Book Notification

Richard Bach Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Aviation Books

Stranger to the Ground (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon
Biplane (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing by Chance (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Ferret Chronicles Books

Rescue Ferrets at Sea (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Air Ferrets Aloft (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writer Ferrets Chasing the Muse (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rancher Ferrets on the Range (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last War (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Curious Lives (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Illusions Books

Illusions: The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Illusions II: The Adventures of a Reluctant Student (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Jonathan Livingston Seagull (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Gift of Wings (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
There's No Such Place As Far Away (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
One (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Running from Safety (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hypnotizing Maria (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Life with My Guardian Angel (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Bridge Across Forever: A True Love Story (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of My Mind: The Discovery of Saunders-Vixen (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Messiah's Handbook: Reminders for the Advanced Soul (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thank Your Wicked Parents (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Travels with Puff: A Gentle Game of Life and Death (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Richard Bach is an inspirational author native to Oak Park Illinois.
As a young man, he attended Long Beach State College and it was here that his love of flying became evident. Many of his works usually draw their inspiration from real life events in his life. Since aviation has always been a passion, most of his works are related to aviation in some way.

It was his school teachers that made him realize that he had a talent for writing. He then combined his talent for writing and his love for aviation to become a bestselling author.

“Stranger to Ground,” his debut novel, was on the same theme of flying and he has never stopped since. He has become one of the most popular inspirational authors with several bestselling titles to his name.

Before he became an author, Richard Bach served in the National Guard in New Jersey and in the Navy Reserve of the United States. During this time, he became one of the most accomplished fighter pilots, piloting a “Republic F-84F Thunderstreak.”

Bach would then work several jobs including being “Flying” magazine’s writer and contributing editor and “Douglas Aircraft’s” technical writer. He went on to serve in the US Air Force reserve and became a barnstormer while he was deployed in France.

He traveled to Ireland with Chris Cagle, his friend and together they made flying sequences for a movie. He also had the honor of flying several World War I aircraft in the collection of Lynn Garrison, a former RCAF pilot.

“Stranger to the Ground” his debut book was an autobiographical novel he published in 1963. It was a description of his experiences deployed with the Air National Guard Unit in France. But it was with the publishing of his second novel “Jonathan Living Seagull” that he came into his own.

The book broke all manner of records as it sold more than million copies beating “Gone with the Wind.” It would also be made into a film by Paramount Pictures.

On the personal front, Richard Bach is a married man with six children. He has said that Betty, his wife, was responsible for much of the editing of his books. But since Richard never believed in marriage they divorced in 1970.

Bach got married to Leslie Parrish, an actress he met while he was shooting the film for “Jonathan Livingston Seagull.” Parrish would become an important part of his later career, as he started writing novels about the concept of soul mates and relationships.

Still, the second marriage did not last and by 1999 he was divorced yet again and later in the same year he got married to Sabryna Nelson-Alexopoulos. Richard has at some point claimed to be descended from Jonathan Sebastina Bach, but this has not been proven.

“Air Ferrets Aloft” by Richard Bach is the story of the captain and pilot of a cargo freighter named Stormy Ferret. She has become known as Stormy since no matter the weather, she can always be counted upon to deliver her freight on time.

She believes her dependability is her destiny until she gets into a supernatural tempest while on a run from Seattle to Salinas.
Captain Strobe Ferret who is flying his sleek Ferrjet north is caught in similarly violent weather. He is the chief pilot of MusTelCo, whose experience flying for the giant had made him calm regardless of the weather.

The two met in a powerful twin storm and they had encouraged each other to survive through the violent storm. What had been mere coincidence soon turns to destiny, as they fight with violent winds and downpours to a meeting at an unscheduled landing that will change both their lives.

It is a tale of commitment and skill as destiny is set in motion by paranormal forces from another dimension.

Richard Bach’s novel “Rescue Ferrets at Sea” is an interesting novel of boldness and courage in the most unexpected circumstances. While relatively unknown, The Ferret Rescue Service operates on the high seas, assisting the Coastal Patrol and the Coast Guard of all countries.

The ferrets are charged with rescuing seagoing animals just as human organizations rescue anyone caught in storms or other disasters and accidents at sea. Captain Bethany Ferret had risen from humble beginnings and now commands what had once been a derelict ship named the J-boat Resolute.

They usually measure their days by lives saved from storms, by ships in distress and the many storms at sea. Whenever a siren shrieks through the night, she usually jumps up and gets everyone ready to help any vessel in distress.

Soon after, they are rushing through the screaming wind and battling swells hoping to save any desperate creatures in the frothy waters. During such times, the lines between death and life are usually drawn by how courageous the ferret can be.

“Writer Ferrets” by Richard Bach is the story of Budgeron, a man struggling to write a classic ferret story. He wants to write a story so finely wrought and so rich that it will set the world of ferret literature on fire.

By day he happens to be a writer of kits magazines writing adventure stories. During the night he invokes Where Ferrets Walk’s Count Urbain de Rothskit. After writing what he believes is a near perfect first sentence, he just cannot seem to get any more words to come out.

Meanwhile, Danielle, his mate who happens to be a pedicurist that writes for fun, cannot hold back the words as she writes page-turner romance stories. She is writing about a mesmerizing, naughty and willful animal named Veronique Sibhoan Ferret that she hopes will hold her readers in thrall one day.

Danielle and Budgeron are aspiring writer ferrets that follow their destinies in quiet rooms even as they accumulate their rejection slips and look forward to one day becoming published authors.

It is a tale about the search for what is truly meaningful in life. It is about the struggle to pursue a dream and free the inner voice that pushes us to be the best we can be.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Richard Bach

Leave a Reply