Book Notification

Robert Enright Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bermuda Jones Case Files Books

Doorways (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Absent Man (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bermuda (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bermuda is the prequel to the Bermuda Jones Case Files Series.

Publication Order of DS Jack Townsend Books

The Dead Of Night (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Say A Word (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sam Pope Books

The Night Shift (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Takers (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Long Road Home (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Right Reason (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Far Gone (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Mile (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rainfall (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Man Of My Word (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Way Back (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kingdom (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Name Maker (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out Of Reach (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Days Gone By (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fighter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Money (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Right Reason and the Rainfall are prequels to the Sam Pope Series.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Robert Enright is an American author of suspense, thriller, and crime novels best known for his Sam Pope series, Bermuda Jones Case Files series, and D.S. Jack Townsend book series. He was born and raised in North London and now lives in Buckinghamshire with his wife and their daughter. He’s a full-time writer, and his Sam Pope series has been an international bestseller. Besides writing, Robert hosts the Two Indie Authors podcast alongside David B. Lyons, a bestselling author.

Dead of Night is Robert Enright’s first D.S. Jack Townsend series book. The novel stands out in the crime genre thanks to its compelling and complex plot. This helps strike a balance between heart-pounding thrills and the profound emotional journey of its characters. At its heart, the story introduces us to DS Jack Townsend, whose life is on the verge of a new chapter. After a harrowing stint of three years undercover within the ranks of one of the UK’s most formidable gangs, Jack seeks solace and a fresh beginning in a quaint Buckinghamshire village, aspiring to provide a safer environment for his wife and daughter.

The allure of a peaceful life intertwines with Jack’s professional ambition as he joins the Thames Valley Police’s Specialist Crime Unit (SCU), led by the determined Isabella King. But serenity proves fleeting when the SCU is catapulted into the midst of a chilling investigation following the discovery of a woman brutally murdered in the Wycombe Rye woods. What unfolds is not merely a quest to identify the perpetrator but an intricate examination of the psychological and emotional landscapes navigated by Jack and his colleagues.
The novel excels in portraying the stark transition Jack undergoes, from the dangers of undercover work to the deceptive tranquility of village life, enriching his character with a tangible sense of depth and complexity. The SCU, beset by budget cuts and the fear gripping the town, forms an unforgettable backdrop for the story.

As the story moves forward, the author skillfully ramps up the suspense, with the body count mounting and the team’s investigation becoming increasingly desperate. Vividly rendered descriptions breathe life into the quiet town and its residents, painting a vivid image where danger masks itself behind every corner of this seemingly idyllic setting.

At the core of The Dead of Night lies a poignant message: the pursuit of justice for every victim. The novel thoughtfully explores the repercussions of crime, not only on those directly involved but in the broader community, infusing the storyline with a resonant emotional gravity. The dynamics within the SCU and their interactions with the CID add rich layers to the narrative, each character playing a crucial role in the story’s impact.

The Dead of Night is a masterfully crafted addition to crime fiction, merging suspenseful storytelling with deep, psychological insight. This novel promises an unforgettable journey for fans of the genre, making it an essential inclusion on any crime fiction enthusiast’s reading list. This book is a testament to the genre’s power to entertain and reflect on the darker sides of human nature and society.

Doorways is the first novel in Bermuda Jones Case Files. In Doorways, Robert Enright introduces us to Detective Bermuda Jones and his assistant, Argyle, as they embark on a thrilling quest to prevent a devastating collision with the terrifying ‘Otherside.’ The book captures your attention immediately, with Enright’s cinematic storytelling ensuring a dynamic and engaging narrative. The pacing is masterful, revealing the intricacies of Bermuda’s world bit by bit as the investigation unfolds.

Bermuda is joined by Argyle, his partner and guardian, in this unfamiliar and bizarre world. Despite their outsider status among its peculiar inhabitants and customs, their relationship deepens through their shared experiences and discoveries of common ground. Both characters, feeling alienated elsewhere, find solace and strength in their unity.

Doorways excel in the science fiction tradition of plunging ordinary individuals into extraordinary circumstances. Bermuda and Argyle, each unique in their own right, rise to the challenge, showcasing their resilience and tenacity. The novel also delves into Bermuda’s inner conflicts and his navigation of a life filled with secrets, positioning him as a compelling antihero. Argyle plays a pivotal role in keeping Bermuda connected to reality amidst the chaos.

Enright’s narrative is laced with subtle humor and demonstrates a knack for concise yet rich world-building. The fantastical elements are well-integrated, creating a believable yet intriguing universe, though occasionally leaving room for questions. Overall, Doorways is a testament to Enright’s ability to craft a story that is both entertaining and thought-provoking, making it a standout addition to the sci-fi genre.

The Night Shift is the first novel in Sam Pope’s series, first published in 2018. The story is as gripping as it is inspiring. Having spent over ten years as one of the UK’s most elite snipers, Sam Pope’s life takes a dramatic turn following a near-fatal incident that ends his military career. Returning to civilian life, Sam attempts to reconnect with his family and embark on a new chapter with the Metropolitan Police. However, when unforeseen tragedy strikes, shattering his familial ties, Sam finds himself in the unlikely role of an archive officer within the Met. It’s here that he starts to pursue a unique form of justice, targeting criminals who have slipped through the legal cracks.

The plot thickens with a devastating terrorist attack at the London Marathon, compelling Sam to initiate his investigation. This decision catapults him into the murky depths of organized crime and the dangerous world of police corruption. Suddenly, Sam is not just the hunter but also the hunted, becoming the prime target in a dangerous game. With the clock ticking, he must navigate a deadly maze of lies and deceit to uncover the truth.

The Night Shift positions itself as a must-read for fans of high-octane thrillers, drawing comparisons to the works of Lee Child, Mark Dawson, Robert Ludlum, and Vince Flynn. This novel marks the beginning of an Amazon No.1 Best Selling Series that promises non-stop action and introduces a new action hero in Sam Pope. Readers searching for their next adrenaline-fueled adventure will find themselves riveted by Sam’s relentless pursuit of justice against all odds.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robert Enright

Leave a Reply