Book Notification

Ribbons of Steel Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ribbons of Steel Books

By: Judith Pella, Tracie Peterson
Distant Dreams (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Hope Beyond (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Promise for Tomorrow (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ribbons of Steel by Tracie Peterson
Authors Tracie Peterson and Judith Pella write the “Ribbons of Steel” series of inspirational and historical romance novels. The series began publication in the year 1997, when the novel “Distant Dreams” was released. That same year, a sequel was released. After three novels, the series concluded in the year 1998, when “A Promise for Tomorrow” was released.

The series is centered around the building of the railroad during the American expansion westward during the mid-1800s. The books span generations and they tell the perils of building the railroads. The saga starts in 1835 and wrap up right around the start of the Civil War. The novels also feature some encounters with historical figures. It stars Carolina Adams and James Baldwin as the two have their romance with each other and get married.

Both of the authors enjoy researching the historical and geographical aspects found in the novels, particularly when they are able to combine it with skillful storytelling and emotionally meaningful characters and stories.

A sequel series, called “Ribbons West”, was published, and also has three books in it, which Tracie Peterson and Judith Pella also wrote. It stars the children in this series when they are all grown up. The series began publication in the year 1998, with the release of “Westward the Dream”. It concluded in the year 2000, when “Ties That Bind” was released.

“Distant Dreams” is the first novel in the “Ribbons of Steel” series and was released in the year 1997. It was only her dad that understood her love of the unknown as well as the promise of Distant Dreams.

Carolina Adams, who is fifteen years old, gets caught up in the excitement of America’s westward expansion in the year 1835 and quickly falls in love with the railroad. She lives in a society that looks down upon such aspirations in a woman, she longs to study much more masculine subjects like advanced mathematics and science.

Right out of college, James has to figure out if he wants to join his dad in the banking industry or if he would rather pursue his fascination with the railroad business. While he recovers from an injury he suffered when a train derailed, James takes a tutoring job at the Adams’ plantation, and he will serve as Carolina’s teacher. Much more important to his family, however, he is going to court Carolina’s gorgeous older sister, Virginia.

Overwhelmed by her dad’s surprise of a tutor, Carolina applies herself in her studies, and at the same time, Virginia uses every single one of her southern charms to get a marriage proposal out of James. Carolina’s and James’ mutual interests lead to some unexpected feelings for each other, where are their dreams going to take them then?

Some found the twists and turns throughout the entire story made it tough to put the book down and them on the edge of their seats the whole way through. It does a nice job of mixing romance and historical and all of these characters are quite lovable and well developed. Fans liked how the historical facts were worked in and how the story displays the struggles all the characters go through. The story does not overplay the religious elements, nor does any of it come off as contrived or corny. The book is recommended for those who enjoy books by Tracie Peterson and/or those who enjoy clean wholesome reading.

“A Hope Beyond” is the second novel in the “Ribbons of Steel” series and was released in the year 1997. Carolina, who faces personal tragedy as well as the loss of her own true love, struggles in finding A Hope Beyond.

Carolina Adams hung on to the distant dream of America’s westward expansion through the railroad as the promise of a brighter future. She finds her life at Oakbridge, which is the family plantation, close to unbearable. Faced with injustices and overwhelming tragedies, not to mention the loss of her first true love, Carolina battles through all of her broken dreams in order to find a hope beyond.

After James Baldwin broke off his wedding engagement with Carolina’s older sister, Virginia, he immerses himself into his work for B&O Railroad, which is the other passion in his life at the moment besides Carolina. Yet while he helps building the line west out to Cumberland, some unforeseen forces work on keeping both him and Carolina apart forever.

Desperate to escape from the painful situation back at home, Carolina moves to Baltimore and becomes a nanny to Victoria, who is a young girl whose mom has died. The child’s future becomes entwined with Carolina’s own through a stunning business proposal from Victoria’s brooding and dark dad, Carolina has to choose between the fate of the innocent kid and her personal aspirations for love.

Fans found the book had some lovable characters, especially Victoria. With some of the historical elements, some readers were curious enough to do some independent research on Andrew Jackson, on his personal life and Presidency. Readers enjoyed the pacing and found their attention was undivided while reading this book.

“A Promise for Tomorrow” is the third novel in the “Ribbons of Steel” series and was released in the year 1998. James Baldwin takes a new job with the B&O Railroad, he and Carolina decide to move from Baltimore take their growing family to a tiny rural town in the Allegheny Mountains.

Victoria, Carolina’s stepdaughter, gets enthralled with a handsome Irish Railroad work named Kiernan. Are the upper-class Baldwins even going to consider him as a suitor for their daughter? Tensions rise among the workers, will James be able to stop a destructive plan before it becomes too late?

The books provide a vivid painting of all the tribulations and trials of the building of the railroad and is intertwined with a true love story. Fans found this to be a great read, with an inspirational and positive message throughout the entire book. Readers enjoyed reading James and Carolina’s real love story from the beginning. These authors have delivered something magnificent, exciting, and well written.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ribbons of Steel

2 Responses to “Ribbons of Steel”

  1. Michelle: 2 years ago

    After the book A Promise for Tomorrow there’s a book with Victoria and Kiernan Jordana and Brenton when they are older and I was wondering the name of it and is it the next book after A Promise of Tomorrow

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Hi Michelle – I have researched it and I am only seeing the three above books within that series.


Leave a Reply