Book Notification

Raheim Brooks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Bezel Brothers Books

Publication Order of Naim Butler Books

A Butler Christmas (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Butler Summer (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Con Test (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Germantown (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prettyboy Thugs (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Confidence (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Corona Virus Affair (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rahiem Brooks is a mystery, thriller and crime novelist from Philadelphia. His most known works include the “Bezel Brothers”, the “First 8 Chapters Only” and the “Naim Butlers” series of novels. He has also written several single standing novels that have been very successful. As a teenager he left his hometown in Philadelphia and went to Los Angeles where he studied TV/film at UCLA. But as many people before him found out, it was hard getting into Hollywood and hence he decided to adapt. He took his first screenplay that he could not find any takers for, and made it into a novel as he went to Harvard University to study English. Some of his favorite authors include the likes of James Patterson whose novel “Along Came a Spider” was among some of the best novels he has ever read. Even today he often makes use of the novel when he is plotting and setting the scenes for his many novels. For his crime fiction, he loves to defer to John Grisham and Sue Grafton. Unlike many novelists, Rahiem was never much of a reader in his childhood and teen years. Just like Naim Butler, the lead in his Naim Butler series, he was brought up in poverty and hence reading was not something he did. One of the very few readings that he did was of an old encyclopedia gifted to him by his grandmother which eventually led to him developing an interest in reading and writing when he was in his late teens. He started out writing about crime before he shifted to mystery thrillers in his later works.

Rahiem is also a nonfiction writer who gives back to the publishing and writing community by writing small tips on how to publish as a new writer. He believes that while there is a huge amount of published material on the topic of publishing, but traditional and effective publishing tactics often tend to overwhelm new writes just by the sheer amount of material one has to sift through. As such, he has established a small press site known as “Prodigy Gold Books”, where he writes small essays on the different aspects of publishing. He also offers speaking engagements, seminars, and answers questions and gives examples of how to go about the entire publishing process. He first got his huge break when his novel “Laugh Now” that was first published in 2010 when he was named Author of the Year by African Americans on the Move Book Club and Book of the Year by the (AAMBC). Rahiem also won big at the Creative Excellent Awards by the DMV Expo where “Laugh Now” was the winner of Most Creative Plot. Rahiem was also a nominee for the 2011 and 2012 Mystery of the Year Award in 2011 by the African-American Literary Awards.

Before Rahiem became a nonfiction writer he used to work as a legal researcher for one of the top criminal lawyers in Los Angeles. His “Naim Butler” series of novels is borne from his time doing research for the attorney, as he thought he could write a very good story about the workings of the criminal justice system. Naim Butler the lead character in the “Naim Butler” series of novels is a man that was brought up in inner city Chicago. He had finally managed to extract himself from that life and went to college in New Orleans, before he got a job working for a big law firm in New York. Naim is a Sentencing Mitigation Specialist and he is soon living the big life as a bachelor in New York. But things soon get complicated when events in his past come back to haunt him. His current life is also not that simple and smooth as he has to contend with a romance life that just gets more bizarre. He always thinks he is strong enough to deal with anything life can throw at him, though there are instances when he may bite more than he can chew.

“A Butler Christmas” the first novel of the Naim Butler series is a novel of Naim’s journey of wrongs, the consequences, putting things right, and getting the growth and prosperity from putting in the work. He had faced a lot of challenges in life but had somehow managed to survive and succeed despite everything. Naim Butler is an excellent sentencing mitigation expert at Baker and Keefe, one of the top law firms in New York City. He is a personable fellow who is hugely successful with a life steadily on the up. But now he learns that his ex-girlfriend has a seventeen-year-old son that she claims is his. He meets with her to establish the rules of engagement for taking care of their child. But everything becomes complicated when Naim starts a romance with a reporter named Brandy Scott who is the best thing to ever happen to him. Sinia Love his ex-girlfriend and mother of his child Marco does not approve, and so sets out to destroy the relationship before it becomes something more. It is a great novel full of twists and turns of plot that will grip the reader by the scruff of the neck from the first page to the last.

“A Butler Summer”, the second novel of the Naim Butler series is set in Washington D.C. where the lead has become embroiled in a case that involves the highest echelons of politics and the criminal justice system. He had been called in to one of the most challenging cases of his career, defending a psychopath who was accused of capital murder. He has made a name for himself as a lawyer cum sleuth extraordinaire, and hence the firm believes he is best suited to take up the case. Naim is pleased to learn that he will be working alongside Brandy Scott, the newspaper editor and his partner in crime. Washington has always been known to be the capital of corruption, private fantasies, backdoor deals, and cover-ups. His investigations take him from the United States District Courthouse to the hallowed homes of the city’s most powerful, where he soon discovers a dark side of the elite. It is soon clear to him that the elite of Washington have a very dark side to them despite their well-cut suits and fake smiles.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Raheim Brooks

Leave a Reply