Book Notification

Rati Mehrotra Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Asiana Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flower and Thorn (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Laksa Anthology Books

Strangers Among Us: Tales of the Underdogs and Outcasts (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sum of Us: Tales of the Bonded and Bound (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where the Stars Rise: Asian Science Fiction and Fantasy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shades Within Us: Tales of Migrations and Fractured Borders (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anthology series.

Publication Order of Anthologies

Playground of Lost Toys(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clockwork Canada(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Triptych Tales - The Anthology: 2017(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Upside Down: Inverted Tropes in Storytelling(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
CLI-FI: Canadian Tales of Climate Change(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broad Knowledge(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Year's Top Tales of Space and Time(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rati Mehrotra is a young adult fantasy, science fiction, and general fantasy author whose pronouns and her and she.

She is the author of the Harper Voyager-published “Asiana” duology. She published her debut novel “Markswoman” in 2018 and soon after published her second in the “Asiana” series in 2019.
Her debut young adult fantasy work was “Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove,” which she published in 2022.

The author was born and brought up in India even though she now lives in Toronto Canada. When she is not writing her bestselling novels she loves to read and cook. In fact, food often finds its way into many of her novels.
Known to many friends and family as a bookworm she loves to read the works of various authors. Some of her favorite authors include Jane Austen, Sofia Samatar, JRR Tolkien, Ursula Le Guin, Stephen King, Margaret Atwood, Patricia A. McKillip, Octavia Butler, Gene Wolfe, and NK Jemisin.

While Rati Mehrotra is best known as an author, she is a trained economist. For many years, she dreamed in equations and graphs before she realized that she was wasting her time.

She would then become an environmentalist as she got a job with the Switzerland-based World Conservation Union writing Environmental Policy.

Rati would work for the organization in several countries across the world before she finally made her home in Canada.

Even as she was working in environmental policy, she still loved reading mythological stories. Of particular interest to her were the stories of the epitome of feminine power, the slayer of demons, and Mother Goddess Kali.

This got her interested in India and ultimately in women and girls’ issues in India, which informs some of the themes in her works.

Rati has also said that she grew up listening to Indian epics and as such, apart from the many authors who have influenced her writing, she also finds inspiration from Indian mythology.

Rati Mehrotra finished writing the manuscript of her debut novel “Markswoman” in 2011. While the writing sucked, she still keeps a version of that draft as it reminds her of how far she has come with some nostalgic horror.

Ultimately, it took several years of beta readers and many rejections before she developed her craft.

There were many bleak times when she believed she would never make it as a writer. She used to console and drown her sorrows in chocolate to help her through the tough times.

The best thing that happened to her was when she joined a writing group. In 2012, she spent much of the year in a writer’s paradise in St John, Newfoundland with several writer friends.

She also joined a group of lady writers known as the Scribe Wenches and the local Writers Alliance. Meeting over cake and tea, they read their pieces and bits from their manuscripts and critiqued each other. She would finally publish Markswoman in 2018.

“Markswoman “by Rati Mehrotra introduces Kyra. She belongs to the Order of kali is known as its youngest Markswomen.
The sisterhood is made up of elite and highly trained warriors who are guided by a strict code and always carry with them blades imbued with magic. The order is also charged with protecting the citizens of Asiana and keeping the peace.

Kyra has also committed to adhering to the code of conduct but has a secret desire to avenge her slain family. Kyra is forced to run when the dangerous and powerful Tamsyn who has some powerful metal control skills takes over the Order.

Kyra believes Tamsyn is guilty of murder in her quest for power but she cannot provide any proof. Running through the desert and the remnants of the long-lost past of Asiana, she meets the only Order composed of men in the Khur.

Among them is a disillusioned Marksman named Rustan, who is exceptional with a blade. He understands Kyra and offers to help her prove that Tamsyn is guilty.

As the two work together on the desert sands, they begin to doubt how committed they are to their Orders.

Rati Mehrotra’s novel “Mahimata tells” the story of Kyra who needs to confront the man that killed her family. But the young assassin may have to risk her heart even as she struggles with her identity as a woman and warrior in this fantastical novel.

Kyra is back in the Kali caves but she returns to a bittersweet homecoming as she no longer is certain of her place in the order. Ninth her best friend has gone missing and her beloved teacher is deceased.
The Marksman Rustan who has trained her for the ultimate duel with Tamsyn and became more than a friend and mentor is also gone. Unable to deal with his feelings about his parentage and for Kyra, he had set out to find some answers.

His quest leads to the discovery of an ancient sect who have some connection with the alien Ones. He comes to the realization that he may have to pay a very heavy price to get the answers he needs.
But fate may be determined to bring Rustan and Kyra back together again. The man who had slain her family has been waging war on the Asian Orders and Kyra may have to find Rustan if they are to have any hope of defeating Kai Tau.

Rati Mehrotra’s novel “Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove” is the story of Katyani who knows she is destined to become the protector and advisor to Ayan the crown prince once he becomes king.
She had been bound to the royal family ever since she was a child and had over the years become one of the best guardswomen in the kingdom.

Things turn interesting when there are several attempts to assassinate the royals and Katyani is set to escort Ayan and Bhairav his cousin, who are to be the next leaders of the realm.

She could not have been assigned a more boring post as she finds herself stuck in the middle of the forest where the royal monastic school is located. The only silver lining is that she gets to have run-ins with Acharya’s son Daksh whose gaze makes her melt.

But when Katyani and her charges are ordered back home before completing their training, she faces a huge dilemma.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rati Mehrotra

Leave a Reply