Book Notification

Rene Denfeld Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Naomi Cottle Books

The Child Finder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Butterfly Girl (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Enchanted (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleeping Giants (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The New Victorians (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
All God's Children (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kill the Body, the Head Will Fall (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ask Me Why I Hurt (With: Randy Christensen) (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Moms Don't Have Time To(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rene Denfeld is a licensed detective and a renowned American author. She has won numerous book awards including an ALA Medal in the Fiction category, the French Prix Award and several recognition honors for her excellent works of fiction. Her writing inspiration mainly derives from the years she spent helping kids heal from traumatic street experiences, studying death row inmates and investigating hundreds of criminal cases including assisting innocent victims to get justice in Oregon, USA. Rene has written two revered novels namely: The Enchanted (Harper 2014), and The Child Finder published by (Harper 2014, and 2017) respectively. Besides writing Rene help destitute and downtrodden children find stable homes from foster care. Her style of writing combines literal prowess and social justice hope and crime. Additionally, Denfeld has written for the Oregonian, The New York Times Magazine, and the Philadelphia Inquirer.

Rene Denfeld Best Books
The Enchanted
In this grim and haunting tale, the outline sets in an old, populated prison. The author tries to camouflage the narrative with paragraphs of magical realism to contrast the horrendous surroundings, with little effort. The plot intensifies the stark evils in this fast-paced thriller. The enchanted presents an old stone prison, seen through the experiences of a death row jailbird who fills his time reading books and fantasizing outside of his miserable life. He makes up stories of his fellow inmates as he observes their daily routine. Besides writing imaginative stories, the narrator finds escape in his books through fear and seclusion; he has intuitional gifts therefore able to see what others cannot. As a confined helpless soul, he invents magical visions of beautiful, bright horses galloping beneath the prison grounds melting away the sturdy metal bars and eliminating the rot within the treacherous walls.

Only two civilians frequent the secluded penitentiary: an ex-priest and the female investigator who examines the past convict’s cases to save those facing current execution sentences. The officer digs into the background of an inmate known as York. She discovers shocking truths that challenge the perceptions of criminal activity, corruption and psychological effects that surround hard knocks such as these condemned comrades. The investigator also discovers some of her struggles and damning secrets that she’s managed to hide for so long, but they’ve since come to light. This book presents an excellently written imaginative story that transcends humanity and reminds us how love conquers all even the most brutal and unpleasant circumstances.

The Child Finder
It’s been three years since Madison Culver vanished when her family was picking a Christmas tree in Oregon’s Skookum National Forest. She would be eight years now—if she was/is still alive. Frantic to locate their adored little girl, sure that somebody took her, the Culvers call on Naomi, a private agent with an uncanny ability for finding lost persons. Known to the police and a select gathering of guardians as The Child Finder, Naomi is their last expectation, their only hope of finding little Madi. Naomi’s precise task takes her deep into the secretive, cold woods in the Pacific Northwest, and into her unresolved past. She resonates with young girls like Madison because she’s been there too, a lost naïve child as well.

As Naomi progressively seeks after and slowly but inevitably reveals the secret behind Madison’s vanishing, shards of a broken dream pierce the barriers that have ensured her, helping her to remember an outrageous misfortune she senses, yet cannot remember. On the off chance that she discovers Madison, will Naomi at last open the secrets of her own life? Naomi has experienced some horrible encounters in her past, and we get this all through the story. She often handles just a single case at any given moment, and this prime case will be that of a missing five-year-old little girl. Naomi’s past has made her an unyielding detective, ready to sort out things others cannot fathom, yet.

The story setting and season makes the entire book a superbly written work. Rene demonstrates that everybody has shrouded layers. Many have had horrific encounters in life, and have discovered extraordinary ways of managing them. This concerns the sexual assault of young kids beautifully written in non-offensive text. What a splendid read!

All God’s Children
Jessica Kate Williams died in 2003, in the most horrendous ways imaginable. James Daniel Nelson was guilty of this, and another murder committed back in 1992. Nevertheless, he was not physically responsible for executing the heinous act on Jessica’s death Jessica. His family did it for him. However, how could he have such stanch control over twelve other homeless kids? This book explores deep into the bleak and violent domain of street clans. Denfeld clarifies how James, better known as Thantos, was the “father” of the street kids in Portland, Oregon. In the 1990’s Portland was extremely tolerant of these misfits. They rushed to Pioneer Square, begged and clashed among themselves, and occasionally robbed naïve outsiders. Many of their wrongdoings went unreported by the media. By 2003, there was more organized street clans that typically adopted a parent figure who made the “children” beg during the day and collect the cash from them. A small misunderstanding could make a lurid teenager dead within minutes!

This novel is about how youngsters find themselves in these packs, usually the unruly kids without a sense of purpose following and obeying savage rules from a complete stranger. James Nelson’s primary goal was to make the city his permanent home. For whatever length of time that he had individuals to beg and run errands for him, he could do this. Denfeld demonstrates to us that these children are tricked into assuming they are protected, when indeed even a false allegation can get them killed. The depictions of torture and murder in this book, as given by witnesses, are matter-of-certainty yet extremely infuriating. An appalling section of the book was the description of Jessica William’s death. It’s disturbing to realize that there are such remorseless and revolting individuals out there. Denfeld aimed to expose the reality of neglected street families.

Rene Denfeld spent over ten years following the development of street kids’ culture. She found that most of these teenagers come from stable homes in a middle-class setting. However, they have left those homes to create separate groups with obsessive behavior queer orders, codes of conduct, jargon, and inhumane living standards. She uncovers the extremes to which urgent young people will go in their desire to have a sense of belonging, and fabricate a powerful and disturbing case that these individuals have developed into a dim inversion of the perfect American dream.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rene Denfeld

Leave a Reply