Nick Petrie Series

Rebecca Lim Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Children of the Dragon Books

The Relic of the Blue Dragon (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Race for the Red Dragon (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Mercy Books

Mercy (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Exile (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Muse (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fury (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wraith (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Whiffy Newton Books

Whiffy Newton in the Case of the Dastardly Deeds (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Whiffy Newton in the Riddle of the Two-Tone Trousers (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Whiffy Newton in the Affair of the Fiendish Phantoms (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Whiffy Newton in the Mystery of the Marble Beach Mugger (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Five Minute Tales Books

Messiest Monster Ever (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bravest Princess Ever (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Astrologer's Daughter (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Afterlight (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Girlfriend Fiction Books

She's with the Band (By: Georgia Clark) (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Not Quite Perfect Boyfriend (By: Lili Wilkinson) (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Sweet Life (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Aussie STEM Stars: Eddie Woo - Superstar Maths Teacher (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

From the Outer: Footy Like You've Never Heard It(2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Meet Me at the Intersection(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Rebecca Lim is the noteworthy author and illustrator of the young adult, science fiction, fantasy, and children’s book genres. She hails from Melbourne, Australia and has written a number of successful novels in her writing career. Before becoming a novelist, Rebecca used to work as a commercial lawyer. She continued with the profession for several years after her education. When she developed her interest in writing novels, she left the job as a lawyer and went on to become a full time writer. Rebecca has written a total of 16 books in her career for the young adult readers as well as children. For her excellent writing styles in her successful novels, she has been nominated for a few prestigious awards. She was the finalist for the Aurealis award and the Davitt award. Many of her novels have been translated into a number of foreign languages like French, German, Portuguese, Polish, and Turkish. Rebecca’s excellent works have been included in the long run of several other awards like Gold Inky Award, CBCA Book of the Year Award, and the David Gemmell Legend Award. The novels written by author Rebecca Lim have been divided into a couple of series, Mercy and Whiffy Newton. The Mercy series written by her consists of a total of 4 novels published between the years 2010 and 2012. All the novels of the series depict the main characters, Mercy and Ryan. The first novel of the series was published under the title ‘Mercy’. It was published by the HarperCollins publishing house in the year 2010. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Mercy is depicted as waking up on a school bus which was bound for Paradise, a tiny town.

In the town of Paradise, every resident is aware about the whereabouts and the business of other residents. Even though each of the residents knows very well about other residents, there are some things that not many people are aware of. Mercy also seems to have a secret life of her own. She is described as an angel who keeps returning to Earth repeatedly. Every time she is sent to Earth she takes a new human form. She does so in order to try and resolve the cataclysmic rift between the heavenly beings. In the town of Paradise, Mercy gets the chance to meet Ryan, who is an 18 year old boy. Mercy comes to know that Ryan’s sister had been kidnapped around two years ago, who is now presumed as dead. After a few days of the meeting of Ryan and Mercy, one more girl gets kidnapped. As they learn about the new kidnapping, Mercy realizes that she has to act very quickly by making the use of her extraordinary powers in order to rescue the girl. She does not care even if she has to expose her true identity to Ryan and the people of the town of Paradise. The exciting plot of the novel proved to be an eclectic combination of some of the interesting elements like mystery, romance, and angels. This helped the novel to become successful and reach out to a number of readers all over the world. It also helped author Rebecca Lim to establish herself as a popular author of the fantasy and young adult novels. The success of the novel also helped author Rebecca to win the Davitt Award for the Best Young Adult Novel in the year 2011.

The second novel of the Mercy novel series written by author Rebecca Lim was published under the title ‘Exile’. It was published by the HarperCollins publishing house in the year 2011. Just like the first novel of the series, this novel too depicts and electrifying mixture of the elements like romance, mystery, and angles, and serves as the breathtaking sequel to the first novel of the paranormal romance Mercy series. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Mercy continues to be depicted as the central character along with Ryan. At the beginning of the novel she realizes that there is something wrong with her as she finds herself turning into some other person after she wakes up every morning. Being an angel she is required to remain in exile. She is repeatedly sent back to Earth and is asked to take a new form of human each time she is sent back. Now, she wakes up as an unhappy teen by the Lela, who is shown as taking care of her dying mother but never cares about herself. She also seems to have lost her memory after turning into Lela from her actual character as Mercy. Now, as her shattered seems to be returning back, she remembers Ryan as the boy with whom she fell in love with in her former life. Mercy also comes across another angel like herself named Luc, who always haunts her in her dreams. Now, she seems to be in a dilemma over the decision of risking the life of Lela for reuniting with the true desire of her heart.

The novel became very much successful and went on to win the David Gemmell Award in the year 2011. The readers enjoyed reading the novel very much, especially the various relationships depicted throughout the novel. Even the secondary characters described by the author in the novel are very much liked by the readers. Many readers and fans of author Rebecca have said that they loved the ways, in which the main character Mercy helps the tattered lives to mend the broken bonds of their troubled lives. As Mercy is on a mission for finding Ryan, she is also required to find the answers related to her own existence. And in the middle of all this, she keeps on finding ways to help the people whom she soul-jacks. Such intriguing description of the plot of the novel allowed it to be liked by a number of readers all over the world and helped author Rebecca Lim to gain the necessary motivation for writing the other novels of the series. The characters of Mercy, Ryan, and Luc kept the readers to remained gripped to the edge of their seats as the novel reached its end. The unexpected twists and turns of the novel also kept the readers to keep turning the pages and read it till the very end in a single sitting. Author Rebecca was encouraged by the critics as well as her fellow authors to write more interesting novels based on the paranormal romance and young adult genres.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rebecca Lim

Leave a Reply