Book Notification

Ransom Riggs Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children Books

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hollow City (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Library of Souls (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Peregrine's Journal for Peculiar Children (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales of the Peculiar (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Map of Days (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Conference of the Birds (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Desolations of Devil's Acre (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children Graphic Novels

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children: The Graphic Novel (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hollow City: The Graphic Novel (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children Companion Books

Miss Peregrine's Museum of Wonders (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Sherlock Holmes Handbook (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Talking Pictures (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ransom Riggs was born in Maryland on a 200 year old farm. He was brought up in Florida and he is currently living in Los Angeles. When he was about five years old, his ambition was to be a farmer because he was living in a farm with tractors and farming was the main activity in the area. He was excited by driving them. His mom wanted something different for his son and so she relocated to Florida. Farms here were small and kids were not involved in farming as compared to their former residence. By then they were not internet connected and their television was only twelve channels as and so he had to make his own fun, which he is doing up to date.

He is an author of children’s literature and married to he is married to Tahereh Mafi, whom they met during a panel they were put together. His wife is also an author of best-selling Shatter Me series. Ransom Riggs has spent his formal years making silly movies with his friends complaining about heat. And he also has a pet cat.

Education background

He went to Pine view school of the Gifted where he graduated in 1997. He later joined Kenyon College and studied literature in English where he gained writing skills. After Kenyon College, he went to University of south California in Los Angeles to study films and film making where he earned MFA in film production. During his high school life, he attended a workshop on young writers in the University of Virginia which he considers as an experience that shaped his career and life. He met many prominent people there that encouraged and convinced him, and after the workshop, he was sure he could make it in life by writing though he knew he wanted to make movies.

Career development

He grew up writing stories and making videos in the backyard along with his friends. From this, he developed interest in what they were doing and at his capacity, he wanted to do one of them, to be a writer or a film maker.

Ransom Riggs work

Ransom Riggs is a young adult author and has an unusual hobby of collecting old and orphaned photographs which have been separated for the owners for years and keeps them along with taking his own photographs. These photographs are his key areas of narrating a story and creating a plot of a novel he is dreaming of writing.

He worked on short films before mental floss and blogging gave him a job in writing a handbook for Sherlock Holmes. This book was released in 2009 to Sherlock Holmes as his first book. Since then, he is frequently contributing to Mental Floss magazine

Riggs had been collecting vernacular photographs for three years and later he approached Quirk Books publishers requesting for use some of the pictures in a picture book. When he suggested this to the editor, it was approved and made a narrative story with guide of the photographs he had collected. This resulted to his second book called “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children”. This book eventually made into the best seller list of The New York times. This book was highly rated, actually referred to as an unforgettable. It mixed a lot of fiction and photographical work. It was reviewed by indie book sellers and they praised it. The story was well brought across with a lot of suspense. It was scary and smart, with a lot of compassion when children are searching for a path or way to move forward in a twisted and uncaring world.

Later, he was inspired by his old photographs and to write another book entitled “Taking pictures” which was published by Harper Collins.

He has also writer of Strange Geographies. The second book of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children called “hollow city” is also his work from literature. This book took him two and half years to complete, unlike the first one which he spend less than a year to finish writing and publishing.

Ransom Riggs is a co-writer of scatterbrained which was published by Harper Collins. He also participated in writing beautiful creatures with Karmi Garcia. Ransom Riggs is one of the consulting writers of top 10 independent heroines in literature, contributing in the script, he says, “I have a lot of opinions” and his voice is nice as he says in an interview about his career as a writer.

Ransom Riggs makes movies and videos. Since he went to film school, he is spending some of his time making short films and videos and playing guitar for leisure. He likes travelling as much as he can in funny places like deserts where he takes and collects photographs. He is a regular reader of historical books and memoirs.

Ha made a film entitled “Scar beneath my sleeve” after a certain tragedy which happened to his neighborhood on Thursday of 13th February this year at around 0800 hours. He also writes screenplays which he occasionally make to his video blog for his followers to see.

Ransom Riggs has a website; where he is advertising his shows and concerts. The advert contains the venue and tickets for the shows.

As a writer, he has written one hundred and twenty two (124) quotes in his life. His first quote was about how he used to dream on how to escape his life, however, he realized that his life was new every day and not ordinary. It continues to show how he had failed to realize how his life was extra ordinary. Among his other quotes, he says when you knock without someone opening for you, you finally stop knocking. He also expresses how he feels he was born in wrong century and how he feels cheated.

Ransom Riggs writing work is young and he has promised readers of his books many more are on the way coming. He is inspired by little things that happen in life, especially to children and creates a story, which makes up his novels captivating and realistic.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ransom Riggs

3 Responses to “Ransom Riggs”

  1. Mary Gregory: 3 years ago

    I am 75 years old and think this series is absolutly one of the best I have read . Will he be writing more like this ? if so I cant wait he is the best

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      With the latest book coming out this year yep I expect Ransom will continue to write for longer 🙂 Although I know The Desolation was billed as the epic conclusion so not sure what he will cover next.

  2. Piotr Bombała: 7 years ago

    What happened to the ARCANUM? Was it published? or will it be any time soon?


Leave a Reply