Book Notification

Rob J. Hayes Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Best Laid Plans Books

The Fifth Empire of Man (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where Loyalties Lie (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of It Takes a Thief... Books

It Takes a Thief to Catch a Sunrise (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Takes a Thief to Start a Fire (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The God Eater Books

Publication Order of The Mortal Techniques Books

Never Die (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pawn's Gambit (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Century Blade (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spirits of Vengeance (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Ties That Bind Books

The Bound Folio (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heresy Within (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Colour of Vengeance (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Price of Faith (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Titan Hoppers Books

Titan Hoppers (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spire Climbers (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fleet Champions (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The War Eternal Books

Along the Razor's Edge (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lessons Never Learned (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
From Cold Ashes Risen (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sins of the Mother (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death's Beating Heart (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Inferno! Books

Inferno! Volume 1 (By: David Annandale) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inferno! Volume 2 (By: Guy Haley) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inferno! Volume 3 (By: Rik Hoskin,JoshuaReynolds,Nate Crowley,Guy Haley,John French,David Guymer,Graeme Lyon,Matt Keefe,MattSmith,Rob Leahy,Stephen B. Fischer) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inferno! Volume 4 (By: Edoardo Albert) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inferno! Volume 5 (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inferno! Volume 6 (By: Dave Gross,Adrian Tchaikovsky,David Guymer,Matt Smith,Liane Merciel,Gavin G Smith,Eric Fomley,Noah Nguyen,Miles A Drake) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Rob J. Hayes is a British author best known for writing fantasy and science fiction books. He is the authr of The Heresy Within and the SPFBO-winning pirate swashbuckler Where Loyalties Lie. He is best known for the Ties that Bind series of books that started with The Heresey Within in 2014. In 2019, he released the critically acclaimed Never Die. He is considered to be one of the best writers of grimdark fantasy around.

Hayes was born in a small town called Basingstoke. He grew up in the age of Star Wars and Transformers which taught him to enjoy the world of the fantastical. He made his first attempt at writing at the age of fourteen and his book featured vampires, werewolves, and people with superpowers. He was a typical fourteen-year-old boy and he eventually learned that he should reel it in a bit.

Rob would go on to University where he studied Zoology. He didn’t ended up following his degree into his career and instead ended up working for a string of high street banks as a desk jockey. One day he got fed up with his life as a banker and ran off to live on a desert island in Fiji for three months. It was during this time that he re-discovered his love of writing and decided to attempt to make a career out of writing fantasy.

When he is not writing fantasy and science fiction, Rob is still dabbling in it. Most of his hobbies are fantasy-themed and he enjoys playing card games set in the Game of Thrones and the Netrunner universes. He regularly plays in tournaments based on those games throughout the UK. Rob also enjoys Airsoft games where he can shoot fake guns at his friends and vice versa.

The Heresy Within is the first book in the Ties That Bind series of book. The story follows a group of people with a common enemy.

First there is the female Blademaster named Jezzet Vel’urn. She is a great swordsman, but like all great swordsmen she knows that death is always lurking right around the corner. She is chased into the Wilds by a vengeful warlord and makes her escape to the free city of Chade. The free city isn’t a safe one for her though as there are enemies from her past all around.

There is also the witch hunter Thanquil Darkheart on a holy crusade to rid the world of heresy. However, he’s also expendable and that’s something he finds out when the God Emperor gives him a seemingly impossible task. He is required to attempt it though and ventures deep into the Wilds to hunt down a fallen Arbiter.

Finally, there is the infamous The Black Thorn. He is known in every town in the Wilds by the “Wanted” posters with his face on it. He is a cheat, a thief, and the murderer of several Arbiters. He does it all to earn money, but right now he knows that he needs to lay low and let the dust settle. However, some jobs pay too well to pass up.

Fate manages to draw these three unique characters together and they’ll have to figure out how to strike an uneasy alliance if they want to have any hope of defeating their common enemy.

Hayes followed that book up with The Colour of Vengeance, the second book in The Ties That Bind series. This book picks up after the events of The Heresy Within and The Black Thorn has a huge bounty on his head. The bounty is so large that he’s tempted to turn himself in, we’re talking big money here. Thorn ends up on trial for the crime of being him which is a long rap sheet. Even with a high chance of death, Thorn has revenge on his mind against the Arbiter who took something from him. If he wants to get the kind of vengeance that he wants, Thorn will need to escape Sarth and put together a new crew of equally minded vengeance seekers.

Along the Razor’s Edge is the first book in The War Eternal series. The series introduces us to a powerful Sourcerer named Eskara Helsene. She fought in the greatest war mankind has ever known when she was just fifteen-years-old and was on the losing side. After the war, she was sent by her enemies to The Pit, a prison sunk so deep into the earth that the sun is considered to be a distant memory. She is deep in The Pit, stripped of her magic, and surrounded by dangerous criminals. She needs to find a way out and in order to do so she’ll have to find allies to do so while playing the other inmates against each other. Her enemies think that her time in The Pit has broken her, but she is not so easily broken.

One of Hayes’ best know books is Never Die. The book was the winner of the BookNest award for Best Self Published Fantasy of 2019 and was also a finalist in the Reddit r/Fantasy Stabby award for Best Self Published Fantasy of 2019. Never Die is set in the the world of Mortal Techniques, but it is a standalone novel. The story follows a Shintei warrior named Itami Cho who is known as Whispering Blade. Shintei warriors are sworn to the path of oaths and honor, but keeping her oaths has always been difficult for her. However, when Flaming Fist and his bandits attack the city of Kaishi, she will swear one final oath that she plans on keeping: to protect the city and its people no matter what. Meanwhile, there is an eight-year-old boy named Ein that has always dreamed of being a hero. The God of Death gives him that chance when he sets him on an impossible quest to stop the immortal Emperor.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Rob J. Hayes

Leave a Reply