Book Notification

Riyria Chronicles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Riyria Revelations Books

The Crown Conspiracy (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Avempartha (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nyphron Rising (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Emerald Storm (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wintertide (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Percepliquis (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Riyria Chronicles Books

By: Michael J. Sullivan, Laura Lee Guhrke
The Viscount and the Witch (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crown Tower (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rose and the Thorn (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jester (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of Dulgath (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Disappearance of Winter's Daughter (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of Riyria Chronicles Books

The Crown Tower takes place prior to The Viscount and the Witch.

Publication Order of Riyria Graphic Novels

Writing science-fiction and epic fantasy for some time now, Michael J. Sullivan has become one of the most successful and commercially popular self-published authors of all time, a writer that has been translated into over fourteen different languages so far. With a clear eye for the bigger picture, he has an imaginative scope that is unparalleled within his field, as he expands upon his landscapes over the course of his many franchises and series, utilizing both myth and fantasy whilst clearly differentiating between the two along the way. Not only has the general public been instrumental in his rapid success over such a short period of time, but critics have also warmed to him, as he’s received a number of awards, as well as gaining the respect of his peers and contemporaries within his chosen genre too. Having created over three series so far, his talent for building universes is one that still shows an enormous amount of potential yet, with his ability for both scope and breadth expanding on and on. One such series is that of the Riyria Chronicles series which acts as a prequel to his Riyria Revelations series, and it’s one that is probably his most popular series to date, as it perfectly exemplifies what he and his writing is about.

Running since 2011 to the present day, this particular series has so far managed to produce five books and counting, as it is expected to continue for some time yet, as there’s plenty more potential and scope for the series to carry on expanding upon its original source material. Set in a world known as Elan, this is a secondary universe that’s co-existing, thus providing a vast amount of high-fantasy action, with its regular cast of characters and protagonists who provide many of the arcs and narratives for the plot-lines contained within, taking them forward for the series as a whole. The map of the land itself is broken up into three major regions, each of which have their own set of attributes linked to them, such as the Westerlins which is unexplored, the Apeladorn which is the land of men, and the Erivan which is the land of Elves. Although there is a chronological order to the books, Sullivan himself has recommended that they are best read in the order they were initially published alongside the Riyria Revelations series.

The Crown Tower

Whilst this is the first in the Riyria Chronicles series, it was the fourth to actually get published, with it being brought out in 2013 on the 6th of August to an already substantial audience. Although the Riyria Revelations came beforehand, with these working as prequels to that series, they are intended to be read as Sullivan published them. This doesn’t mean that they can’t be read chronologically, as they still make sense in that order too and many choose to, Sullivan himself has intended them to be read in this particular order to get the most out of them as a whole.

Featuring the story of Hadrian and Royce, it tells of how they must overcome their differences as a mismatched pair and steal a priceless treasure from a tower previously thought to be impenetrable from all outsiders. One of them is an assassin skilled in the art of thieving, the other a once proud warrior who now has nothing to fight for, together they must join forces and retrieve this artifact from the tower. The problem is they come from worlds that are entirely at odds with each other, and for that they hate one another, so it is this that they must overcome to achieve their goal. Will they be able to set their differences aside and gain access to the tower and the treasure? What exactly is this treasure and why is it so sought after? Can they ever hope to infiltrate the Crown Tower?

The Rose and the Thorn

Initially published in 2013 on the 17th of September, this was to be the book that continued the series, it being an ongoing installment of the Riyria Chronicles. Further developing the characters and their arcs, it works by establishing who they are, what they’re about and why they are doing what they’re doing. With an ongoing set of narratives as well, it manages to build the universe too, creating more ambiance and atmosphere, along with adding to the overall tone of the series whilst building a sense of foreboding over what is to come in the subsequent books to follow.

Following on directly from the last, Hadrian and Royce are indebted to Gwen DeLancy who previously saved them, as they would have been dead for sure. After suffering from abuse at the hands of a powerful noble they are out for revenge, but she wants to keep them back as she is sure they will only endanger themselves going after them. What she doesn’t know is what they are truly capable of and at what length they are willing to achieve their goals, although she is soon to find out. Will they achieve their goals and get the revenge they desire? Can they ever truly get Gwen Delancy out of their heads? What will become of them both as they discover the truth behind the rose and the thorn?

The Riyria Chronicles Series

This highly influential series is well regarded for both its scope and its brevity as, whilst its world is huge with numerous factions, it’s also able to strip its elements down to the bare essentials keeping it accessible for the reader. Whilst many lesser writers may get lost in such a universe, with convoluted story-lines spiraling out of control, here Michael J. Sullivan manages to get down to what makes the plots and the characters work, keeping a firm hold of the reigns at all times, allowing the reader to always keep their head above water amidst the action. This is why his success has been so well deserved, as he gets translated into a number of different languages taking his series worldwide to a global audience. As more is planned on the horizon, with the Riyria Revelations already working as a popular sequel within this franchise, it appears this success isn’t abating soon, as his career carries on into the foreseeable future.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Riyria Chronicles

Leave a Reply