Book Notification

Robert F. Jones Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Blood Sport / Ratnose (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Diamond Bogo (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slade's Glacier (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Tide (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tie My Bones to Her Back / The Buffalo Runners (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadville (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Run to Gitche Gumee (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloodroot (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Upland Passage (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
African Twilight (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dancers in the Sunset Sky (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunter in my Heart (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gone to the Dogs (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Twayne's World Leaders Books

John Milton Hay: The Union of Poetry and Politics (By: Howard I. Kushner) (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sir Norman Angell (By: Albert Marrin) (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fathers and Sons(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pheasant Tales(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon

Robert F. Jones was “Men’s Journal” contributing editor, writer for “Field & Stream” and “Sports Illustrated” and bestselling novelist. His works include “Bloodroot” and “Bloodsport” in addition to multiple works of nonfiction and fiction.

Robert made his name writing novels with surrealistic and fantastic elements, which made many of his works to be labeled slipstream. Given how influential his works have been, they have been preserved for posterity at the University of Virginia’s Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library.

Jones was born and grew up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin and in 1956, he graduated from the University of Michigan. He would then work as an ensign in the United States Navy and was deployed in the western Pacific. Following his military service, he worked for “Time” magazine and the “Milwaukee Sentinel” as a reporter.
In 1968, Jones started working for “Sports Illustrated,” where he was charged with writing on a variety of sports such as pro football and motor sports in addition to many other outdoor sports.

In his later years, he lived in Vermont and would later die in 2002 at the Southwestern Vermont Medical Center. He left behind two adult children and a wife of 46 years.

Robert F. Jones’ novel “Blood Tide” opened to career US Navy non commissioned officer James Culdee unjustly blamed. He served his country with distinction for more than two decades, only to be named responsible for what had been a tragic attempt at escape from a North Vietnamese prison.

He is now unfairly and suddenly forced into retirement with disgrace and devastated by his circumstances, he turns to alcoholism. It is only Miranda, his daughter who works for a charter boat company as captain who comes to his rescue.

Her boat was recently stolen and soon she is informed that the Seamark was spotted in some primitive and dangerous islands in the Philippines. She combines forces with her father and together they sail off to the Pacific.

When they arrive in the Flyaways islands, they find that the drug smugglers and local pirates are just as dangerous as the hidden reefs and shoals. The duo then join a band of Filipino rebels that are seeking to topple a tyrannical American drug kingpin.

The man may or may not be the man that caused Culdee to be thrown out of the army.

“Slade’s Glacier” by Robert F Jones is a tale of destruction and discovery, revenge and betrayal set in the great rugged lands of Alaska.

Sam Healey and Jack Slade were flying partners during the Second World War and thereafter started a bush pilot business in Alaska. When a wolverine in their cargo hold forces down their plane after breaking out of the cargo deck, they happen upon a valley that is each man’s dream.

Jack Slade thinks of it as the perfect place to build a house, raise a family and live as a simple fishing and hunting guide. Healey thinks the pool of crude oil he discovered under the glacial ice will make him wealthier than his wildest dreams.

In scenes ranging from the fierce and high wastelands of the interior to the coastal fishing ports, each man makes plans to achieve their dreams. They soon find themselves in a fatal conflict and along the way meet a colorful and wide variety of characters that add spice to the story.

Robert F Jones novel “Blood Sport: A Journey Up the Hassayampa” is a strange yet amazing novel that is charming, unrepentant, nasty, racist and sexist work that is magic realism in claw and tooth.

At the opening of the novel a son and father are heading up the Hassayampa. The Hassayampa has been known to turn men into liars and this is believed to have the power of turning a boy into a man.

Their fates soon entwine with that of a murderer and trickster named Ratnose that could be immortal. In the process one of them will turn into a bandit and the other a god of hate and vengeance.

It is a fluid tale filled with wonder as much as it is full of blood. Tortures are committed, women are treated as trophies and mythical creatures are eaten after being killed.

The son tells the story in first person style narration as he battled against Ratnose, an all around bad ass bandit chief. Robert F Jones writes a novel that will forever change anyone’s perspective of fly fishing and camping.

It perhaps hints to real life experiences by the author that makes him write with such realism.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Robert F. Jones

Leave a Reply