Book Notification

Reece Hirsch Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chris Bruen Books

Publication Order of Lisa Tanchik Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Reece Hirsch received a BS in journalism from Northwestern and a law degree from the University of Southern California. He worked in Atlanta as a journalist for several years, including his stint as an assistant editor of a business magazine. He published and edited an entertainments and arts magazine in Atlanta.

His work draws upon his experiences as a lawyer, but his legal work is much less hazardous and exciting than Chris Bruen’s.

“The Insider” was a finalist for an International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel in the year 2011.

Reece is a member of the International Association of Thriller Writers and the Mystery Writers of America, and served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Northern California chapter MWA. From 2005 to 2013, he was listed in Chambers USA: America’s Best Lawyers for Business.

His debut novel, called “The Insider”, was released in the year 2010. He writes the “Lisa Tanchik” series and the “Chris Bruen” series.

“The Insider” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2019. Will Connelly, a corporate attorney in San Francisco, finds that his well-ordered life has become shattered after he sees a colleague fall to his death just outside his office window. In just days, Will has become the number one suspect in a murder, and he is the target of an SEC insider trading investigation. Not to mention the fact that he is a pawn in a complicated criminal scheme that involves a ruthless terrorist plot as well as the Russian mafia.

Will has to make sure that a lethal foe does not get access to the nation’s most confidential and sensitive information as well as the power to do irrevocable and incalculable damage.

Readers enjoyed the well detailed and real characters and the complicated plot, which make the reader quickly fall under the book’s spell. The action starts right at the beginning and keeps your attention until the very end of the novel. The characters have instant chemistry in an easy read, one that people cannot recommend enough.

“The Adversary” is the first novel in the “Chris Bruen” series and was released in the year 2013. Chris Bruen, a former cyber crimes prosecutor with the Department of Justice, walks into a dark apartment in Amsterdam in order to confront some hacker called Black Vector. It should have just been a routine and easy assignment for Bruen. Instead of getting a confession, Bruen finds the hacker dead and finds a flash drive with the code for some sophisticated computer virus called Lurker.

When he gets back home, he finds that he is the target of a shadowy group of hackers that are planning to unleash Lurker. It would bring a major US city right to its knees in only seven days. All of a sudden, Bruen finds that he has become the prime suspect in the international manhunt, and he will need to stay ahead of both the CIA and FBI as he attempts to decode the virus, locate the hackers, and clear his name. With tens of thousands of peoples’ lives at stake, Bruen is going to have to go past the brink in order to stop these hackers.

The book has a ton of action and suspense with plenty of twists and excellent characters that does a great job of starting the series off. Chris is a character you can really root for and be entirely engaged with. Even while talking about technical jargon, Reece is able to teach the reader something and keep them interested, something that is no easy task in a thriller novel.

“Intrusion” is the second novel in the “Chris Bruen” series and was released in the year 2014. A powerful client summons Chris Bruen for a meeting at midnight, and he knows right away there is something wrong. Zapper, the most popular search engine in all the world, has gotten compromised, and search algorithms, its most powerful asset, has been stolen. The company suggests that this most recent instance in a wave of high-tech crimes began in China, and the government itself is the one responsible for this systematic theft of US intellectual property.

Chris goes to China to find evidence that would link this intrusion to the People’s Liberation Army. With some remote help from the head of his firm’s computer lab and his potential girlfriend, named Zoey Doucet, Chris is able to find information that plunges him even further into the shadowy world of cybercrimes. Now he has gotten trapped in some foreign land with a hard drive that contains information that puts his very life in danger. In the secretive world of Big Data, Chris is going to risk it all to fight this elusive enemy that is just as far-reaching as the Internet itself.

Reece does a great job of making Chris and Zoey real, human, and funny. The book moves along at a brisk pace and keeps you turning the pages throughout.

“Surveillance” is the third novel in the “Chris Bruen” series and was released in the year 2016. Chris Bruen and Zoey Doucet, a retired hacktivist, open up their law firm in San Francisco, it is the best day of their entire professional lives. Until their first client comes walking through the door, anyway.

Ian Ayres, a so called ethical hacker, was hired by a company with the job of testing its online systems’ security. While he is on the job, he finds some highly classified information: the existence of a top-secret government surveillance agency as well as a program that is capable of breaking any form of encryption, called Skeleton Key. Ayres has gone on the run. After government agents descend on Zoey and Chris’ office during this potential client’s visit, killing two of their employees. It forces the two of them to flee for their own lives.

From Ecuador to California to Mexico, these three have to evade a bloodthirsty drug cartel, a hired killer, and their own government. How will they be able to escape from an enemy that is able to access every email, phone call, and video feed?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Reece Hirsch

Leave a Reply