Book Notification

Redmond and Haze Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Redmond and Haze Mysteries Books

Murder in the Crypt (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Abbey (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Mill (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder In The Caravan (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Grave (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Ardith Hall (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Sea Witch (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Half Moon Street (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Highgate (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Mews (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder of a Mermaid (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Among the Dead (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder of a Hangman (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder of Innocents (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Redmond and Haze Mysteries series by Irina Shapiro
Author Irina Shapiro writes the “Redmond and Haze Mysteries” series which are of a cozy nature. The series began publication in the year 2020, when “Murder in the Caravan” was released. This is the same year that the first three novels in the series were released.

The books are set in the nineteenth century in Victorian England, which is a setting that Irina has always loved mysteries set during this period, particularly the Sherlock Holmes stories. It is set in Birch Hills, a quaint little British village.

The series stars Daniel Haze and Jason Redmond. Daniel Haze is a Parish Constable at the start of the series, and ends up becoming a captain later on. Jason Redmond is an incredibly skilled surgeon and was once a soldier during the Civil War, and becomes a lord when he inherits the title from his grandfather. Upon working together, they two build a rapport with each other and become friends.

“Murder in the Crypt” is the first novel in the “Redmond and Haze Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2020. A young man’s corpse is found having been stuffed into a medieval knight’s tomb, Parish Constable Daniel Haze is given the task of heading up his first solo homicide case.

Suspicion immediately falls on the one and only stranger to show up in the village of Birch Hill right before the murder happened, however the American captain ends up being an unexpected asset. Jason Redmond, as a skilled surgeon and a former soldier, is willing to not only assist with the investigation but also will risk his own safety to catch this killer.

Without a motive, or suspects to speak of, and not many leads to follow, they will have to solve this crime before one of them ends up being the next victim of this murderer.

The novel is like a slow roller coaster, once it starts taking off it is difficult to put down. Jason and Daniel are appealing and interesting leads, The Victorian era is an intriguing choice due to the social structures from the time and you can see the differences in Upper, Middle, and Lower working classes. Irina delivers an engaging and easy read with a satisfying conclusion.

“Murder at the Abbey” is the second novel in the “Redmond and Haze Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2020. A young woman’s corpse is discovered by the ruins of a haunted abbey and everybody assumes that she died of fright.

The postmortem, however, examination tells another story. Elizabeth Barrett was not only poisoned, but the deadly dose of cyanide must’ve been administered by somebody that was close to her. Somebody that she trusted, who might have known her secret.

While Constable Haze and Captain Redmond dig into the victim’s apparently ordinary life, they discover that she was not the biddable and proper wife that everybody believed she was. Without a clear motive for this murder and no obvious suspects, their trail quickly goes cold. However this murderer is much closer than they ever thought, and is waiting to strike with lethal force if they learn the truth.

Irina has once again done a fantastic job of creating some characters that seemingly come alive with a plot that moved along fluidly. This is another breezy page turner of a novel that is great for spending a couple of hours reading. Some found themselves figuring out who the killer was, but enjoying how Daniel and Jason put the pieces together.

“Murder at the Mill” is the third novel in the “Redmond and Haze Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2020. A man’s nude carcass is discovered strapped to a waterwheel, and the newly appointed Inspector Haze is called on to investigate this crime. With the aid of Captain Redmond, the American surgeon, he digs into Frank Darrow’s life. Frank was a man that inspired such hatred, and his death alone was not enough to satisfy his murderer.

Finding little clues and no clear motive for this murder, Haze and Redmond have to peel back the layers of Darrow’s relationships in order to learn the stunning truth of the matter, as they also come to terms with some unexpected developments in their own personal lives.

The character development in these books is fantastic: slow and steady. The mysteries are wholly engaging with a ton of quirks and twists to them. This one does a deeper dive into the personalities and lives of Haze and Redmond.

“Murder in the Caravan” is the fourth novel in the “Redmond and Haze Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2021. A gentlewoman’s body is discovered in a Romani caravan, and a woman from Birch Hall vanishes, Redmond and Haze have to peel back the layers of prejudice, lies, and misdirection so they can learn who is truly is behind these crimes.

Without much connection to the victims, no obvious motive, and little clues, the case is their most challenging to date. Are they going to be able to solve it before the murderer can strike again?

This a good mystery and there are some incredible personal interactions between Redmond and Micah along with the rest of his unconventional household.

“Murder in the Grave” is the fifth novel in the “Redmond and Haze Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2021. When the corpse of the recently appointed curate is discovered in a freshly dug grave, Lord Redmond and Inspector Haze get pulled into investigate.

According the family and friends of the victim, the unfortunate guy was a veritable saint that wanted nothing more than to just dedicate his life to good works and God. However the brutality involved in his murder and the effort to hide his body tell a whole different story.

Facing some increasing pressure to solve the case of the so-called “Cleaved Curate”, Jason and Daniel have to dig deeper into Sebastian Slade’s life just to find that even men of God have got their secrets. And that reckoning can end up being biblical in its scope.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Redmond and Haze Mysteries

2 Responses to “Redmond and Haze Mysteries”

  1. Sharon Svoboda: 2 years ago

    Starting book 9. I hope there will be more

  2. Aquielle r Morris: 2 years ago

    I love this series and cannot wait for the next book. In addition the stories and relationship between Daniel and Jason is so warm and genuine.They are good guys with life problems that I find myself rooting for. Great books keep them coming.


Leave a Reply