Book Notification

Rex Graves Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rex Graves Mystery Books

Christmas is Murder (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Raw (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phi Beta Murder (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Moor (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder of the Bride (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Dolphin Inn (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Say Murder With Flowers (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Say Goodbye to Archie (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Midnight (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Comes Calling (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prelude To Murder (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Judgment of Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Upstaged by Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rex Graves Mysteries is a book series written by C.S.Challinor. This series consists of 12 books released between 2008 and 2016. It is based on a story of Rex Graves, a law graduate from Edinburgh University. He trained as a solicitor with the international firm of Browne, Quiggley and Squire from 1982 to 1984. Rex deviled for the Hon.Lord Ferguson and Wlain Reid QC from 1984 to 1985. In 1987, he got married to his beloved Fiona May who dies of breast cancer. His son, born in 1988 is presently attending Hilliard University. He is studying marine science and pursuing an independent study in birds on non-feather type. Rex became an advocate and the Queen`s Counsel in 2003. He is a specialist in criminal litigation and prosecutes at the High Court Judiciary in Edinburgh. Rex Graves meets Helen D’Arcy a student counselor in Derby, England and solves her case on Swanmere Manor Murders. He is 6’4’’, stocky built, red haired and ginger bearded with green eyes. He often holds a pipe in his hand while maintaining a skeptical look. He prefers a tweeted jacket, corduroys and Hush Puppies as his casual wear. He likes Soduku, Crossword puzzles and reading Latin. He likes hiking, American food and whisky tastings. Rex fears horses and going nude on public beaches. He is also allergic to snobs and cats. Author C.S.Challinor has modeled a lawyer character who is called upon to solve a series of cases in 12 books.

Christmas is Murder is the Pioneer book, published in 2008 by Midnight Ink. This book is all about being stranded with a killer on a festive season. Apparently, not even a blizzard can keep Rex Graves away from Swanmere Manor murders. This is a secluded Victorian hotel in the English countryside owned by Dahlia Smithings. Christmas celebrations go sour after the Scottish finds a dead guest. It is either stroke or an almond tart laced with poison that killed Mr.Lawdry. This is followed by more death cases which sweep away the Christmas mood completely. Everyone is terrified and seems like they cannot escape the killer. Rex Graves take it upon himself to unravel the mystery. There might be more clues based on charred remains of one victim in the fire place. Suspects include be the sherry-swilling handyman, a gay antique with the biting wit. It could also be the quarreling newlyweds or even Helen D`Arcy who Rex seems to be falling for. Rex has to unravel the web to find this serial killer. Christmas is Murder reached number in the Kindle Bestseller List.

Murder in the Raw is the 2nd book in the series, published in 2009. Rex Graves flies to the Caribbean paradise of St. Martin for an investigation after a beautiful French actress Sabin Durand disappears mysteriously. Apparently this Scottish barrister is uniformed of a large number of people walking around with starkers along the island sand beaches. He later learns that Sabine was staying at an exclusive nudist resort. He then walks in to interview one of Sabine’s friends among the brazenly exposed body parts. He finds out that everyone is hiding something including her rich older husband, a sexy self-made millionaire and an influential land developer on the island with a fetish for jewelry, Monsieur Bijou. Rex unravels the mysteries in order to bring the culprit to justice. This book is rooted with mystery involving colorful characters. Author Challinor hits bar in terms of mystery, humor, twists and nudity storytelling.

The 5th book in the series, Murder of the Bride was a Mystery Guild Book Club pick and made Top Five Books in 2011 Selection by Crime Fiction Lover. The Scottish barrister, Rex Graves and his fiancée travel to Aston-on-Trent in Derbyshire, England to attend a wedding ceremony of one of Helen’s former students. Polly, the bride is very pregnant and the groom, Timmy looks a bit peaked which cause Rex to be skeptical about the success of this marriage. The scene turns from a pleasant celebration to mayhem when Polly collapses, looking a bit green. The vicar and Victoria, the bride’s mother soon fall ill. Apparently, food poisoning might be the cause. There are also indications of mischief like the disappearance of the bride and groom figures from the top of the cake and theft of some valuable collectables. Plus Pollys long lost father makes to the scene when a body is found on the bottom tower. Rex has to determine who among the sniping wedding guests is a killer within this traditional mystery. This is a very intriguing and entertaining case for Rex Graves.

The other highly rated books in the series are Murder Comes Calling, Murder at the Dolphin Inn and Say Goodbye to Archie mini-mystery. The 6th book in the series Murder in the Dolphin Inn, published in 2012, the author talks about a clown murder mystery. Rex and his fiancée come across a bizarre double murder while disembarking in Key West during a cruise to Mexico. Apparently the two victims, Merle and Taffy Dyer dressed up as clowns were the owners of the Dolphin Inn. The infamous and resourceful Rex is forced to abandon his cruise and delve into murder instead. He has to find out the killer among the guests, friends, family and foes. Say Goodbye to Archie is the 8th book featured as the last 3rd mini-series after the 6th novel. This intriguing novel, published was in 2013. It talks about a murder case in the idyllic English village of Woodley. Rex takes on an unconventional case where he investigates about the murder of a pet. A renowned writer’s muse and beloved companion is lying dead. Rex travels by train from Edinburgh to the East Essex to find the killer. Events turn downright nasty as neighbor and family members turn on each other.

Murder Comes Calling is the 12th book in the series, published in 2015. Rex Graves is called upon to lend his investigation expertise when four murders take place in a secluded English community. The sales made on the victim’s homes is the main link to their murders. The locals authorities arrest a shady house agent as Rex finds letters written in blood on the bodies which point him to a different killer. Rex digs into the past and discovers that the victims were not who they appeared to be. Rex must try to solve this murder mystery before her fiancée comes back. Rex Graves Mystries is an excellent series especially for lovers of murder mysteries.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Rex Graves Mysteries

Leave a Reply