Book Notification

Raynor Winn Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Raynor Winn
Raynor Winn was born in 1962. She is a British writer and long distance walker. “The Salt Path” was a Sunday Times bestseller in the year 2018.

Raynor and her husband, Moth, who was diagnosed with corticobasal degeneration, became homeless after this business deal with their friend went south and decided to walk the 630 mile (1,010 km) South West Coast Path.

NPR’s Book Concierge listed “The Salt Path” as one of its Best Books of 2019. It was shortlisted for the 2018 Costa Book Awards, and the Wainwright Prize in the biography category. The judges described the book as being an absolutely brilliant tale that just needs to be told about the human capacity to endure and continue putting one foot in front of the other. In May of 2019 it was the number one bestselling book in UK independent bookstores. 400,000 copies of the book have been sold worldwide.

Raynor also writes about wild camping, nature, and homelessness. “The Wild Silence” was published by Michael Joseph (which is a subsidiary of Penguin Books) in September of 2020. The book was shortlisted for the Wainwright Prize for Nature Writing in 2021.

“The Salt Path” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2018. The true story about a couple that lost everything and embarked on this transformative journey walking along the South West Coast Path in England.

Only days after Raynor learned that Moth, her husband of thirty-two years, is terminally ill, their farm and house get taken away, along with their livelihood. Without anything left and little time, they make the impulsive and brave choice to walk the 630 miles of the sea swept South West Coast Path, from Somerset and on to Dorset, through Cornwall and Devon.

Carrying just the essentials for their survival on their backs, they live wild in the weathered and ancient landscape of sea, cliffs, and sky. But through each and every step, every test, and every encounter along the way, their walk becomes this remarkable and life affirming journey.

Unflinchingly honest and powerfully honest, “The Salt Path” is ultimately a depiction of home: how it can be lost, rediscovered, and rebuilt in the most unexpected of ways. Raynor delivers an astonishing narrative about two people dragging themselves out of the depths of despair along some of the most dramatic landscapes in the country, trying to find a solution to their problems and finding themselves, ultimately.

This book is a poignant and polished account and is an inspiring story of true love. Winn’s prose here is powerful, she excels at description, and her apt metaphors are all rooted in nature. This is an inspiring read, and reminds us that there really is salvation in nature, movement, and the out-of-doors.

“The Wild Silence” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2020. The incredible follow up to “The Salt Path”, the international bestseller, and is a story about finding your way back home.

Nature holds some of the answers for Raynor and Moth. After they walked 630 homeless miles along The Salt Path, living only on the wild and windswept English coastline; the sky, the cliffs, and the chalky earth now feel like their home. Moth has a terminal diagnosis, however together on the wild coastal path, with their feet planted firmly outdoors, they find that anything is possible.

Now, a life beyond The Salt Path waits for them and they return to four walls, however the sense of home is illusive and returning to normality proves to be difficult, until this one incredible gesture by somebody that reads their story changes it all. One chance to breathe life back into a beautiful farmhouse nestled deep within the Cornish hills; rewilding the land and returning nature to its hedgerows becomes their one saving grace and their new path to follow.

“The Wild Silence” is the tale of hope triumphing over despair, of lifelong love prevailing over everything. It’s a luminous account of the human spirit’s connection to nature, and just how vital it is for everybody.

Readers found this to be heartening and heartfelt. It’s a full throated paean to the fundamental importance of nature in all of its fury, glory, and impermanence. Fans of the novel delighted in Raynor’s account of falling in love with Moth. Her writing once again beautifully evokes the natural world, whether she’s describing a doe in an orchard or her innermost conflicted feelings. This is the perfect ‘what happened next’ memoir which gives closure to readers of Winn’s first book.

“Landlines” is a non-fiction book that was released in 2022. Some people live to walk, but Moth and Raynor walk to live. Raynor knows that Moth’s health is getting worse by the day. She knows of just one cure. It worked before, but will he? Can he? Set off on another healing walk?

The Cape Wrath Trail is more than two hundred miles of gruelling terrain through Scotland’s remotest lochs and mountains. However the lure of the wilderness and beguiling beauty of the awaiting glens pull them northwards. Being one with nature saved them while they were in their darkest hour and their hope is that it can work its magic once more.

While setting out on their incredible thousand mile journey back to the more familiar shores of the Southwest Coast Path, Moth and Raynor map the landscape of an island nation that faces an uncertain path ahead. In “Landlines”, Raynor records with luminous prose the friends and strangers, the wildlife and wilderness that they encounter while on the way. It is a journey that starts in fear yet can only end with hope.

Readers love the way Raynor is able to find hope in even the most daunting of challenges, which is sure to fill readers with a lot of inspiration as well as her atmospheric use of language. There’s an optimism and kindness which overcomes the despair of illness and inept human stewardship of the earth. This book has the most perfect and wonderful ending as well. There is a flowing and rich narrative with a lived reality of resilience alongside her hopes for the future.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Raynor Winn

Leave a Reply