Book Notification

Rita Lakin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gladdy Gold Books

Getting Old is Murder (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Getting Old is the Best Revenge (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Getting Old is Criminal (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Getting Old is To Die For (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Getting Old is a Disaster (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Getting Old is Tres Dangereux (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Getting Old Can Kill You (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Getting Old Can Hurt You (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Getting Old Will Haunt You (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Summer Without Boys (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demon of the Night (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Four Coins of the Kabbalah (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Only Woman in the Room (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Rita Lakin is one of the most successive female screenwriters of all time with more than 470 produced television scripts under her name spanning more than 30 productions. Furthermore, she is also a novelist who is best known for the book, The Only Woman in the Room, which happens to be a memoir of her life. In The Only Woman, Rita Lakin narrates what it was the first female show runners and also one of the very first women on television. Apart from non-fiction books, Rita Lakin has also penned numerous non-fiction books such as The Gladdy Gold Mystery, which is a seven book series including the novels Getting Old Can Kill You and Getting Old is Murder. Despite the fact that Rita Lakin loved for writing, she was not able to become a full-time writer after completing her college education.

Instead, Rita Lakin became a schoolteacher, who taught third and fourth-grade kids. After some time, she wanted to try out something new, and she applied for a job at one of her town’s newspaper. The small town newspaper selected her and Rita Lakin had the chance to pen articles and even take photos with a high-speed photos. While working at the small town newspaper, Rita Lakin began sending short stories to different publishers. With writing being a man’s world at that time, Rita Lakin was advised not to let her readers know that she was a woman; thus she used her initials, R.W Lakin. Because Rita was living in Los Angeles, Lakin made a big jump in her writing career. At 33 years, Rita Lakin sold her very first television script.

Lakin began a full-time writer in the early 1960’s and worked on television shows such as Peyton Palace, Dr. Kildare, and The Doctors. In the year 1968, Rita Lakin began working as the head writer and a story editor of The Mob Squad. In the year 1972, Rita Lakin created The Rookies. In the year 1977, Rita Lakin worked of Executive Suite’s executive producer, a CBS Television adaptation of the film. Rita Lakin also penned numerous Movies of the Week including the Women in Chains and miniseries such as the critically acclaimed Voices in her Heart and Strong Medicine. In the year 1981, Rita Lakin worked as the show-runner of Flamingo Road. In the year, 1989, Rita Lakin co-created Nightingales, a medical drama.

Apart from Nightingales, Rita Lakin also co-wrote two theatrical plays Saturday Night and No-Language-But-A-Cry. As one of the most successive scriptwriters, Rita Lakin has won several awards such as the Edgar-Allan-Poe Award, Hopwood Award and Writers Guild of America. At the moment, Rita Lakin has penned more than 460 television episodes, two miniseries, eight movies of the week, which span more than 30 televisions productions. Rita Lakin is also the creator of the creator of the critically acclaimed The Rookies, a crime drama series and Flamingo Road, a prime time soap.

Best Rita Lakin Books

One of the best book series by Rita Lakin is the Gladdy Gold mystery series. In the first book in the Gladdy Gold mystery series, the author, Rita Lakin introduces the readers to Gladdy, a retiree who is more than determined to prove to everyone especially herself that she is an excellent sleuth, which is more than capable of outdoing the local police. Gladdy also wants to avenge the death of her friends. In the first book, Lakin introduces the readers Lakin’s gang, which, is known as the Gladiators. The Gladiators is made up of Lakin’s sister and friends who reside in one of Florida’s finest retirement home. However, the Gladiators are more than willing to do something else apart from gossiping. Gladdy is the person who comes up with the revelation that the heart attacks that some of the elderly women suffered were something more than medical complications.

Gladdy’s spirited defense of individuals who doubt the elderly, a hint of romance with one Jack Langford and the battles between the Gladiators about who was the best investigator makes this book an exceedingly great read. Gladdy’s love for mystery reads, her genuine expressions of fear, doubt and guilt makes this first installment an exciting read and also opens up a world where becoming old means that you have all the experience to use when solving a mystery or crime. Gladdy is an exceedingly brave heroine who constantly risks upsetting the people who surround her and does not take a rest when the local police department does so that she ensures she catches the perpetrators in time.

When one Selma, Gladdy’s neighbor dies, Gladdy is exceedingly saddened by her death. However, she is not concerned because she is 75 years old and lives in a retirement home, where she is already accustomed to death. However, when Francie, her best friend dies Gladdy is devastated and heartbroken. Gladys begins to suspect that something was amiss since Francie and Selma died just a few days to their birthdays. Gladdy begins by first trying to convince the local police that the two may have been killed. However, when Gladdy realizes that the police are not taking her seriously, she begins to conduct her investigation. It does not take long before two more deaths occur.After some autopsies are conducted, it is revealed that the victims were poisoned and the local police department finally believe Gladdy.

With that said, Getting Old is Murder is a great and humorous first entry, in what appears to be an exceedingly enjoyable mystery series. Gladdy is a well-created character, who is not only funny but also full of life as well. All her friends have been well-written, with a great sense of humor, which in turn makes them seem real. Each of the characters in Getting Old is Murder stands out individually. Some of the most noticeable characters in this masterpiece include the wisecracking Hy and Lois his wife, Evvie Gladdy’s sister, Sophie a movie critic and Harriet an exceedingly young lady, who has dedicated her life to taking care of the old. All of the characters in Getting Old is Murder have been well written and come alive on each of the page. All in all, Getting Old is Murder is an exceedingly enjoyable and funny mystery series

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rita Lakin

Leave a Reply