Book Notification

Richard L. Mabry Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Prescription For Trouble Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Critical Condition (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatal Trauma (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miracle Drug (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Night, Deadly Night (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Medical Judgment (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor's Dilemma (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cardiac Event (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Surgeon's Choice (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guarded Prognosis (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emergency Case (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bitter Pill (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Critical Decision (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Tender Scar: Life After the Death of a Spouse (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Lessons: Early Blog Posts (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Richard L. Mabry is one of the renowned authors from The United States, who is famous for writing novels based on the Christian theme. He is an M.D. and uses his experience to develop medical suspense books. Author Mabry used to work as a physician before becoming an author. He is known to have practiced medicine for around 36 years. In addition to this, author Mabry was also a deacon in a Baptist church for more than 40 years. As an author, he achieved a lot of popularity for writing and publishing the suspense series called Prescription For Trouble. The novels of this series became very much successful all over the world and helped him to gain prominence in the field of writing. Apart from writing suspense books, author Mabry likes to enjoy reading and golfing in his free time. He also likes to spend some relaxing time with her family at a certain holiday destination. Author Mabry began his writing career in the year 2006. In that same year, he wrote and released his debut book in the nonfiction category titled as ‘The Tender Scar : Life After the Death of a Spouse’. He had written this book after losing his beloved wife. In the plot of the book, author Mabry has described all his personal experiences and true emotions which he went through after the death of his wife. The first novel that he wrote was titled as Code Blue and it was published in the year 2010. This was also the debut book that started his well known Prescription For Trouble Series.

Author Mabry says that in his past life, he was involved with the US Air Force in an overseas stint for a short time. His stints in other career paths apart from medicine include being an interim minister, working as a semi pro baseball player, etc. He completed his Bachelor of Arts degree from the North Texas University. After that, he obtained his MD degree from the Southwestern Medical School at the Texas University. Later, author Mabry went on to receive special training in Otolaryngology from two of the major teaching hospitals located in Virginia and Parkland, in Dallas. Following this, he went on to serve in the field of medicine and continued with it for 36 years. During this period, he wrote and edited a total of 8 books. He even authored more than a 100 professional papers. Author Mabry was also invited as a guest speaker in various parts of the world. Also, he was the president or vice president of 3 professional societies all these years. For his vast contribution and dedicated efforts on the professional level, author Mabry was awarded with numerous awards and honors. However, in spite of all the achievements in his life, he believes that his greatest reward in the field of medicine is to see his patients become better under his care. Whenever author Mabry gets spare time from his work, he likes to play golf. Usually, he does golfing once every week and he has been doing this with the same partner for the last 10 years. He and his partner do not keep score and like to enjoy the time together as fellow golfers. As far as his reading hobby is concerned, he likes to read mainly fiction books. More recently, he has started reading nonfiction books as well.

Author Mabry followed Christianity for more than 6 decades. As a church deacon, he used to serve as a teacher on Sundays and sing in the choir. Recently, he became a member of the community of the Stonebriar Church, which is located in Frisco, Texas. He goes there regularly to hear the preachings of Dr. Chuck Swindoll. When author Mabry was serving in the Air Force of the United States, he held the rank of a Captain for a period of 3 years. He was stationed at Lajes Field, Azores, North Atlantic, which was under the possession of the Portuguese. On one occasion, author Mabry saved the life of a small Azorean girl, whose faced obstruction in her airway because of a coin. For his bravery, he received the commendation medal from the Air Force and was also written up in the Stars and Stripes. Whenever the Air Force calls all the veteran’s for recognition on the Veteran’s Day, author Mabry feels very proud to stand along with all the other veterans with whom he has served in the Air Force.

The Prescription For Trouble series written by Richard L. Mabry consists of a total of 4 books, which were released between the years 2009 and 2011. One of the popular books of this series is titled as ‘Diagnosis Death’. It was released by the Abingdon Press in the year 2011. The book opens by showing Dr. Elena Gardener as receiving threatening calls during the nights. Whichever city she goes to, she keeps getting the midnight calls, due to which she becomes grief stricken. The matter becomes even worse when her own colleagues begin to whisper about the calls. The whispers spread even more when her husband, who was in coma, dies in the ICU. Later, one more death occurs at the time of her training. People begin to talk about a mercy killer at her new hospital when another death takes place mysteriously. It wonders people as to why doesn’t she defend herself. Elena must be keeping some secret which is why she is not taking any action against what people are talking about her. A couple of physicians, who are also widows, come forward and offer help to Elena. They tell her that they know what she is going through post her husband’s death. But, she wonders whether she should trust them. The situation makes Elena trust no one except God, and He only comes to her rescue in the end.

The next book published in the series by author Mabry is known as ‘Lethal Remedy’. This book describes the story of the lead character named Dr. Sara Miles. She is depicted as having a teenage patient suffering from a deadly infection and is about to die. Sara knows that her death is certain and there is nothing that she could do to save her. She gets the idea of administering the experimental antibiotic developed by her former husband and hopes that it will save the life of the girl. However, the drug shows lethal effects on the patient because of which Sara and her colleague named Dr. Rip Pearson, are forced to go on a hunt for some hidden and critical data related to the drug. If they are able to obtain the data, they will be able to reverse the lethal effects of the antibiotic before it is too late. But, in order to so, Sara and Rip must find who has kept the important data hidden and what is the missing piece of the puzzle. In the end, the novel turns out to be a gripping story for which author Mabry was well appreciated. The critics praised him by saying that such plot could only be written by with the vast knowledge of the medical field that he possesses.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Richard L. Mabry

One Response to “Richard L. Mabry”

  1. Richard Mabry: 5 years ago

    My books can be read in any order (stand-alone novels and novellas). The data about me can be found on my web site.


Leave a Reply