Book Notification

Rachel Lynn Solomon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rowan & Neil Books

Today Tonight Tomorrow (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Past Present Future (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Year of Maybe (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ex Talk (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Can't Keep Meeting Like This (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Weather Girl (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
See You Yesterday (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Business or Pleasure (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

It's a Whole Spiel: Love, Latkes, and Other Jewish Stories(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Coming from Seattle in America, the writer Rachel Lynn Solomon has sought to fulfill a much needed niche within the Young Adult genre, as she seeks to bring a Jewish voice to the field, writing from her own unique and highly distinctive perspective, speaking to her audience in a manner that is at once both instantly accessible and easy to relate to. Understanding her readers on an almost personal level, she writes in an extremely direct manner that allows them to gain an almost intimate reading of her work, writing in a manner that really resonates emotionally. She is also a witty and compelling writer who writes in a style that is both engaging and entertaining in equal measure, allowing her audience to really invest themselves in her material. Writing from her own background too, Solomon really lends her work a level of authenticity quite unlike any other, she would write in a style that was strong, as she definitely has something to say. It would also be her characters that would come to be emblematic of this particular style, as they would come to life almost off of the page, all thanks to her fully rounded three-dimensional portrayals of them and their lives. Much of it would also come down to the fact that she has a message to say, putting it forwards in a compelling and humorously realistic manner. This would lead to her quickly becoming a bestselling author, as the many critics and reviewers alike would begin singing her many praises, as she would resonate with readers worldwide. Previously writing for a number of different publications and media outlets, she would work in radio prior to turning to fiction, most notably NPR whereby she would produce radio shows for them. This would provide her with the insight necessary for communicating with a mass audience as she currently does to this very day.

Early and Personal Life

Born and raised in Seattle in America, Rachel Lynn Solomon would grow up there nurturing a strong passion for literature, with both reading and writing being keen loves of hers. This would carry on throughout the course of her education as well, along with showing a keen interest in music too, as she would create and perform in her own riot grrrl band during high-school. Taking her love of music, she would harness her creativity, later on coming to put it all into her work, something which she currently continues, as she writes full-time from her home in Seattle where she lives with her boyfriend and their small dog.

Writing Career

Bringing out her first book in 2018, Rachel Lynn Solomon would mark her debut with the stand-alone title ‘You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone’. She would later plan to follow this up in 2019 with her second stand-alone Young Adult novel ‘Our Year of Maybe’, which would follow on in a similar vein to before. Represented by Laura Bradford of the Bradford Literary Agency, she has gone on to make a world renowned name for herself that’s respected globally. With a lot more to come, it appears that she’s not stopping any time soon either, as she maintains a strong presence both online and off for a long time yet.

You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone

Originally brought out in 2018 on the 2nd of January, this would be the first book to come out from Rachel Lynn Solomon, as it would herald the arrival of a new voice within the industry. Not being a part of any series as such, it would work on its own merit, providing its audience with the intended message with a sense of immediacy. This would allow her to put her themes and ideas forwards straight-away, as this definitely sets her up as a writer to watch throughout the years to come.

Following a lot of the thematic ideas that would become a staple for Solomon as an author, this first effort incorporates a variety of different elements into the narrative. With her leading protagonists becoming dual forces almost opposing each other in a sense, she plays them off each other well, all whilst asking questions about faith and ambition. Setting it in a high-school too, she manages to make the most of her location as well, really bringing the narrative and the characters to life.

Looking into the lives of the eighteen year old twins Tovah and Adina, it would seem that it’s only their ambitious nature that they both hold in common. Adina is a Viola prodigy who desperately wants to become a soloist, all whilst looking to convince her music teacher that they meant to be together. Meanwhile Tovah is an overachiever who has just been accepted into Johns Hopkins, as she will pursue her career as a surgeon at the prestigious med-school. It would seem though, that their Israeli mother had the genetic disorder Huntington’s, which saw her mind and body dwindle tragically over the years. Then, when the twins themselves are tested for the condition, one is found to have it, whilst the other is apparently safe. Will this drive them apart? Can they overcome this hardship? What will become of one as she says ‘you’ll miss me when I’m gone’?

Previous Work

Working in radio, Rachel Lynn Solomon would produce a late night radio show for NPR prior to becoming a full-time author of Young Adult fiction. Gaining an understanding of what it was that her audience were looking for, she would produce the show on a regular nightly basis, providing her with a deeper comprehension. Over the years this would progress along with writing for newspapers, something which would lead to her having a far more refined voice.

Over time her faith has also become a major component of her work, as she speaks from a distinctively Jewish perspective. This has become something that she’s embraced greatly throughout the years, as she has managed to refine this into her work. With many of her characters reflecting this, as many of her protagonists themselves come from a Jewish background, this is something that will continue for quite some time to come.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rachel Lynn Solomon

Leave a Reply