Book Notification

Rina Martin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rina Martin Books

Murder on Sea / A Reason to Kill (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Cliff / Fragile Lives (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Boat / The Power of One (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Beach / Resolutions (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Country House / The Dead of Winter (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Pub / Cause of Death (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forgotten Voices / Murder on the Farm (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Willows (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Wedding (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rina Martin is the name of one of the popular characters from the Rina Martin mystery series, written by the famous author of mystery and thriller genres, Jane Adams. The series consists of a total of 7 novels published between the years 2008 and 2015. All the novels of the series have been highly successful among the readers and have helped author Jane Adams to prosper in her writing career as a well known author. In the series, Rina Martin is depicted as a retired actress, who used to work in a television series and played the role of a private investigator. After her retirement from the acting career, she hopes to spend the rest of her life peacefully in her house in Frantham, England. However, her life has something else to offer as she is about to witness some of the most dangerous twists and turns in her life. The first novel of the series was published in the year 2008 by the Severn House Publishers. It was titled as ‘A Reason To Kill’ and introduced the main protagonist Rina Martin as a successful actress who was on the verge of getting retired. Apart from Rina Martin, the novel also features some other important characters such as Detective Inspector Sebastian McGregor and George Parker. The plot of the novel is set in Frantham, England. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Rina is shown as being retired from a successful acting career.

As an actress, she used to play the roles of private investigators in the television series’. On the other hand, detective inspector Sebastian McGregor is shown as recovering from the consequences of an investigation gone wrong, which gives him nightmares. George Parker and his family are described as frequently on the run from a past full of violence. All the three characters think that they are safe in the sleepy and the seaside town of Frantham in England. Just like Rina Martin and Sebastian are trying to forget their past life and thinking of making a new beginning, George Parker also hopes that the new place will bring some peace into his life. However, the hopes of all three of them get shattered when an old lady gets murdered in the town. The lives of Rina, Sebastian and George once again gets stuck in an unwanted case and the much anticipated peace in their lives proved to be just an illusion. The author has described the character of Rina Martin as a 63 year old retired actress, who looks after a boarding house inhabited by the elder ex-actors, singer and dancers. She is a sharp lady with zero tolerance for nonsense things. Having worked as a private investigator in several television series, she knows a little bit about weapons, laws and very much about the human nature.

Inspector McGregor is sent to the town of Frantham because had failed in one of his earlier cases, which resulted in the slitting of the throat of a 6 year old girl by the criminals he was chasing. Due to this, he became a frequent drinker. He was sent to Frantham to become sober and wait for his days of retirement. George Parker arrives in Frantham along with his mother and sister after running from an abusive father. This way, Rina is described as a nosy and intelligent old woman who is always willing to help the police in their investigations, whereas Inspector Sebastian McGregor is shown as a cop who seems to have seen enough death and evil and hopes to spend the rest of his life quietly till he retires. George and his sister are determined to save themselves and their mother from their abusive and brutal father. Other than these characters, there is also a magician named Tim, who always hangs around Rina Martin. Even though the mystery of the plot of the novel, does not seem a mystery actually as everything seems quite clear, the readers still enjoyed reading the novel. Even the critics praised author Jane Adams for depicting the strong characters and the intriguing plot. She was also encouraged by her fellow authors, who appreciated her style of writing, and motivated her to write more novels in the series. Author Jane Adams received a lot of confidence from the success of the first novel of the series and this helped her to a number of other mystery series’ as well.

The second novel of the Rina Martin series was published under the title ‘Fragile Lives’. It was published by the Severn House Publishers in the year 2008. The plot of this novel also deals with the mysteries surrounding the life of the main protagonist Rina Martin. The other characters that are depicted in the plot of this novel include Edward Parker, Pat Duggan, Jimmy Duggan and Detective Inspector Sebastian McGregor. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, a dead body is discovered from a beach, which had got washed up to the shore. It was believed to of Edward Parker, who had fallen off a cliff a couple of weeks back. However, the dead body is found to be of Pat Duggan, who was the son of the owner of a local nightclub, named Jimmy Duggan. Upon investigation, it is revealed that Pat Duggan had been kidnapped on a couple of occasions before getting washed up on the shore. The police was even more worried because they were not able to find the missing Edward Parker, who had disappeared around the same time as Pat Duggan. The fact that Edward used to work for Pat’s father, Jimmy Duggan made the case look even more suspicious. Rina and Sebastian begin to carry out their own investigation and they believe that Pat and Edward are related to the same person, Jimmy Duggan, cannot just be a coincidence and that there was something more in the case that was to be found out by them. Their investigative reports are used by the police to get close to the real culprits of the case. After a short while, Sebastian and Rina find out that the case is about a series of child kidnappings. The kidnappers, who are believed to be a group of unscrupulous men, have the habit of kidnapping the children of wealthy men and deal in shady businesses. Rina and Sebastian also find out that their latest kidnapping made them deal with a fearsome person, who also had all the ruthlessness and means to seek the revenge. The two seem to get stuck between evil kidnappers and the equally shady parents who are seeking revenge.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Rina Martin

Leave a Reply