Book Notification

Richard Yancey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alfred Kropp Books

The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seal of Solomon (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Thirteenth Skull (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fifth Wave Books

The 5th Wave (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Infinite Sea (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Star (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Teddy Ruzak Books

as Richard Yancey
The Highly Effective Detective (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highly Effective Detective Goes to the Dogs (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highly Effective Detective Plays the Fool (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highly Effective Detective Crosses the Line (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Monstrumologist Books

The Monstrumologist (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curse of the Wendigo (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Isle of Blood (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Descent (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Burning in Homeland (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Confessions of a Tax Collector (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

All Good Things Come to an End(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sherlock Holmes: A Year of Mystery 1883(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sherlock Holmes: A Year of Mystery — 1882(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

An author of young adult fiction, the bestselling American writer Richard Yancey is a prolific presence within the science-fiction and fantasy genres. Having written for some time now, his books have been achieving both national and international success, with a variety of readers following his career worldwide. Also writing screenplays, he’s began to get recognition within Hollywood too, as his novel The 5th Wave has been adapted for the big screen.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1962 on the fourth of November, the American author Richard Yancey wrote his first short story whilst still in the seventh grade. Attending Crystal Lake Junior High in Florida, he went on to graduate from Lakeland Senior High School before going onto attend Florida Southern College, whereby he majored in communications for a year. Following this he transferred to Florida State University and then Roosevelt University where he got a B.A. In English.

With a long and extensive education, this has helped craft him into the writer that he currently is to this day. Being able to hone and refine his voice, he’s managed to use his learning to his advantage, given his appreciation for literature from a very early age. This is reflected within his adult writing career, as he has become a master of both his craft and his genre, bringing in readers from far and wide.

Initially a teacher of English, he first got a taste for story and narrative as he also directed in local community theaters as well. Giving him an idea of character design and getting into their minds, he managed to further develop his craft to an even greater degree than before. He also worked as an agent for the Inland Revenue Service following this, whereby he stayed in that position for twelve years prior to his writing career.

Gaining recognition now not just in literature, but also in Hollywood as well, Richard Yancey’s career is growing from strength-to-strength. Having a big-screen adaptation of his work, he’s come a long during his adult life, as he’s progressed into an articulate and intelligent voice within the young adult genre. Continuing to write to the present day, it appears there’s much more to come from him yet, as he doesn’t appear to be stopping anytime soon.

Writing Career

During his time at the Inland Revenue Service, Richard Yancey was writing constantly just waiting for the right moment to get his work recognized and published. Writing screenplays as well, he always had a good eye for the visual along with a firm grasp of narrative and all the codes and conventions that went along with it. Finally in 2003 he got his first book published by Simon and Schuster with A Burning in Homeland, which ultimately paved the way to him becoming the successful author that he is today.

With a large amount of critical and commercial acclaim in both the literary and film industry, he has become a highly regarded author of young adult fiction with a strong legacy behind him. Gaining followers far and wide, with both national and international readers discovering his work everyday, he’s had his books translated into a number of different languages. Not only that, but he’s received a variety of different awards too, something which shows that he’s clearly a presence that’s here to stay for some time yet.

The Monstrumologist

This was the first in the Monstrumologist series, a popular line of horror novels for young adults that proved to be highly successful as the franchise progressed. Initially published in 2009 on the 22nd of September, this managed to set the darkened tone for much of what was to come in the following three books. It also managed to introduce the main characters for the first time as well, establishing them and who they are, giving the reader an idea of what to expect.

In studying the field of Monstrumology, Dr. Pellinore Warthorpe has seen a lot of terrifying sights in his time dedicated to such a specific field that so few know about. Then there is Will Henry who is his orphaned assistant logging all that he sees during his time working with the man, as he’s also witnessed a number of things that he previously thought to be beyond the realms of human imagination. That’s when a grave robber arrives in the dead of the night, as he brings a highly gruesome and horrible discovery that could be their most deadly case to date. What exactly has this grave robber discovered during his time at the cemetery? Just who is this grave robber and what does he want from them? What will become of them both as they find out what it truly takes to become the Monstrumologist?

The Infinite Sea

A recent release, this was the second book in the 5th Wave franchise of books, a series which is just now seeing a big screen adaptation of it being released. Following on directly from the first, this was originally published in 2014, on the 16th of September to an already eager and loyal set of fans who made up his core young audience. Setting both the style and the tone of the novels in the first, this further establishes that and builds upon this in even greater depth than ever before.

In the future there’s a constant struggle by the powers that be to rid the earth of over seven billion humans, along with their humanity as well, which is an ongoing fight. Caught in the middle of this is Cassie Sullivan as she must do whatever it takes to survive in the face of mass extinction from those known only as the Others. Neither are prepared for what each party is willing to do in order to achieve their goals, as humanity don’t realize how far the Others will sink, and the Others don’t understand to what lengths humanity will rise. Will humanity be able to survive in the face of such a formidable opponent? Can they come together and remain strong regardless of the odds? What will become of them all as they soon discover the infinite sea?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Richard Yancey

Leave a Reply