Book Notification

Robert Brockway Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Rx: A Tale of Electronegativity Books

Publication Order of The Vicious Circuit Books

The Unnoticeables (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Empty Ones (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kill All Angels (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Everything Is Going to Kill Everybody (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Tomorrow's Cthulhu(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Robert Brockway is a popular American author known for writing horror, thriller, and science fiction books. He has written three trilogies in his career and is particularly famous for writing The Vicious Circuit series. Author Brockway was born in Los Angeles, California, United States. He was inspired to become a writer since his early days. Brockway was highly influenced to write his own book by the well known works of some very popular authors such as William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, Italo Calvino, Philip K. Dick, Haruki Murakami, Salman Rushdie, etc. In addition to being an author, Brockway works as a senior editor and columnist for a website called He is happily married and resides in Portland, Oregon, along with his lovely wife named Meagan. Author Brockway is very fond of pet animals and for this particular reason, he has kept two pet dogs in his house. Brockway is famous for creating the characters of the famous detectives named Roger Murtaugh and Martin Riggs. He started his writing career with the publishing of the novel called The Unnoticeables. It was released under the publication of Tor Books. The book was followed by a cyberpunk novel titled Rx : A Tale of Electronegativity. The next work that author Brockway wrote in his literary career is an essay collection of comedic nonfiction stories called Everything is Going to Kill Everybody.

A highly successful book written by author Robert Brockway is known as The Vicious Circuit. This series is comprised of a total of 3 books, which were released between the years 2015 and 2016. The books of this series are set during the 1980s and the year 2013. The stories of each and every book revolves around the lives the two main characters named Kaitlyn and Carey. As the series progresses further, several other important characters get added to the plots. Author Brockway has described in the stories of this series’ books that there are certain angels, which are not loving or beneficent. However, they continually watch over the humans. The angels watch the unfolding of their lives, analyze them, and check for repeating patterns & redundancies. And it is only after the angels find any such thing, they begin simplifying the patterns and removing the redundancies. This way, the problems in the lives of the individual get solved without much effort of their own. The debut novel of this series is entitled ‘The Unnoticeables’. This book was released by the Tor Books publication in the year 2015. Author Brockway has set this book’s story in New York City and Hollywood in 1977 and 2013 respectively, and has mentioned the important characters as Carey and Kaitlyn. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Carey does not like the idea of angels, who secretly remove redundancies, simplify patterns, and solve the human problems. He lives like a punk in New York City during the year 1977.

Carey seems to have become tired and sick of seeing his friends getting abducted by the strange kids having unnoticeable faces. Still, he seems least bothered. Carey does not care about the rumors of unkillable psychopaths arriving in the punk scene or tarmonsters living in sewers. The only things he seems interested include dispensing ass kickings and drinking cheap beer. On the other hand, Kaitlyn doesn’t seem to be sure which way her life is headed. In 2013, she moved to Hollywood to become a stunt woman. One night, she experiences some very strange events that she had not come across before in her life. A former heartthrob attempts to eat Kaitlyn and her closest friend has mysteriously disappeared. Also, there is an angel standing outside of her apartment. After seeing the angel, Kaitlyn realizes that she does not have much time left with her and must do whatever plans she has made about her life. In the end, author Brockway says that humans are surrounded by angels and demons, and they pretty much the same thing. Now, Kaitlyn must do the needful to prevent them from affecting her life, and so does Carey. They appear to be facing the difficult challenge of saving the human race. The situation they are in makes them believe that they are pretty much screwed.

The next exciting book of the series is called ‘The Empty Ones’. It was also published by the Tor Books in 2016. The primary characters of this novel include Kaitlyn, Carey, Marco, etc. The plot takes place in NYC, Mexico, London, and Los Angeles. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that 1977 was a very bad year for Carey. The summer of that year was extremely hot and he could make the payment of his apartment rent. Also, there was the butchering of his friends at the hands of a cult group that worshipped quantum angles that Carey helped come into formation. Now, he feels the need to go on a vacation. He thinks of going to a place where there is punk scene. Subsequently, London is what comes to his mind. The murderous cult’s leader is trying to build an army in London with the purpose of saving the world. Carey thinks that this is time for him to mix pleasure and business. He hopes that he will be able to make some new friends on this way to London, who might not be interested in killing him. He even fantasizes about meeting a girl, who could eat angels and kick men in half. All in all, the beginning of 1978 has already started producing some better results for him and he hopes that it continues for the whole year ahead. Kaitlyn too had many bad experiences in 2013. Los Angeles was not kind to her hopes of making a career in the field of stunt work. When Kaitlyn hooked up with the crush of her childhood, Marco, she found out that he was a psychopath and had the intention of devouring her soul. She ended up killing Marco and the cult that he worshipped. Now, Kaitlyn is on the run across the southwest America. Later, Kaitlyn learns that Marco is not dead and is shooting a show on a distant location in Mexico. She decides to go to the other side of the border and dodge the sludge monsters in her path and discover a way to finish the unkillable monster once and for all. And she must do it as soon as possible or else she might end up sacrificing herself and her best friends. Overall, the novel seems extremely hilarious, terrifying, insane, visceral, beautiful, and chaotic.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robert Brockway

Leave a Reply