Book Notification

Rena Mason Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Evolutionist (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
East End Girls (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Ruminations (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil’s Throat (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Horror for Good(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Haunted Mansion Project Year Two(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Horror 101: The Way Forward(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Qualia Nous(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Beauty of Death(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Another Dimension: Anthology(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forsaken(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seven Deadliest(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strange Tales of the Macabre: Stormy Weather(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strange Tales of the Macabre: Haunted Journeys(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strange Tales of the Macabre: Post-Apocalyptic(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whether Change: The Revolution Will Be Weird(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Professor Charlatan Bardot’s Travel Anthology to the MostHaunted Buildings in the Weird, Wild World(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Horror Addicts Guide to Life 2(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Other Terrors(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rena Mason is a dark historical fiction, mystery, dark fantasy and science fiction, and horror fiction author.

The author made her name when she published “The Devil’s Throat” and “The Evolutionist” with the latter going on to win the Bram Stoker Award. Mason is also a quarterfinalist at the 2014 Search for Blood Awards.

While she is best known for her long-form fiction, Rena is the author of more than twenty-four short stories, novellas, and novelettes that have been published in a range of prestigious magazines and anthologies.

In addition to her fiction, Rena Mason is also the author of a monthly fiction column.

She is also very active in author organizations that include the likes of the International Screenwriters’ Association, the Horror Writers Association, the International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America.

Rena is a registered nurse, world traveler, and avid scuba diver that currently makes her home in Reno, Nevada.

Nonetheless, she loves to spend time in Washington State and particularly in Key Peninsula since it is a place she hopes to one day relocate to. Mason also loves to engage with her readers from the newsletter on her website.

Like many of her contemporaries, Rena Mason has for a long time been a fan of horror literature. While she was in kindergarten the first book she ever read was Where the Wild Things Are.

Back then she believed the little boy in the story was a rebellious and very naughty boy that she wished the monsters would get him.

But her wishes did not come true as she was saddened by the fact that the monsters liked the boy and were devastated when he left. For several years she hoped that the monsters would somehow leave their island to finish off the boy.
She used to read the novel every week and was always disappointed that the monsters could not do anything to the boy.

When she got older, she got into authors such as Shirley Jackson and Edgar Allan Poe whose works she used to read over and over again. One summer, Rena Mason was reading several books that did not fit completely in one genre or another.

She did not understand why the authors could not add in a bit of science fiction, mystery and murder, and horror. Reading Sue Miller’s work, she felt like she could write a book just like it and make it a lot better.

She also wanted to write a work that came with surprising turns and twists. She was bummed when she read “Angels & Demons” by Dan Brown and found there were no demons and angels in it. She thus decided to pen her own work.

Like many aspiring authors, Rena Mason penned her first manuscript and submitted it to an agent and was promptly turned down.

She got between 30-50 rejections and since her manuscript was something of a personal story, she put it away while she contemplated her next steps.

When she ultimately wrote “Evolutionist” she was sure that it was a great story and pitched it at a fancy convention. Several agents showed interest but she realized she was not yet ready just when she was about to submit it.

Rather than be rejected she decided to find an editor. Online she had become familiar with horror editorR.J. Cavender and sought to have him edit her work.

Mason believed that if she could convince the freelance editor that her work was actually horror rather than mainstream or science fiction, maybe he would get on board.

She needed his help in editing and polishing her novel to make it ready for submission to a publisher. Moreover, an editor had connections that she could introduce her to.

She was glad that she opted to work with R.J. as his editing work ultimately made her into a published author. “The Evolutionist” was finally published in 2013.

Rena Mason’s novel “The Evolutionist” introduces Stacy Troy, a down-to-earth socialite in Las Vegas.

Recently, she has been having nightmares in which she believes everyone is dead. She constantly has nosebleeds and hears head-splitting alarms that no one else can hear.

In her dreams, she sees herself dismembering bodies, stuffing them into a shopping cart, and taking them in pairs to a pile to be cremated as their last goodbye.

Every night, she wakes up screaming and she believes she is experiencing some early form of mid-life crisis which forces her to start seeing a psychiatrist.

But even though Dr. Light seems like a bizarre man, her circumstances soon improve showing that his treatments are effective.

But soon enough the nightmares are back worse than they were before. She is not sure what to believe and can only continue living her life as she remembers how.

Despite all her efforts, her bizarre nocturnal world keeps coming back showing her terrible images. These would ultimately be the clue that would result in a shocking discovery.

These discoveries will threaten to unravel what is left of her sanity forcing her to come to make a heartrending choice.

“East End Girls” is a novel by Rena Mason, the three-time Bram Stoker award-winning novelist. It provides some interesting and unique perspectives on some of the most written and most infamous murders in history.

East End in Victorian London is in the grip of mass hysteria following the brutal killings perpetrated by Jack the Ripper. This has pushed the economic hub towards ruin making the lives of everyone difficult.

Elizabeth Covington has been struggling to follow in the footsteps of her illustrious father. But she is not giving up and decides to take up an offer to practice medicine to practice in Whitechapel the neglected and dangerous district.

One night, she meets a man she believes could be Jack and this triggers a downward spiral that results in evil so profound than she could have ever imagined. It does seem that she is the only one that can get into the mind of the vicious killer.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rena Mason

Leave a Reply