Book Notification

Rebecca Shaw Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Barleybridge Books

A Country Affair (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Country Wives (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Country Lovers (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Country Passions (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Hot Country Summer (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love in the Country (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Tales from Turnham Malpas Books

The New Rector (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Talk of the Village (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Village Matters (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Village Show (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Village Secrets (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scandal In The Village (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Village Gossip (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble in the Village (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Village Dilemma (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Intrigue in the Village (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whispers In The Village (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Village Feud (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Village Green Affair (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Village Newcomers (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Village Deception (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Village in Jeopardy (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Village Fortunes (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Village Rumours (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery in the Village (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The House at Spinnaker Cove (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Curtain Up (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Love of a Family (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Naked in the Rideshare (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Rebecca Shaw

A British writer, Rebecca Shaw was widely regarded as a highly gifted storyteller with a lot to say and offer readers worldwide. Hugely influential during her literary career, she would make a name for herself with her incisive and engaging approach to writing. Publishing twenty-seven novels during her lifetime, she would go on to sell over one million books and counting, making her an extremely beloved novelist. Setting herself apart, her books were unique in that they not only entertained her readership, but they also said exactly what she wanted to say.

Largely centering her work around the lives of those dwelling in the country, readers knew what to expect when it came to her stories. Finding her own unique brand, she did what she did extremely well, giving her work and writing a real sense of immediacy. This approach of hers proved to be hugely successful, with not just the general public singing her praises, but the critics as well. Transforming the boundaries of the rural novel, she showed how people really lived, while bringing the area to life.

Translated around the world, she would find success not only nationally, but internationally as well, reaching readers far and wide. With her compelling characters and expert scene setting, she would lay the stage for numerous stories and sagas to take place. Bringing each environment to life, she would pay close attention to detail, really capturing the essence of the location she was writing about. As readers worldwide still discover her to this day, her work will continue to grow in popularity for many years to come.

Early and Personal Life

Born in Leeds in 1931, Rebecca Shaw would grow up in Armley there, as she was raised with a strong love of all things literature. Focusing on her passion for writing, she would develop it over time, creating the voice that she would come to be known for. Attending the progressive independent Wennington School, she would continue to build on her keen interest in writing.

Going on to become a school-teacher, she would move to Dorset with her husband, where she would base many of her stories on small-town life there. Teaching deaf children, she would go on to become an influential writer, focusing much of her fiction on country living and life. She would later live in Dorchester, Dorset, where she would pass away in 2015 on the 7th of September, leaving behind a strong and impressive legacy.

Writing Career

It was in 1994 that Rebecca Shaw would begin her literary career, starting with the novel ‘The New Rector.’ This book would also begin the ‘Tales from Turnham Malpas’ series of books, which would be one of the main series that she’d focus on. The other would be the ‘Barleybridge’ series of books, and both of these series would feature country living and country life.

While Shaw would also write some stand-alone titles, it would be the two series she’d continue to come back to time and time again. One Sunday Telegraph reviewer described her work as ‘The Archers meets Midsummer Murders,’ and this would set the template for much of her career. Using her life living in rural Dorset as inspiration for her writing, she would always be looking for her next big creative idea.

Scandal in the Village

Initially brought out through the ‘Orion Publishing Group’ imprint, this would first come out in 2009 on the 29th of October. Setting up the sixth title in the ongoing ‘Turnham Malpas’ series of novels, this would provide another stand-alone story in the ongoing saga. The books themselves would feature the fictional village of Turnham Malpas, as there would be an ongoing arc running throughout the series.

There’s a new arrival in the village of Turnham Malpas and they’ve set tongues wagging, as Jimbo asks his mother Katherine to come live nearby him. Organizing the harvest festival display, the village is unprepared for her high-handed manner, as she causes uproar before petitioning to get rid of some of the village’s residents. It’s then up to the rector Peter to put her at ease, as the magic of the village begins to bring her back down-to-earth. Will she find find her place there, can the village accept her, and what will finally become of this scandal in the village?

It’s an entertaining story which brings to life the village of Turnham Malpas once again, providing a real sense of familiarity. With enduring characters and immersive world-building, it works on several different levels, offering something for fans and newcomers alike. Establishing a rich ambiance and atmosphere, the story itself is compelling too, as there’s a lot of wit and interesting ideas throughout.

One Hot Country Summer

First released back in 2007, this would also come out through the Orion publishing outlet, with it arriving on the 21st of February. Marking the fifth title in the ongoing Barleybridge series of novels, it would carry on from the previous one with the same setting as before. Similar to her Turnham Malpas series, it would also feature many of the same characters too, with its rural setting in the vicinity of Barleybridge.

Believing herself to be besotted with Scott while working at the Barleybridge Practice, Kate puts the past behind her after she leaves. She soon returns though, and so do her feelings, but there’s another vet named Virginia who will criticize Kate at every opportunity. Scott loves his wife Zoe, but is upset they haven’t had a second child yet, as Kate hopes he’ll turn to someone else during this summer heat-wave. Will they all manage to find what they’re looking for, can the past be put behind them, and what will happen during one hot country summer?

Providing another warm-hearted story taking place in rural England, it’s easy to see why these books became so beloved. Offering a stand-alone story, it’s a series that doesn’t need to be read in order, although there’s plenty for fans to enjoy too. Delivering an entertaining and engaging story, there’s also plenty of deeper life lessons from Shaw as well, as works on several levels.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rebecca Shaw

Leave a Reply