Book Notification

Richard Herman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jack Locke Books

Publication Order of Madeline Turner Books

The Power Curve (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edge of Honor (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Phoenix (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Matt Pontowski Books

Firebreak (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Call to Duty / Mosquito Run (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Wing (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Iron Gate (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Phoenix (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Against All Enemies (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trojan Sea (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Far Justice (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Peacemakers (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trash Haulers (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The China Sea (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Richard Herman, or Dick as he prefers to be called, used to be an officer in the Air Force who was a weapons systems officer on F-4s and navigated on C-130s. Herman retired, in the year 1983, with the rank of major after twenty-one years of service. He did two tours on active duty in Southeast Asia and did a total of 240 combat missions during his time in the Air Force. He also taught a course at the Air Force Academy and was an operations plans officer.

Since retiring from his post, he writes about all of the fabulous aircraft that he used to fly around in and has written over a dozen novels. He uses all of his experiences to tell interesting stories about what someone who flies planes for the military can get into and what it is like to pilot one of them. This includes both “Power Curve” and “The Warbirds”, two critically acclaimed novels that have been read world wide, even the White House, Poland, United Kingdom, and Japan. “The Warbirds” was his debut novel that came out in 1989, that proved that he had had what it took to make it as an author. He is author of the “Jack Locke” series, the “Matt Pontowski” series, and the “Madeline Turner” trilogy of novels. He has also written some stand alone novels. All of which are considered techno thrillers.

He writes in Fulsom, California, where he lives, and loves to sail on the water in small crafts.

“Firebreak” is the first novel in the “Matt Pontowski” series that was released in 1991. Syria’s army, with the help of a rebuilt Iraq, challenges Israel, once again. The Iraqis have cooked up a brand new nerve gas that is lethal and a delivery system that goes right into Israel. The Israelis, who are about to lose horribly, are about to go down swinging. With the help of nuclear weapons. America’s president gives Israel aid in the form of sending them some F-15s to keep them from destroying the entire planet by using weapons of mass destruction. One of the pilots is the president’s own grandson, Matt Pontowski, who is a tough young and brash pilot. His presence is welcomed as a sign that the president is committed to helping Israel in the fight. Matt becomes something of a handicap though, when he falls for an Israeli woman who can’t figure out who she is more loyal to.

Fans of the novel enjoyed the thrilling story line, that had a good dash of romance thrown in. It lived up to their expectations and was better than some of the greats in the techno thriller genre. Some enjoyed the novel for the way the author puts you right in the middle of all of the action and the story, as though you are right there with the people trying to prevail over evil. Some fans found that before they read this, they were into Dale Brown or Tom Clancy, but they were turned into fans of Herman after reading this one. There was great technical descriptions of the electronics found on the aircraft that really helps get you into the mindset of one of these pilots and what they will be using while in the cockpit of one of these air crafts.

Some readers did not like how many typos that were in the book, finding that it was a little distracting seeing so many in one novel. Some found that the novel was bad to the point that they almost stopped reading the book. Some also found that there was not a lot of rhyme or reason in how the book is put together; feeling that things just happen and the author jumps from one thing to another from one paragraph to the next. Some felt that Herman failed to capture what it is like to be in one of these planes and makes it feel like you are in some cheap plastic model. There were scenes that just fell flat for some readers that they actually considered putting the book away to read something else.

“Call to Duty” is the second novel in the “Matt Pontowski” series that was released in 1993. This novel shows part of Zack Pontowski, the current president and grandfather of Matt Pontowski. Zack Pontowski was a pilot in the second world war, and at the beginning was almost shot down. In modern day, brutal pirates kidnap a group of wealthy spoiled brats who are taking a trip on the Andaman Sea. What seems to be two unrelated events that happen fifty years apart, Zack orders the rescue of the Americans. During the rescue, Zack remembers part of what happened earlier, and the two events converge and make a lot more sense. The world of special operations, a unique one no doubt, is shown; as is a very successful aircraft that was used during World War II, the de Havilland Mosquito, often called the Wooden Wonder or the highly regarded “Mossie”.

Fans of the novel liked the way the novel covers some modern day issues and the believable story that the author is able to write. Readers enjoyed in the strong characters that seem real as they are faced with real situations and does a good job of showing how they handle things. Some enjoyed the way the author shows the back story of Matt’s grandfather Zack. This novel leaves readers wanting more from the author, especially from this series. Fans enjoyed the way that there are two stories being told here, and they go together but they also are great by themselves as well. Some felt that they were very intrigued with this novel’s story and could not wait for more from this series.

Some readers did not like the fact that once again Herman is writing about a rescue that these pilots do. Some did not like that only Zack is in the book and not his grandson. Some did not like the political parts of the novel and found that they skimmed most of the novel as a result. Some felt that the novel would have worked better if the story was a stand alone novel, or at least something just for Zack.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Richard Herman

2 Responses to “Richard Herman”

  1. SGM (ret) Paul Madigan: 2 years ago

    I have just finished reading “The China Sea” and would like to know if there is a follow on to that book. The epilog seems to imply that there is another book that follows the end of China Sea. It was a great read and I hope that this is just a first of an ongoing series with the same characters.

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Hi Paul -there isn’t a follow up at this time.


Leave a Reply