Book Notification

Ramona Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ramona Quimby Books

Beezus and Ramona (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ramona the Pest (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ramona the Brave (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ramona and Her Father (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ramona and Her Mother (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ramona Quimby, Age 8 (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ramona Forever (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ramona's World (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ramona Quimby Non-Fiction Books

The Beezus and Ramona Diary (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just for Me (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Ramona books are a progression of eight diverting youngsters’ books by Beverly Cleary that inside on Ramona Quimby, her family and companions. The principal book, Ramona and Beezus, showed up in 1955. The last book, Ramona’s World, was distributed in 1999. Two books in the series were named Newbery Honor books, Ramona and Her Father and Ramona Quimby, Age eight; Ramona as well as her mother got the National Book Award. Here and there known as the Beezus and Ramona series, starting 2012 the books were being advertised by HarperCollins as “The Complete Ramona Collection”.


The Ramona books became out of Cleary’s before Henry Huggins series and happen in the same neighborhood. In the Henry Huggins books Beezus was one of Henry’s companions, and her more youthful sister Ramona was for the most part a vermin to Henry, Beezus and the other kids.

It jumped out at Cleary (while composing Henry Huggins) that the greater part of the characters she had made hitherto had no siblings or sisters. “Somebody ought to have a kin,” she wrote in My Own Two Feet, “so I hurled in a younger sibling to clarify Beezus’ epithet. When it came time to name the sister, I caught a neighbor shout to another whose name was Ramona. I wrote in “Ramona,” made a few references to her, gave her one brief scene, and felt that was the end of her. Little did I dream, to utilize a trite expression from books of my adolescence, that she would assume control books of her own?”

In 1955, subsequent to completing three Henry books, Cleary composed Beezus and Ramona, a novel in which Beezus was the focal character. The plot rotated around fourth grade Beezus’ dissatisfactions with her more youthful sister. At that point in 1968, having finished up the Henry Huggins series, Cleary came back to concentrate on the two sisters in Ramona the Pest. It turned into the establishment book of the Ramona series. As distributer, author and analyst Anita Silvey says, “It was verging on unavoidable that Cleary would distribute a progression of books about this uproarious yet engaging character.”[2]

Ramona the Pest, similar to the remaining books in the series, is composed from Ramona’s perspective. In Ramona the Pest Ramona enters kindergarten. The succeeding books tail her as she grows up and progresses through school, generally at the rate of one evaluation more than two books. Composed from the 1950s through the 1990s, dates aren’t said in the books, and the kids are intended to speak to genuine kids in whenever period. The last Ramona book, Ramona’s World, was distributed in 1999, 15 years after the past one.



This is the main book in the series composed from more established sister Beezus’ perspective. In the book, Beezus is battling with her affections for her irritating more youthful sister Ramona. Ramona bothers Beezus with her high spirits and wild creative ability. Ramona writes everywhere on a library book, gets Ribsy secured in the lavatory, and disturbs Beezus’ specialty class. At last Beezus acknowledges it is conceivable to love her sister, notwithstanding when she doesn’t generally like her.


Ramona and her neighbor Howie are going to kindergarten, and Miss Binney is their educator. Ramona realizes that she has been portrayed as a vermin, yet she doesn’t see herself that path, and in this book she tries hard to be great and take after the guidelines. However, infrequently she has a troublesome time controlling herself, and one day she gets sent home from school for pulling her cohorts hair. Persuaded her educator doesn’t care for her, Ramona declines to return until an exceptionally uncommon letter from her instructor brings her back.


Ramona considers herself to be daring, and is in some cases astonished to understand that others don’t concur. It’s the late spring after kindergarten, and things are changing at the Quimby house. Mrs. Quimby has low maintenance work, and the family is having an additional room included to the house. Ramona valiantly stands up to spooks at the playground and a mean pooch on her approach to class, however she isn’t set up for how frightening it feels going to rest in the fresh out of the plastic new room – alone.


Mr. Quimby loses his occupation and Ramona has some awesome thoughts on the most proficient method to acquire some additional cash to assist. She likewise chooses its opportunity he quit smoking, and she’ll help him with that, as well. When the congregation Christmas event arrives Ramona is feeling ignored. In any case, the night she was fearing transforms into a win that unites the family once more.


Presently in the second grade, Ramona gets to be envious of her mom and Beezus, in light of the fact that they appear to share things she can’t, care for sewing and cooking. She’s excessively youthful, making it impossible to stay home alone yet tired of setting off to the Kemps’ after school. At home, her guardians are contending, and the young ladies stress over who will deal with them on the off chance that they get a separation. In the end Ramona discovers that her family has issues like everybody else’s, except regardless they adore each other.


In this book Ramona Quimby is figuring out how to assume liability for herself. She is in the third grade at another school, and making some new companions, similar to “Yard Ape”, who rides her transport and sits behind her in class. Her family is depending on her to oversee at school without anyone else and coexist with Willa Jean after school each day. The way that she handles everything so well demonstrates that Ramona is developing.


In this book Ramona acknowledges change is inescapable, however she will dependably act naturally. Beezus and Ramona don’t care for Howie going by Uncle Hobart, so they attempt to convince their guardians to give them a chance to stay home alone, however a misconception causes inconvenience between them. When they discover their feline Picky-Picky dead in the cellar, and understand that their mom is pregnant, they figure out how to cooperate. At that point Aunt Bea gets connected with to Uncle Hobart, and the family has just two weeks to arrange a wedding. At last, infant Roberta arrives, and Ramona understands she’s getting a charge out of growing up.


Ramona’s reality is growing, and it doesn’t spin as much around her family as it used to. There’s another young lady in fourth grade, Daisy Kidd, and she and Ramona are closest companions. Mrs. Quimby is staying home once more, dealing with child Roberta, and Ramona is attempting to be a decent good example for her younger sibling, while sharing her mom’s consideration. Presently in secondary school, Beezus has new companions as well, and is keen on young men. Indeed, even as child Roberta arrives, the more seasoned Quimby sisters are growing new hobbies.

Starting 2012 the series has had three artists: Louis Darling, Alan Tiegreen and Tracy Dockray. The books are accessible independently and in boxed sets. They have likewise been distributed as book recordings read by Stockard Channing.

The Ramona Quimby Diary is an action book containing quotes and delineations from all the Ramona books

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ramona

Leave a Reply