Book Notification

Richard B. Wright Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of James Hillyer Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Weekend Man (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
In The Middle Of A Life (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Farthings Fortunes (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Final Things (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Teacher's Daughter (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tourists (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunset Manor (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Age of Longing (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clara Callan (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Adultery (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Shakespeare's Bastard (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Life with Words (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Scotiabank Giller Prize 15 Years: An Anthology of Prize-Winning Canadian Fiction.(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Richard B. Wright was a renowned Canadian writer and multiple award-winning novelist, best known for writing historical fiction, cultural, literary fiction, and contemporary novels. He was particularly popular for his breakthrough novel called Clara Callan, which was published in 2001. This novel is the winner of three of the most prestigious Canadian literary awards: the Governor General’s Award, Trillium Book Award, and the Giller Prize. The other notable works of author Wright include The Weekend Man, Mr. Shakespeare’s Bastard, Adultery, October, Nightfall, and several others. Wright was born on March 4, 1937, in Midland, Ontario, Canada. His parents, Laura and Laverne, were from the middle-class background. Wright completed his high school graduation in 1956 from Midland High School. Later, he attended the Ryerson Polytechnic Institute and graduated in 1959 with a degree in Radio & TV arts. Immediately after his graduation, Wright started working for as a copywriter for local radio stations and newspapers. In 1960, he became an assistant editor at Macmillan Canada.

Wright met and married his future wife named Phyllis Cotton in 1966. The couple became the parents of two sons named Richard Andrew and Christopher Stephen. When Wright was working at Macmillan, he wrote and released his first book. It was a children’s book called Andrew Tolliver. The book was renamed as One John A Too Many in its subsequent editions. Author Wright wrote his debut full-length novel in a period of 18 months while he stayed at the family cottage of his wife in Quebec. The book, Weekend Man, became an instant and a critical success. It won him praise for his versatility and his ability for creating believable and excellent female characters. In 1970, Wright decided to return to college and continue with his post-secondary studies. He joined the Trent University and obtained a BA degree in English in 1972. Four years later, Wright joined a private school called Ridley College and obtained a teaching position. He remained a teacher of English until he took retirement.

Although many of Wright’s initial novels were nominated for a few literary awards, he did not gain recognition as a noteworthy author until he came up with Clara Callan in 2001. This book not only won his major literary awards, but also helped him get noticed by major publishers, who republished his earlier novels. Most of the literary works of author Wright deal with ordinary people’s lives. They have a profound balance of sensitivity and depth. Wright was particularly praised for his ability to create believable characters that have voices that need to be heard. The Montreal Gazette has praised his work by stating that he has the capability to write masterful novels that confirm his ability of evoking an authentic female sensibility.

Wright’s most recent novel, Mr. Shakespeare Bastard, has gained recognition as a book that draws the readers swiftly through its pages. Wright’s narratives about pure life and character backgrounds have helped him gain much wider recognition as a noteworthy novelist from Canada. Today, his novels continue to get published throughout the world. The Tent University awarded Wright an Honorary Doctorate of Letters in 2006, and a year later, he was included as an Order of Canada member. Wright used to live in St. Catharines, Ontario. He used to write full-length novels from the comfort of his home and often participated in recreational pastimes like reading, walking, and listening to music. Wright’s death occurred on February 7, 2017, in St. Catharines due to a stroke.

A popular book penned by author Richard B. Wright in his writing career is entitled ‘Clara Callan’. It was released by the Harper Perennial publication in 2001. The setting takes place in Ontario, Canada during the 1930s and features the primary characters in the roles of Clara Callan, Nora Callan, and a few others. Initially, it is depicted that Clara and Nora live in a small Canadian town. When Nora is about to leave for New York, Clara takes her leave reluctantly. The time is such that Europe is facing fascism’s growing threat and it begins to become a constant worry for many. People try to escape from this reality through movies and radio. Nora and Clara have different personalities, but they share a past. They try to discover their places within a complex web of young women’s social expectations.

Nora goes on to cherish a glamorous career in the field of radio soap operas. On the other hand, Clara continues to be an independent-minded and strong woman. She remains in the close-knit community of her small town and struggles to observe its traditional boundaries. However, she does not relinquish her dreams of freedom, adventure, and love. Things turn out to be a lot more different than appear to be. Nora’s frequent letters Clara reveal that living in a big city is not as exotic as people expect it to be. Also, the tranquil solitude of the life of Clara is shattered by several unforeseeable events. The unexpected twists require Clara to gather all her strength and courage, and put her unbreakable bond with her sister to test.

Another excellent novel written by Wright is known as ‘October’. It was published in 2007 by the HarperCollins Canada publication. It features the main characters in the roles of James Hillyer, Odette, Susan Hillyer, and Gabriel Fontaine. This coming-of-age tale is set in Quebec during the Second World War and revolves around a man looking for answers about his life. The novel opens by showing that James Hillyer visits England to meet his gravely ill daughter named Susan. On this trip, James, who is a retired professor of the Victorian literature, comes across a man by chance whom he knew when he was a boy. The man is Gabriel Fontaine, an attractive and rich American, who James Hillyer met during a summer holiday in Gaspe. In his adolescence, James was attracted as well as repelled by the charm and cocksure attitude of Gabriel. He was also in love with a French-Canadian girl named Odette. After meeting Gabriel 6 decades later, James is asked by him to join him an unthinkable final journey. This chance encounter with Gabriel and the subsequent journey makes James believe that the beginnings and endings of a person’s life have an inexorable linkage.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Richard B. Wright

Leave a Reply