Book Notification

Richard Russo Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Nobody's Fool Books

Nobody's Fool (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everybody's Fool (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Somebody's Fool (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Mysteries of Linwood Hart (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sh*tshow (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Whore's Child and Other Stories (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Interventions (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trajectory (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Elsewhere / On Helwig Street (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Destiny Thief (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marriage Story (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Triage: On Reading, Writing, and the Interior Life (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Book of Eros: Arts and Letters from Yellow Silk(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The O. Henry Prize Stories 2005(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best American Short Stories 2007(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Healing Touch(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best American Short Stories 2010(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales of Two Americas(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freeman's. Amore(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Richard Russo is a well-established author, who has penned down more than seven bestselling novels including two collections of stories and a memoir as well. In the year 2002, Richard Russo was awarded a Pulitzer Award for Empire Falls. Just like his novel, Nobody’s Fool, Empire Falls was adapted fror a screenplay by HBO. The television film became an award-winning film. Richard Ruso was born and raised in Johnston, New York. After completing his education, Richard Russo joined the University of Arizona where he was awarded an undergraduate degree, Master’s degree and finally a Doctoral degree as well. When his debut novel was published in the year 1986, Russo was a lecturer at the Southern Illinois, English department.

A majority of the author’s work is semi-autobiographical, with a bigger part of these books being drawn from his upbringing and his time as a lecturer at the Colby College. Currently, Richard Russo resides in Camden, Maine. In the year 1998, Russo co-wrote, the critically acclaimed film, Twilight together with Director Robert Benton.

Richard Russo Best Books

Empire Falls

Empire Falls is one of the most brilliantly written books by Richard Russo. In Empire Falls, Richard Russo’s trademark wry humor is all over the book, especially in the protagonist, Miles Roby, her family, friends, and neighbors as well. Miles is portrayed as the nicest and saddest man throughout the entire region of Empire Falls. Miles is given the responsibility of managing the Empire Grill, which belongs to the plutocrat, Francine Whiting. The protagonist is scraping in an economically challenged community that was at one point the thriving site of the renowned Whiting’s textile and logging mills. Miles Roby is taking care of his teenage daughter, who as expected, is maturing at a faster rate. While taking care of his daughter, Miles Roby does all he can to ensure that he stays away from the seriocomic characters. Some of the seriocomic characters include Miles Roby’s soon to be ex-wife, Janine as well as his aging fiancée, Walt Comeau.

Other characters featured in Empire Falls include Jimmy Manty, Mile’s former schoolmate, and a hard-nosed cop, David, Jimmy’s one-armed brother and Max, his widowed father. It is apparently clear that Richard Russo’s genius for loosely episodic storytelling has not faded at all. In Empire Falls the genius has been expertly yoked to numerous smartly paced parallel plots, whose ramifications and origins have been spelled out in extended flashbacks. With that said, it is important to note that despite this is not a happy story; the book contains scenes that will make the readers laugh. The book’s major tonality is that of sadness and loneliness. Empire Falls cover several generations and focus on the present. Like any other small town, Empire Falls is a town that is filled with secrets, bad people as well as good people.

All of these characters have been richly drawn. Apart from wisdom, the book is also filled with blindness, perception, long regrets and short joys. A majority of these characters make decisions and in turn get to suffer the consequences of their actions.

Richard Russo

Straight Man

Straight Man is an exceedingly funny novel from author Richard Russo. In Straight Man, author Richard Russo introduces the readers to William Henry Devereax, a writing teacher and a onetime novelist. William has just decided to settle in a beleaguered stint as the departmental head, where he finds extremely important to tread the water and go with its flow. Hank tries all he can to keep his wits by adopting the Occam’s Principle, a philosophical principle, which says the simplest explanation of a problem or a phenomenon, is usually the correct one. However, the only challenge is that his life keeps on getting in the way. Henry keeps on crushing on different women, including a daughter to one of his co-workers. This in turn, complicates his passive devotion to his rather no-nonsense wife. As Henry continues to struggle with his day-to-day life, his daughter is battling with marriage difficulties.

As the story continues, Henry’s woes continue as there is a possibility he might be developing prostate cancer. Furthermore, he is even suspecting of killing a goose. Despite the fact that the quests for priority and tenure have been generously detailed, and even though Henry’s relationship with his father reaches a satisfying conclusion, the plot is less important in a Richard Russo novel. The latest novel not only charms but also seduces with its voice; deadpan, Laconic, self-effacing and disarmingly modest. Furthermore, it is also an ideal vehicle for another of Richard Russo’s irresistible revelations of the craziness of day-to-day life.

Nobody’s Fool

Nobody’s Fool is an outstanding novel, which takes place in the year 1984, just before thanksgiving. Author Richard Russo not only pens panache but his verbal dexterity is a mixture of potent insight and biting wit. Russo also bestows his characters; blue collar individuals who live in economically desperate communities, with self-worth. Just as it is the case with his previous novels, the various events in the life of the main character are the subject of rollicking high comedy. Several disputes ensure that Sullivan is mired in bad luck, compounded by his self-destructive and stubborn streak. For many years, Sullivan has been financially unstable because he has been unemployed for quite some time.

At age 60, Sullivan is suffering from an aching knee, which was the consequent of a rather foolish accident. His ex-wife is about to have a nervous breakdown; his mistress is restive while his truck is on its last legs.

Bridge of Sighs

Bridge of Sighs is a story about Lou C. Lynch, who was raised up in New York city way before the women’s movement and the civil rights. The characters, as well as the setting, will remind the readers of the author’s Empire Falls. As Lou and Sarah prepare to travel to Italy, he recalls a childhood friend that he had always hoped to visit. Furthermore, he also recalls his average and middle-class childhood. His encounter with the people from all walks of life is a constant reminder of where he came from. With that said, Bridge of Sighs is another excellent novel from renowned author, Richard Russo.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Richard Russo

Leave a Reply