes for teenagers but her books have been equally famous among adults. She writes from in first person with the perspective of lead character. This technique has been quite successful with her books because it allows her readers to peek into the minds of the main character and experience what the main character is going through in the story. Her writing style with occasional glimpses from the third person perspective has also been admired by the critics and especially made her “Hex Hall” series quite famous.

Rachel Hawkins started off with her first book “Hex Hall”, which she eventually turned into a series. The first book of the Hex Hall series was published in March, the year two thousand and ten and introduced the readers to a girl named Sophie Mercer who discovers that she is a witch. It get her into a few troubles here and there. Her mother is quite supportive but when Sophie starts to attract much human attention her father punishes her by sending her to Hex Hall, a reforms school for Prodigium i.e. witches, shapeshifters and fairies. Sophie comes to know that an unknown predator has been attacking students there and from there a series of mysteries starts to unveil and she comes to know that a secret society is determined to destroy all Prodigium.

The first book written by Rachel Hawkins got her the attention of the readers but her second book of the Hex Hall series a.k.a “Demonglass” turned out to be a great success. It was published in March, the year two thousand and eleven and was featured on the New York Times’ Best Seller’s List the same year. The second part takes a dramatic turn when Sophie, who considered herself to be a witch actually turns out to be a demon instead, indeed one of the just two demons in the world and the other one is actually her father. What makes the matters worse is that she has such powers which threat the lives of the people close to her. Sophie opts for the Removal, a very dangerous procedure which will either remove her powers or kill her. For the Removal she has to go to London. Once there she comes to know that her new housemates are demons too. Even more strange events unfold from there which lead Sophie to realize the truth behind them.

The whole series got a lot of attention from the readers and the Hex Hall series ended with the third and the last book i.e. “Spell Bound”. The last part sees Sophie Mercer’s powers being stripped away by the Prodigium Council while she believes that her survival is on the mercy of her enemies- the Brannicks. To her surprise the Brannicks know a war is just about to come and believe that Sophie is the only person powerful enough to stop the destruction. She is not confident without her powers but the events which follow afterwards are one hell of a ride for Sophie.

She is also the author of another paranormal comedy book series, “Rebel Belle” which also has three parts. The first part published in April, the year two thousand and fourteen revolves around a high school girl, Harper Price from Alabama who surprisingly gains superpowers for protect a boy names David, which she always disliked. She starts to fall for him but eventually gets to know that David intends to destroy the Earth. From there on a touch of mafic, non-stop action and breath taking events take place in the story.

The second part, “Miss Mayhem” was published in April, the and the story takes a turn and life of Harper Price comes back to normal and she starts to focus on other things in life. But the supernatural story again kick starts when the Ephors decide not to kill David, rather train him and Harper has to come along. She is also tested when she has to undergo an ancient trail which will either kill her or multiply her powers.

Rachel Hawkins has also written several other books including the famous “School Spirits” which revolves around a 15 year old kid named Izzy who is trained to fight monsters. Her family hunts magical creatures but her own sister disappears while on a job. They decide to take a break and move out to a new town. Once there they come to realize that it is not normal. It is haunted and the high school has been affected, but Izzy is determined to investigate the matter and prove her mettle. She is tough but she has to assume the guise of an average girl and make new friends and has a crush while the story continues to unfold.

Rachel Hawkins mentioned on her personal site that she will not be converting the “School Spirits” into a series. Anthologies in which Rachel Hawkins appears include “Defy the Dark” by Sundra Mitchel and “Grim” by Christine Johnson.

Rachel Hawkins got much appraisal in a short span of time. Her writing career has not seen any downfall yet. She has her own blog where she blogs regularly which suggests her spirits are high. She takes book tours regularly for promotion of her new books before their release. She has had some success with “School Spirits” but of all her books the “Hex Hall” series was the most famous because of its great combination of romance, action, magic and humor. The “Hex Hall” series was highly acclaimed and many critics believed that the story of Hex Hall has the potential to get directed in Hollywood and produce another great series like “Harry Potter”, although there has not been any such offer to Rachel Hawkins yet.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rachel Hawkins

Leave a Reply